Author Topic: Atom Warnings not working  (Read 783 times)

Offline ingogliar

Atom Warnings not working
« on: August 19, 2018, 12:22:42 PM »
Hi All!

Recently, I discontinued using my hosting service to run heightsweather.info using webserver software on my Synology NAS.

The changeover went (for me) surprisingly smoothly - I am still very new to all of this -- EXCEPT that my Atom Warnings are now not working.

I ran what I think is the newest version (1.23) of check-fetch-times.php and received the following result (which I excerpted below, although I attached a snapshot of the complete output):

Error: Unable to write to ./cache/forecast-NJZ104-test-json.txt file.
Test was NOT successful.
--end NWS Forecast URL check --

Error: Unable to write to ./cache/atom-advisory-NJZ104.txt file.
Test was NOT successful.
--end NWS Warning Zone ATOM/CAP Feed check --

Error: Unable to write to ./cache/uv-forecast.txt file.
Test was NOT successful.

I am still working on figuring out how to get my old CRON job working, so in the meantime I changed the GENERAL SETTINGS in nws-alerts-config.php to the following

## GENERAL SETTINGS
$noCron        = true;                     // true=not using cron, update data when cache file expires
//                                            false=use cron to update data

I think that I should be automatically updating my two zones without using cron, but no luck.

I KNOW - unequivocally - that the fault is mine: I am doing something incorrectly. Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

Many Thanks.

« Last Edit: August 19, 2018, 12:27:20 PM by ingogliar »

Offline Jasiu

• Forecaster
    • LexMAWeather
Re: Atom Warnings not working
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2018, 04:39:14 PM »
Does the "cache/" directory exist on the server? From a quick view-source on your site it looks like it doesn't, or does not have the proper write permission.
https://lexmaweather.info
On Mastodon: @LexMAWeather@toot.community

Offline ingogliar