Author Topic: Should I worry about grounding my PWS?  (Read 3952 times)

Offline Hello

Should I worry about grounding my PWS?
« on: January 16, 2018, 03:31:17 PM »
I'm a complete noob & I'm contemplating installing a PWS on my house. I live in a townhome community & have no outdoor property. I'm considering installing on an ~8' pole mounted to our roof terrace's dividing wall. Although not ideal, I believe it's the most viable option given the circumstances. Please see the photo for what I'm thinking:

I was looking through NOAA's PWS siting guide, located here: https://www.weather.gov/media/epz/mesonet/CWOP-Siting.pdf

On page 3, it states: "When mounting any equipment on a structure, be sure to run a ground wire!" No specific explanation is given.

This is where the facts end & my questions begin. I suspect the concern they're addressing is lightning damage to the structure itself, not the equipment (I believe a direct hit would mean game over for any PWS, anyway). Please correct me if I'm mistaken.

I've only done about a couple of hours of research, but I can already see that this is somewhat of a controversial topic that is not even yet fully-understood. My conclusion at this point is to not even worry about it, summarized by the following points:

(1) My concerns initially stemmed from my erroneous belief that a PWS at that location would "attract" lightning. I've since learned that the presence of a PWS at the planned location would neither increase nor decrease the likelihood of a lightning strike hitting my home. If lightning wants to hit my house, it'll hit it, anyway.

(2) The best grounding it *could potentially do* is in effect turn it into a lightning rod, which would *hopefully* provide a safe path to ground. That feels like it could be a separate topic of discussion on its own, without any PWS considerations at all.