Author Topic: Absolute versus Relative Pressure--yawn!  (Read 1597 times)

Offline Saraband

Absolute versus Relative Pressure--yawn!
« on: June 15, 2015, 09:13:31 PM »
I know the subject has probably been discussed previously but I'm new to this.  The manual that came with my weather station says I need to calibrate the relative pressure readings of my unit to an official site near me. They suggest going online and doing a search.  I did and found one other PWS in my area and set my unit accordingly.  However, this begs the question: What if there was no other station near me? How would I determine the relative pressure?  How did the lone PWS in my area determine the relative pressure for his unit? I am located about 30 miles from the ocean at an altitude of 3700ft.  Is there a formula to determine relative pressure based the absolute pressure/altitude/temp and/or whatever?  Please enlighten me.

Offline DanS

• Chiang Mai weather
  • Forecaster
    • ThaiWx
Re: Absolute versus Relative Pressure--yawn!
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2015, 09:16:54 PM »
Local TV, radio station weather report?  Hilo Int'l airport might be a source. Mt. View Airstrip seems to be using them.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 10:14:24 PM by DanS »

Offline nincehelser

• Forecaster
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2015, 10:54:33 PM »
Here's the formula for calculating altimeter from absolute pressure and elevation. 

http://www.srh.noaa.gov/images/epz/wxcalc/altimeterSetting.pdf

Another way...

Acurite gear has a "learning period" where they calculate the average pressure over 33 days, then scale that against the world-wide average pressure of 29.92" as set by definition.  It works pretty well for me and gets within a few hundredths of the local airport, but it's a horribly slow way to set a barometer.  It requires no outside information, though, and it's close enough for jazz.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 11:00:26 PM by nincehelser »

Offline George Richardson

• WxElement panel
  • Forecaster