Author Topic: WD is incorrectly counting the rain  (Read 628 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« on: September 19, 2021, 11:07:46 AM »
Hi Brian, WD is counting the rain wrong, console and WLL match up ok

example, WD said 10.7mm whereas the console and WLL both said 8.4mm

I cannot find anything in WD that would account for this, I've not had a modified rain gauge
since I got the Davis, therefore there is no offset and modified rain is set to 1.0, that's always
been like that.

I don't see anything in the debug regarding rain either.
I few minutes ago I synced wd to the console at 20.2mm, console and WLL are now at 20.6 and
WD is now at 20.7mm

Any ideas please, I don't remember any issues when the Envoy was in play...
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6822
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2021, 11:21:06 AM »
My guess is that the issue arises from rounding of unit conversion.

Does your Davis station use a metric or imperial rain gauge?
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2021, 11:31:11 AM »
Hi, it's using metric, mm
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2021, 02:47:43 PM »
 make sure you have the correct rain gauge collector (tip) set up correctly on the WLL I would suggest

you can though also set in WD to use the console rain total instead

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2021, 03:06:01 PM »
Hi Brian, I'd set it to 0.2mm in station setup in wd, it used to be set to that, but when I go back in there at a later time, the box is unticked. Its setup in WLL as mm.

I have now set it to use console and that worked straight away, thank you.
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2021, 10:57:10 PM »
make sure you have the correct rain gauge collector (tip) set up correctly on the WLL I would suggest

you can though also set in WD to use the console rain total instead

Sadly, whilst setting to the console corrects the amount that's currently falling, what it does prevent is any correction
of rainfall data, ie month or year, it just reverts back, of which in turn leaves WD totals being all messed up, so it
fixes one issue and creates another

You can see it happen here, this is with WD set to use the console rainfall

https://youtu.be/VbPxvseSBdI
« Last Edit: September 19, 2021, 11:05:40 PM by Bashy »
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2021, 04:43:24 AM »
if you have WD set to use the console rain totals
then if the console rain totals are not correct, then you need to adjust the values on the console
(I think that is what the problem is from reading your post)

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2021, 07:53:56 AM »
Hi, the console is correct at 586.0mm, now when i choose to use the console rainfall in WD, it then jumps to around 750mm in WD, really weird, i do not know where its getting that extra rainfall from. And i say console cause that's the setting in WD but it is actually from the WLL, if you watch the video closely you can see i try to change the rainfall to 534 for the year and 100.8mm for the month, and when i click ok you can see it change in WD but a second later, it changes back to the wrong amount and its the correct amount on the console and WLL, the latter is in use.

That was when i was using build 131, I'm now back to b120 due to the issues in the other thread. Since on b120, when i change the rainfall mount now whilst set to use the console, it  changes the rain correctly and stays correct for some hrs, it does not revert back instantly like it did on b131, I'm not sure how long it takes but i set it to the correct amount yesterday and when i got up at 3am it had reverted back to the incorrect amount. Its very strange, even more so that it acts differently between the 2 builds....

Sometimes i am up around midnight, i think that's when it might have reverted , so i will set it to the console again and see try to see when it reverts back.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2021, 08:12:18 AM by Bashy »
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2021, 12:33:26 AM »
Please read this all when you get the chance, thank you....

Having looked at this further, when using "use console rain", it looks like its reverting back on the hour every hour in b120 as opposed to reverting back instantly in b131.

Nothing i can do to change that, that i have found, this years total rainfall should now be 586.0mm
This is whats on the console, i have tried setting this in WLL setup but under Rain in the app is says 585.8mm
IN the records at the bottom it only says 119.8mm, perhaps thats what WLL has actually recorded since i installed and totally disregarding the updated total that i added in the setting, looks like there's perhaps yet another bug in the WL app, i will report that to support. Nonetheless, adding the 119.8 to 585.8 does not add up to the 740'ish amount that WD is reverting too, but then if you add in this months rain at 31.4 it does come a bit closer to the 740'ish amount, still not the same amount though.

I think perhaps in this instance, figuring out the original issue of WD recording 0.3mm per tip. Its set to 0.2mm in WD on the station setup page and its also set to 0.2mm in WLL as that is showing 31.4mm for this month so that has to be correct and i didn't have this issue with the console connected so its deffo sommat to do with WLL.

Your WLL windows app, i tried on my main laptop and runs great, interestingly, that's where the erroneous rainfall amounts are showing 39.9mm month and 744mm year. these do not show anywhere else, not on WL not in the WLL app and not on Mobilize, where is this rainfall coming from?

Code: [Select]
{"data":{"did":"001D0A7153E4","ts":1634195124,"conditions":[{"lsid":454287,"data_structure_type":1,"txid":1,"temp": 52.9,"hum":89.8,"dew_point": 50.0,"wet_bulb": 51.2,"heat_index": 52.9,"wind_chill": 52.9,"thw_index": 52.9,"thsw_index": 50.9,"wind_speed_last":2.00,"wind_dir_last":231,"wind_speed_avg_last_1_min":2.00,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_1_min":250,"wind_speed_avg_last_2_min":2.68,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_2_min":253,"wind_speed_hi_last_2_min":6.00,"wind_dir_at_hi_speed_last_2_min":276,"wind_speed_avg_last_10_min":2.06,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_10_min":253,"wind_speed_hi_last_10_min":7.00,"wind_dir_at_hi_speed_last_10_min":256,"rain_size":2,"rain_rate_last":0,"rain_rate_hi":0,"rainfall_last_15_min":0,"rain_rate_hi_last_15_min":0,"rainfall_last_60_min":0,"rainfall_last_24_hr":0,"rain_storm":0,"rain_storm_start_at":null,"solar_rad":40,"uv_index":0.0,"rx_state":0,"trans_battery_flag":0,"rainfall_daily":0,"rainfall_monthly":157,"rainfall_year":2929,"rain_storm_last":12,"rain_storm_last_start_at":1634047380,"rain_storm_last_end_at":1634162460},{"lsid":454288,"data_structure_type":2,"txid":2,"temp_1": 54.2,"temp_2": 54.1,"temp_3":null,"temp_4":null,"moist_soil_1":200.0,"moist_soil_2":null,"moist_soil_3":null,"moist_soil_4":null,"wet_leaf_1":0.1,"wet_leaf_2":null,"rx_state":0,"trans_battery_flag":0},{"lsid":454286,"data_structure_type":4,"temp_in": 64.8,"hum_in":68.5,"dew_point_in": 54.2,"heat_index_in": 64.7},{"lsid":454285,"data_structure_type":3,"bar_sea_level":30.245,"bar_trend":-0.021,"bar_absolute":30.202}]},"error":null}
When i try to use that windows app on my weather server laptop i get this error

Code: [Select]
{"data":{"broadcast_port":22222,"duration":86400},"error":null}

Parsed Port 22222,"dur
Parsed Port ->22222<-
Could not bind socket.

The above binding issues is why i cannot see the middle window in when i try to auto detect WLL in wd...

The firewall is all turned off on that laptop, I've just done it, also that port is forwarded in my router settings.
So i am at a loss at present for 2 things, one is the rainfall issue and the other is port bind error...

EDIT;
This is very weird, i think i have found a workaround, it took me quite a while to get to the correct yearly
rain amount to put into WLL settings so that it comes out right and that number was 438.7mm, as see here
Code: [Select]
{"data":{"did":"001D0A7153E4","ts":1634209548,"conditions":[{"lsid":454287,"data_structure_type":1,"txid":1,"temp": 57.7,"hum":80.9,"dew_point": 51.9,"wet_bulb": 54.1,"heat_index": 57.7,"wind_chill": 56.6,"thw_index": 56.6,"thsw_index": 57.5,"wind_speed_last":8.00,"wind_dir_last":259,"wind_speed_avg_last_1_min":4.81,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_1_min":253,"wind_speed_avg_last_2_min":5.62,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_2_min":258,"wind_speed_hi_last_2_min":11.00,"wind_dir_at_hi_speed_last_2_min":232,"wind_speed_avg_last_10_min":6.62,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_10_min":251,"wind_speed_hi_last_10_min":15.00,"wind_dir_at_hi_speed_last_10_min":267,"rain_size":2,"rain_rate_last":0,"rain_rate_hi":0,"rainfall_last_15_min":0,"rain_rate_hi_last_15_min":0,"rainfall_last_60_min":0,"rainfall_last_24_hr":0,"rain_storm":0,"rain_storm_start_at":null,"solar_rad":84,"uv_index":0.0,"rx_state":0,"trans_battery_flag":0,"rainfall_daily":0,"rainfall_monthly":157,"rainfall_year":2192,"rain_storm_last":12,"rain_storm_last_start_at":1634047380,"rain_storm_last_end_at":1634162460},{"lsid":454288,"data_structure_type":2,"txid":2,"temp_1": 56.5,"temp_2": 142.0,"temp_3":null,"temp_4":null,"moist_soil_1":200.0,"moist_soil_2":null,"moist_soil_3":null,"moist_soil_4":null,"wet_leaf_1":0.1,"wet_leaf_2":null,"rx_state":0,"trans_battery_flag":0},{"lsid":454286,"data_structure_type":4,"temp_in": 65.0,"hum_in":67.8,"dew_point_in": 54.1,"heat_index_in": 64.8},{"lsid":454285,"data_structure_type":3,"bar_sea_level":30.199,"bar_trend":-0.033,"bar_absolute":30.157}]},"error":null}
that then gives me the correct amount in WD at 556.7mm (now), thats the amount of all the months this year
added up in WD. Whats even more strange is that that amount is actually lower than what my console says (586.0mm)
but i am going to stick with the amount that WD adds up to of which is the 556.7, shouldnt be mind cause its
an odd number, i have a feeling i have lost some rain amounts in WD somewhere and gained some due to WDs
0.3 tip measure. not overly worried about that as long as its right from here on in.

I would very much prefer WD to do the work though, so if you can figure out why WD is measuring 0.3mm per tip
thats would be great, i can let you have whatever you need and work together to try to resolve it. I wonder if its
a calculation thing what with WLL being in inches in that code above, its also not including a decimal, you can see that
here
Code: [Select]
rainfall_monthly":157,"rainfall_year":2192, it should be
Code: [Select]
rainfall_monthly":15.7,"rainfall_year":21.92,but even that converted to mm still does not match what i had to put into WLL to get that amount and that was the 438.7mm
Go figure that cause i cant wrap my head around it lol how does inputting 438.7mm into WLL yearly rain setting
come out at 21.9in, it doesnt , so thats one more issue i have to get on at Davis about.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2021, 07:32:47 AM by Bashy »
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2021, 02:21:19 AM »
Had 0.2mm rain this morning, WD is set to use console rain, WD recorded 0.3mm
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline Bashy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
    • Breckland Weather
Re: WD is incorrectly counting the rain
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2021, 09:51:40 AM »
I went out on a limb and decided to reinstall b130, unticked "use console rain" and tested the bucket tip and now it looks like its measuring 0.2mm per tip, i will keep monitoring and testing it over the next few days. Only problem with installing this build is not being able to resize custom images on the main screen as per the other thread, oh, and the webcam overlay disappears and cannot add one. so im back on webcam 6.9 as that versions overlay works fine. There are certainly a few conflicts, as to where, why or how, ive not been able to figure out, sorry...
Kind regards
Bashy

 

anything