Author Topic: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread  (Read 4845 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline StratosDog

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Musconetcong Mountains
Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« on: June 08, 2015, 05:44:53 PM »
I just noticed today's update to EasyWeather 3.0.0 for firmware for the WS-1001. Then the new feature of running EasyWeather 3.0 on the PC.

I have to plan out this upgrade, but has anyone else installed it yet?

Offline NETO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2015, 11:26:16 AM »
there are two versions .... seems to be in test ... not ok presents numerbs and fails

Offline StratosDog

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Musconetcong Mountains
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2015, 01:04:39 PM »
The update must have been withdrawn. I am putting off installing it until they post it again.

Offline StratosDog

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Musconetcong Mountains
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2015, 03:08:52 PM »
I am just so curious still... does anyone know what this update was going to do? Do we know what features are going to be added to the WS-1001 in the future?

Offline NETO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2015, 05:29:33 AM »
..... Well it was supposed to comunicate with the weather station via wifi. So it means you can make a backup and others things on the WS1001 without disconect or use the card

Offline btcompute

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • KNHNORTH15
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2015, 04:16:30 PM »
"So it means you can make a backup and others things on the WS1001 without disconect or use the card"

It looks to me as though Data Backup was implemented with earlier firmware updates. If you lose power to the display unit, data is not lost and is still there when power is restored.

Offline StratosDog

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Musconetcong Mountains
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2015, 04:56:53 PM »
Since it is paired with firmware update 2.2.5 I tried installing this on my Windows 10 PC. It finds the weather station, however it asks for my local IP address on every start up even though it is the only one in the list.

At install it asks to create private and public firewall rules. If you don't have the public rules it can't communicate with the unit, so these are required. The private rules don't seem to be needed.

Setting up the unit will be much easier now. I changed a value on the setup screen of the program. Then I checked the unit and the value had changed. But there is a quirk in the software that when you go back to the setup screen, the original values remain. If you exit and restart the program, it will re-read the values from the unit.

You can backup the history data on the PC, so I am thinking that an SD card could be thought of as being for firmware updates only.

The 'theme' for the readings is generic. It would be nice if the main screen could resemble what is on the unit.

Although a bit buggy, the software is on the right path.


Offline PeteB

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2015, 04:34:33 PM »
Hey StratosDog,

Can you see how the new firmware is sending data from the console to the EasyWeather 3 on the PC ?

Curious if the console provides a simple http interface much like the WS-1400-IP receiver unit has a web server displaying current sensor readings.

I am looking to log weather data locally rather than just Weather Underground and hoped that this update provides a way to scrape the information directly from the console to an "always on" raspberry pi.

Cheers, Pete
« Last Edit: September 11, 2015, 12:50:35 PM by PeteB »

Offline StratosDog

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Musconetcong Mountains
Re: Easy Weather 3.0 Thread
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2015, 04:21:06 PM »
Hi PeteB,

I can't see how they are doing it. There is definitely 2-way communication going on though as I am able to do all the settings from the PC Screen. This part makes it way easier.

In the install directory there is an OCX file which I think might have MS Visual Studio origins. You can see the log data and download it to the PC if you want. It would eliminate the need for an SD card to do this. It also has the ability to graph the data that has been requested.

I suppose if they can get at the data, anyone must be able to do it. I wonder if they'd make this an open source project?