Weather Station Hardware > Rainwise Weather Stations

Welcome to Rainwise

(1/4) > >>

VaJim:
Rainwise owners and those who desire info or to discuss the Rainwise line now have a place to call their own.

http://www.rainwise.com/

I've been using a Rainwise since 1999 and it's a solid performer.

smorris:
Good morning, Jim!

Ahh, so that's why you made the Rainwise suggestions in the various "What to buy" threads. Are you a distributor, vendor, or factory rep?

I'll just copy my quote and response here from the Texas heat thread.

--- Quote ---
--- Quote from: VaJim on February 08, 2012, 08:19:08 PM ---Rainwise may be on the higher end of the price scale, only to find it's quality is unsurpassed.

--- End quote ---

Of course there are always exceptions. My $199 Rainwise rain gauge didn't last two summers. Wouldn't receive data even ten feet away. Changed batteries, channels, orientation, etc. The one year warranty was up, so I had a very expensive funnel. I know there are flukes now and then, but based on that experience, I personally probably wouldn't buy one of their products again.

YMMV,
Steve
--- End quote ---

I got it back out this fall before I bought the Davis VP2. What it would do was either not report any precipitation at all, or report much more than actual. Sometimes the daily would be dozens of inches while the total was zero or only a few tenths. It worked great the first summer and in the next spring. But when it started acting up, it happened quickly, not over time.

Granted, this was the older model from before the external antenna. But the experience still swayed further purchases. Anyone else see anything like this?

Thanks,
Steve

DanS: