Author Topic: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs  (Read 505 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fkapp

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« on: March 17, 2022, 06:23:08 PM »
Hi,
I recently setup cumlus mx on a PI4.
is running great but the station update time and cumulus last update is consistently 4 hrs off. Station time is off and 4 hrs later than correct time that the cumulus last update time shows.

Pic below is screen shot.

WLL is what is used to send data to PI.

Thoughts on how to change the station time so match?



Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5194
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2022, 10:25:49 PM »
Hi,

Not 100% sure but think that comes from the WL.com settings - Settings (wrench icon) > Device settings > Time zone.
What is your time zone settings?

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless - Komoka, ON Canada
Envoy/USB Logger/Cumulus v1.9.4  www.komokaweather.com  
WFL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca2/index.php
WLL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
WLL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.html
WLL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076


Offline fkapp

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2022, 11:57:27 AM »
I checked and is set to America/ New York Time zone which is correct.

I rebooted the PI as well and no luck.

Not sure where else to check/ what else to try?

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2022, 03:12:33 PM »
on the PI, try running "sudo raspi-config".  Go into 4) Localisation Options.  There is the timezone setting for the PI itself.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline fkapp

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2022, 07:05:22 PM »
Good call and thanks for help.
Did the trick. Reading the cumulusmx pi guide more closely says default time zone is UK.


Question. Is it possible to run more than cumulusmx on the pi 4?   Would like to use as plex server with USB drive but not sure if possible.  Am new to pi but learning.

Thanks
Frank



Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2022, 08:35:42 PM »
I only use PI for my NOAA weather radio.  So I'm not sure.  I'm using Windows for my weather PC, so I am running Plex on that.  A lot more CPU though.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 911
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2022, 11:37:47 AM »


Question. Is it possible to run more than cumulusmx on the pi 4?   Would like to use as plex server with USB drive but not sure if possible.  Am new to pi but learning.

Thanks
Frank

Yes, but you have to use a command line parameter -port to change the interface port form the default 8998 on the second instance.

Also make sure that the option to Stop second instance is not enabled!
Mark

Offline fkapp

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2022, 12:58:07 PM »
Ok. Not sure how to do this. trying to read about. Can you send some pointers, good  reference reads so can learn how to do this?

Thanks

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5194
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2022, 01:38:55 PM »

Hi,

From mcrossley:
Quote
Yes, but you have to use a command line parameter -port to change the interface port form the default 8998 on the second instance.

From fkapp:
Quote
Ok. Not sure how to do this. trying to read about. Can you send some pointers, good  reference reads so can learn how to do this?

For a second CumulusMX install - start with something like C:\CumulusMX2\CumulusMX.exe -port 8999 (as long as -port nnnn is different to the first CMX default 8998).  Then open it in browser as localhost:8999

From mcrossley:
Quote
Also make sure that the option to Stop second instance is not enabled!

In Program Settings > General Options > "Stop second instance" needs to be left unticked on both installs

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless - Komoka, ON Canada
Envoy/USB Logger/Cumulus v1.9.4  www.komokaweather.com  
WFL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca2/index.php
WLL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
WLL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.html
WLL/CMX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076


Offline jimi

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • Well Road Weather
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2022, 08:16:56 PM »
I don't think he meant two instances of CMX, he meant running CMX  & a Plex server simultaneously on the same Pi.
I'd say it would depend on the Pi, probably would work on a 3B or 4, I would doubt Zeros have enough processing power for both
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour

Offline fkapp

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2022, 09:33:01 PM »
Thanks, yes a plex server and mx on pi4. Would be run local at home.

Can you give me few tips on how to add the plex server to the pi running mx?  Starting out learning pi so not sure best way to add.

Thanks
Frank

Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 911
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Cumulus update and station update time off by 4 hrs
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2022, 03:53:27 PM »
Thanks, yes a plex server and mx on pi4. Would be run local at home.

Sorry, I misread your post. Cumulus will run on an old Pi zero, a Pi 4 will barely notice its there.
Mark

Offline fkapp

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
Thanks. So from a Hardware standpoint no issue.

I started working on this this evening.
ran into some challenges and learned curl -k command to deal with SSL issue.

Got the server installed and now figuring out how to configure