Author Topic: What is required to do what  (Read 734 times)

Offline Ahill

• Contributor
What is required to do what
« on: March 15, 2024, 01:27:19 PM »
So i asked this on another thread and didn’t get an answer so i will try here.
I am new with getting weather instruments so still trying to learn all the hardware and the software that is used for different things.

I assume different people do different things with their equipment other than just looking at the console just to see the current conditions outside. Curious what some others do. Maybe there is something i haven’t thought of , not aware, as everyone has different uses and interests. I would like to expand on things but also need to know the possibilities/options with a pws and what is needed, but at the least for the moment is keeping better historical records. Im sure with unlimited money though the possibilities are also endless lol.
Here is what i posted in another section.
Thanks

“ Data is stored at AmbientWeather.net at a rate of once per 5 minutes.

After one month, data is stored at a rate of once per 30 minutes.

Archived data is stored for one year. All data is removed after one year.”

The VP2 says:
“ Get your own local forecast, highs/lows, totals or averages, and graphs for virtually all weather variables over the past 24 days, months - even years - all without using a PC.”

But i want to store the data more frequently and for a longer period but i don’t know how to write my own app or the process. It does have an sd card in the console but I don’t know how far back that can save the data either. What equipment, programming would i need to continuously store my own data as you say and how does the VP2 do it differently without a pc

Offline PaulMy

• Forecaster
    • KomokaWeather
Re: What is required to do what
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2024, 04:55:08 PM »
Hi,