Weather Station Hardware > What Weather Station Should I Buy?

PWS for Rachio?

(1/3) > >>

redcoat:
hi everyone,

Complete newbie here.

I just purchased a Rachio 3 irrigation controller (I have 11 zones). There are a couple of WUnderground stations near me, but their rain counts are off by ~20% so I'd like to set up my own. I am only really interested in using it as it relates to ET, to allow Rachio to adjust watering times appropriately.

Thinking of spending ~$200 if I can get something ok for that amount? Found this on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Ambient-Weather-WiFi-Station/dp/B01N5TEHLI.

Would I get a lot more by stretching to $300?

cheers

David

weatherdoc:
I've been using Rachio for 5 years with my weather station (Davis VP2). Automated rain measurements are not as accurate as a manual gauge, especially during heavy rain. With heavy rain, my rain gauge can be up to 15% lower than my manual gauge - that's a fact for most weather stations because the mechanism (tipping bucket or tipping spoon) can't keep up with the rainfall rate. That said, Rachio will also "decide" whether to water based on the forecast, which can be a problem, especially in the summer due to the more scattered nature of showers and thunderstorms. If the forecast calls for a relatively high chance of rain in the form of showers and thunderstorms, Rachio will not water your lawn in anticipation of the rain. More often than not, it will not rain at my house with those hit and miss storms and I will have to water manually anyway. In the end, having an automated rain gauge in your own yard to trigger your Rachio is a good idea, but it's not foolproof.

SteveFitz1:
I'll take the opposing view of Weatherdoc.