Author Topic: Davis VP2 Plus 6163 and VWS - Newbie again...  (Read 3649 times)

Offline WeatherAnomaly

• Pinellas Weather
Davis VP2 Plus 6163 and VWS - Newbie again...
« on: October 15, 2008, 09:41:59 AM »
Hey all

Looks like I'm a newbie all over again. My new VP2 just arrived and I have it mounted now. I'm switching from my 4 year old La Cross over to the Davis so I have a few questions. I have the Davis Instruments 6510SER  Data logger with WeatherLink. The Data Logger is hooked into a an Envoy (6316). I also have a 6332 VP2 Anemometer Transmitter Kit. So looking at the VP Console I have the ISS running on station ID 1 and the Anemometer Transmitter Kit running on station ID 2. The VP Console sees everything just perfect. Now...getting it to run and dump the data to my server.

I'm not sure what really needs to be done next. I have VWS running but it cannot see the COM 1 port. I also have WeatherLink loaded up. I'll assume they are fighting each other for COM1? Questions:

Do I need to have WeatherLink running with VWS?
Do I just run VWS and uninstall WeatherLink?
Does VWS become the interface to the Envoy in place of WeatherLink?

I used to know my way around the old forum very well and until I come up to speed here I feel like a stuck pig in a pen.....reeeeeet! reeeeeet!

Thanks in advance all!
Charley
-The National Weather Service is one of the "few" US Government operations (US Department of Commerce) that give every American a "tangible benefit" for their tax dollar.

Offline Curly

• Forecaster
    • Michiana Weather
Re: Davis VP2 Plus 6163 and VWS - Newbie again...
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2008, 11:23:22 AM »
Hey Charlie,
Congrats on the new station!

I'm not sure what really needs to be done next. I have VWS running but it cannot see the COM 1 port. I also have WeatherLink loaded up. I'll assume they are fighting each other for COM1?
You're correct.