Author Topic: Hikvision FTP vs Ambient Weather  (Read 1991 times)

Offline WindBlowsLikeHeck

Hikvision FTP vs Ambient Weather
« on: January 15, 2021, 02:38:14 PM »
Hi everyone. Although I am a computer networking guy that has experience with security cameras I am new to the PWS & weather cam world. I recently installed a WS-5000 for a local boat club that also wants weather cams so I just bought a couple Hikvision DS-2CD2025FWD-I cameras to send periodic static images to our website. Since the website is not currently set up to display the weather cams I am trying to add one of them to our Ambientweather.net account as a test.

After getting the user name and password from their website I can log into it using Filezilla but when I hit the Test button in the camera config screen I get "No permission to write on FTP server" which tells me that it is logging on and testing the ability to upload an image (i.e. create a file) and permission is denied.

Although this is the sort of problem I would be able to solve on our own website, has anyone run into this with Ambient Weather? The error would not seem to be camera specific. I have not yet been able to find a support email address except for Ambientweather.com, which appears to be mainly for support of their hardware. Do they also handle weather cameras, which they do not sell?

I also created a WU account for the same PWS but have not tried WU yet due to some stories I've read on this site about getting it to work, but I'll go ahead and try that in the meantime.

TIA

Offline butor20077

Re: Hikvision FTP vs Ambient Weather
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2021, 12:11:23 PM »
How did you get a username/password for ambientweather ?
When I add a device, it asks for the MAC adress of the webcam, but I never get the option for FTP.

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!