Author Topic: ecowitt as first weather station?  (Read 1246 times)

Offline Jamithy

ecowitt as first weather station?
« on: December 31, 2020, 10:13:37 AM »
Hi,

I'm completely new to weather stations, but after reading suggestions on here then I'm now thinking of getting an ecowitt station, and I'm looking at getting the following from them:

* WH57 - lightning sensor
* WH41 - 2.5 outdoor air quality sensor
* WH51 - Soil moisture sensor
* WH32 - outdoor temperature & humidity sensor
* WH40 - Rain collector
* WS80 - Ultrasonic Wind speed & direction etc.
* GW1000 - Weather Station Gateway
* HP-2551C - Screen

I think that should be a good starting point as a first weather station? I'd also like to upload my data to Wunderground, WOW etc (which my kit will allow), and I might run cumulusMX on a local raspberry pi.  Bizarrely, the kit (GW1003) that they have on their website is, by my calculations, approx $39 more expensive than buying the bits separately!  #-o

is there anything anyone else can recommend that might be useful/good to have?  I had a look at the Davis VP2, and it's out of my price range!  Is it best to order it direct from ecowitt, or are there any UK stockists - I've looked and I can't find any.

Many thanks in advance for your help! :)

Offline galfert

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
Re: ecowitt as first weather station?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2020, 11:13:40 AM »
You might want to check out Froggit or Misol for price comparisons. But they might not have every part. So to complete from Ecowitt you would have to match with the same frequency. So keep in mind that Froggit is all 868 MHz and Misol is 433 MHz.

The WH32 requires a good radiation shield. Don't get the Ecowitt shield.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2020, 11:15:47 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Jamithy