Author Topic: Can NOT keep HeavyWeather 1.5.4 synched to my WS2814  (Read 5531 times)

Offline OhioSpyderman

Can NOT keep HeavyWeather 1.5.4 synched to my WS2814
« on: September 13, 2013, 01:02:43 PM »
Whenever I minimize the program, switch to a different running application, or my screen save kicks in, within a matter of seconds (< 1 minute), my PC will disappear from the display and the weather software data on the software screen will freeze.

I had this same issue with a WS2811 that I had for a few days before I upgraded to the WS2814 (because in the description it said it was Win 8 compatible).

I am running Win8 Professional on an AMD Core6 machine running at 2.33 Mhz (I believe....typing this from work).
Funny thing is, the software has the same issues on a MSI netbook running WinXP.

I have followed all the instructions on setting the "power settings".

I am a software engineer by trade and know computers fairly well, but this has me baffled, the software cannot be written to work this way, can it?????

I have been in contact with La Crosse and they are trying to help, I'm just seeing if anyone here had this issue and figured out how to fix it?

Any help would be grealy appreciated,

Bob.

Offline DanS

• Chiang Mai weather
  • Forecaster
    • ThaiWx
Re: Can NOT keep HeavyWeather 1.5.4 synched to my WS2814
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2013, 06:46:17 PM »
Hi Bob. I run a WS-2810 and believe it's doing what you mention. The letters "PC" show on the bottom of the station console to indicate the link from it to the PC is active (according to the manual). This is the case only when the PC has the HW program running and active/on top, not minimized or another application currently active/on top.