Author Topic: Any Substitutions to WD  (Read 15153 times)

Offline yamiacaveman

• Forecaster
    • Penn Lake Weather
Any Substitutions to WD
« on: December 26, 2015, 09:34:46 AM »
I am looking for a substitution to Weather Display software.

While I believe Weather Display is a decent program and Brian does a good job with it, I find WD wearing me down.

I have been using it now for 10 years (+-) and for what ever reason it runs great for a while then stops. In another post (today) I awoke to my ftp and data not current -- just stopped working around 4am this morning -- no nothing happened, believe me i was asleep.

This scenario (waking up and something not working) eventually always happens for no reason after sometimes a good run of a year.

Perhaps if I knew more it would npt bother me as much.  It's kind of like getting 3 or 4 flat tires a year.

Any suggestion to a different program?

Using win 10 and  Davis Vantage Pro 2 weather station.

Thanks for your opinion and suggestions.

yamiacaveman

Offline Jáchym

• Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Any Substitutions to WD
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2015, 09:58:15 AM »
Probably the best alternative to WD is Cumulus

http://sandaysoft.com/products/cumulus

Offline yamiacaveman

• Forecaster
    • Penn Lake Weather
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2015, 10:37:49 AM »
Thanks -- I will definitely keep this in mind!!!!!

Offline Skywatch

• !!Warning!! I'm a Skywarn certified storm spotter and insane like one!
  • Forecaster
  • Hakuna Matata (Timon and Pumba)
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2015, 05:57:51 PM »
I've been there and done that with waking up and finding something not working and being too groggy to want to deal with it. :)

There's no guarantee that switching to another program will solve the problem especially if you say it's worked fine for 10 years.