Author Topic: New station advice for confused newb  (Read 2296 times)

Offline ebrewer

New station advice for confused newb
« on: January 05, 2021, 11:29:45 AM »
Hello, I have been researching for a couple months and reading this forum a lot, but since I have never used any of this type of equipment, I feel apprehensive to buy anything.  Hoping you can set me on the right path.  My techie/DIY capabilities are high. Here is what I am looking for:

1. Indoor temp/humidity
2. Outdoor temp/humidity
3. Chicken Coop temp/humidity
4. Garage temp/humidity
5. Attic temp/humidity
6. Possibly Garden 1 and Garden 2 soil moisture
7. Date and Time
8. Forecast from a reputable source, not from personal data
9. Console display showing all of those data points with specific name (not channel 1, 2, etc...) on one screen with no scrolling or button pushes.  Console can be proprietary, ipad, or kindle fire 8.
10. Access via web, iphone, and ipad
11. IFTTT
12. Historical data available, but not a priority
13. Budget $200 not including ipad/kindle console. 

Is this possible? 
Thanks! Eric

Offline galfert

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
Re: New station advice for confused newb
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2021, 11:44:01 AM »
Yes, but not with that budget.

You could go with the Ambient WS-2000 and then add sensors. Or you could go with Ecowitt GW1000 or HP2551 and then add sensors. You need to at least double the budget to get all those sensors.

As for IFTTT that is not available with Ecowitt...but it is possible to add it with a Meteobridge and the Ambientweather.net license. You'll have more console and sensor options with Ecowitt.

You can add an Ecowitt GW1000 to the Ambient WS-2000 for software expandability.