WXforum.net

Weather Software => VP Tools (Virtual VP, VP Live, and VP Tools) => Topic started by: Bunty on July 29, 2020, 02:34:19 AM

Title: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: Bunty on July 29, 2020, 02:34:19 AM
I give up. I can't get WeatherLink working in Virtual VP via TCP/IP.  What are the procedures for doing it?
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: galfert on July 29, 2020, 06:01:22 AM
VVP is not supported for newer firmware that sends loop2 data.
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: Bunty on July 29, 2020, 07:01:06 AM
VVP is not supported for newer firmware that sends loop2 data.

But WeatherLink works in VP through comport.  Anyway, since VP is no longer being updated, what are people using these days to run WeatherLink, WD and other weather programs on the same computer.
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: galfert on July 29, 2020, 07:19:10 AM
You can keep your existing logger to keep running Weatherlink PC software. Then you can get the WeatherLink Live gateway device (it's a logger too) that runs independently of your display console. Then WeatherLink Live can be used to support multiple programs simultaneously such as: Cumulus MX, Meteobridge, Weather-Display and, WeeWX. The nice thing about WLL is that these programs can be on the same computer or not, that is up to you. You can even have two of the same program to play around with and not fear messing things up. Test database imports...etc. WLL connects to your network via Ethernet or WiFi.

See diagram
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=39751.0
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: Bunty on July 29, 2020, 02:18:16 PM
You can keep your existing logger to keep running Weatherlink PC software. Then you can get the WeatherLink Live gateway device (it's a logger too) that runs independently of your display console. Then WeatherLink Live can be used to support multiple programs simultaneously such as: Cumulus MX, Meteobridge, Weather-Display and, WeeWX. The nice thing about WLL is that these programs can be on the same computer or not, that is up to you. You can even have two of the same program to play around with and not fear messing things up. Test database imports...etc. WLL connects to your network via Ethernet or WiFi.

See diagram
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=39751.0

At $208.00 it's kinda costly, so I would have to hope it's easier to understand how to set it up through that diagram than Virtual VP.  Off hand, it seems the biggest challenge is how to go about making WD transmit its data to WLL.
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: galfert on July 29, 2020, 02:37:13 PM
$178.95
https://www.scaledinstruments.com/shop/davis-instruments/hardware-data-loggers-software/hardware-software-bundles/davis-6100-weatherlink-live/

It is simple. You use the Weatherlink mobile app. The app sees it and it will then join it to your WiFi network or it will find it automatically if you plug in to your router via Ethernet cable. Then you use the Weatherlink app to configure.

Then any application you want to run can get data from it just by giving the software the IP address of the WLL.
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: andro700 on July 29, 2020, 03:14:34 PM
Bunty I have Weatherlink working with TCP/IP. Here is a screen shot of my setup. Make sure you have the IP address and the port in the communication setup of Weatherlink.

Chuck
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: galfert on July 29, 2020, 04:52:12 PM
Off hand, it seems the biggest challenge is how to go about making WD transmit its data to WLL.

I missed responding to this question....

WLL does not need anything to transmit data to it. The WLL is its own console and it is able to pick RF broadcasts from your ISS and other sensor transmitters that you may have. For some people that don't need to see a display they can get a station going by only buying the WLL and the ISS with its sensors.
Title: Re: How Is WeatherLink Setup in Virtual VP Using TCP/IP?
Post by: Bunty on August 03, 2020, 03:28:03 PM
Thanks for everybody's help.  But did manage to successfully reset VP to use TCP/IP, so won't have to spend around $200 for Weatherlink Live.