Author Topic: Wet Bulb Globe Temperature (WBGT)  (Read 1624 times)

Offline AthleticTrainerPhil

• Keuka College Athletics
Wet Bulb Globe Temperature (WBGT)
« on: September 06, 2018, 02:14:29 PM »
Hi Weather Folks,

I'm an athletic trainer at a college in New York's Finger Lakes.  One of my duties is to monitor hazardous weather during practice and competition.  We purchased the Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus last year to help monitor field conditions remotely.  Wind chill, lightning, and Wet Bulb Globe Temperature (WBGT) can all require us to seek shelter.  The Davis unit has been working great for wind chill, and we use the Weather Underground Storm app with Weatherbug as a backup to monitor lightning, and while it would be more convenient to have everything in one place, this has been working fine.  The missing link is the WBGT.  Because we have the Solar Radiation sensor, it is able to give a Temperature Humidity Sun Wind Index (THSW), however in practice, this number is not close to the measured WBGT using our Extech HT30 handheld unit. 

Does anyone have any suggestions to get a WBGT measurement or approximation from this unit?  If there's a somewhat accurate way to approximate the WBGT using current equipment, that would be optimal.  I also would not be opposed to adding sensors if that would be cost effective and be able to take a WBGT measurement directly.

Thanks in advance for any ideas!

Offline SLOweather

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
    • Weatherelement Moline IL
Re: Wet Bulb Globe Temperature (WBGT)
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 02:30:03 PM »
Here are some ways to do it. You will need either a Davis leaf wetness/soil moisture/temperature station and 2 temp sensors, or 2 temperature only stations with probes.

Build a black globe sensor similar to this:

http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=32489.msg329326#msg329326

and a wet bulb sensor similar to this:

http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=32682.msg330253#msg330253

or this: