Author Topic: website  (Read 8766 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • Beamsville Weather Station
website
« on: October 26, 2006, 10:48:56 AM »
I have been having a problem recently with older pages displaying on my website. This happens in both IE and Firefox, so I don't think it's a browser problem. I have been flushing the dns cache and deleting temporary internet files so I can see an updated website. My web host says my website looks updated from his end. Has anyone else experienced this and found a solution? :?
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
website
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2006, 11:08:18 AM »
I see that you already have the META statements for 'pragma' and 'cache-control' in your page.

Carterlake had posted on the old forum that what is really needed is to emit the expires and last-modified headers too (I do this on all my pages).  Put this at the top of your page:

Code: [Select]
<?php
header
&#40;"Cache-Control&#58; no-cache,no-store,  must-revalidate"&#41;;
header&#40;"Cache-Control&#58; post-check=0, pre-check=0", false&#41;;
header&#40;"Pragma&#58; no-cache"&#41;;
$NOWdate gmdate&#40;"D, d M Y H&#58;i&#58;s", time&#40;&#41;&#41;;
header&#40;"Expires&#58; $NOWdate GMT"&#41;;
header&#40;"Last-Modified&#58; $NOWdate GMT"&#41;;
?>


Best regards,
Ken
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • Beamsville Weather Station
website
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2006, 11:46:49 AM »
Thank-you, Ken:  I also forgot to mention that whenever I have this problem with the old pages displaying on my website, I cannot send or receive e-mails from Outlook Express either :(
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
website
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2006, 12:12:13 PM »
It may be that your ISP connection is having TCP/IP issues, and the reason why your pages look 'old' is that they maybe aren't being updated by the station software.  Since mail and http are on different ports and use different protocols, the only thing they have in common is basic TCP/IP connectivity.

Check your station's upload logs and see if there are FTP problems at the same time you're having old pages and no mail connections.  If so, it's probably a problem with your internet service provider.

Ken
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • Beamsville Weather Station
website
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2006, 12:46:42 PM »
I'll do that, thanks.  I have been in touch with my ISP and they report no problems.  My web host, however, has told me that it looks as though my machine is ftp`ing files to his old server from weeks ago!  Why would it suddenly revert to ftping to the old server instead of the new one? It was using the new server :? I checked the logs, I am getting system socket errors!
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline Anthony

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1707
    • Anthony's Weather
website
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2006, 08:29:12 AM »
Try rentering all of the ftp information into the ftp client. Just because it looks right does 't mean it is. Besure you close and restrart the ftp program and reboot the computer.


Thanks,
Anthony
WB8YUE

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: website
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2006, 05:40:57 PM »
Would someone mind checking my website to see if it is updated?  It updates every 15 minutes. Thanks.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2295
    • CNYWeather
Re: website
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2006, 05:48:58 PM »
As of 5:48 eastern it said it was updated at 5:45
Tony




Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: website
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2006, 06:01:44 PM »
Thanks, I've been having problems with my site updating lately :(
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline anchorageweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 445
    • http://eetee.us/station/station.php
Re: website
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2006, 09:31:15 PM »
Hmmm???  I must be looking at the wrong info on your site - CNYWeather said he saw your page updated at 5:45PM Eastern US; however, when I am looking at your site at 9:20pm Eastern, your site says:

"Last updated: 11/23/06 at 4:15pm - Click here for more details!"


Im pretty sure Beamsville, Ontario  is on the same time (US Eastern) as me, I can't figure out how someone could see your site update at 5:45pm and I see the last update 1 1/2 hours EARLIER?!?  Am I looking at the wrong info on your site?
South of the Tracks, Anchorage, KY

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: website
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2006, 10:00:45 PM »
That's why I want people to view my site and tell me if it's updating.  I've been trying to solve the problem of cached data displaying on my website.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline capeweather

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1309
    • http://www.capeweather.com
Re: website
« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2006, 11:12:44 PM »
Seems ok to me, I just checked your broadcast.jpg and it said 10:04



Chris
Cape Coral, Florida
Website: http://www.capeweather.com
Website: http://www.fortmyersweather.net

Offline SLOweather

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3456
    • Weatherelement Moline IL
Re: website
« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2006, 11:44:55 PM »
Quote from: "weathergirl"
That's why I want people to view my site and tell me if it's updating.  I've been trying to solve the problem of cached data displaying on my website.


I doubt it matters to whatever problem you are having, but, while your page has the no-cache tags, I don't see a refresh tag like:
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="120">

Offline anchorageweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 445
    • http://eetee.us/station/station.php
Re: website
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2006, 07:33:25 AM »
Quote from: "capeweather"
Seems ok to me, I just checked your broadcast.jpg and it said 10:04




Yes, but the time in the graphic aboove says 4:18?!?
South of the Tracks, Anchorage, KY

Offline Anthony

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1707
    • Anthony's Weather
Re: website
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2006, 08:12:01 AM »
I just checked all your pages also. All times seem to be current.


Thanks,
Anthony
WB8YUE

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: website
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2006, 10:02:55 AM »
Thanks for all your responses :)
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

 

anything