Author Topic: Uploading to FINDU, Not showing on MADIS (solved)  (Read 347 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DA270

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Uploading to FINDU, Not showing on MADIS (solved)
« on: January 25, 2024, 09:01:19 PM »
I recently requested a CWOP ID and received a welcome email with a station ID(GW4312) and detailed instructions on activating the station within a week of my initial request. I followed the instructions and began uploads to FINDU with no issues. As instructed, I replied to CWOP support after I verified consistent uploads to FINDU to complete the activation process. After two weeks there was  no response from them and the station never appeared on the MADIS map. I resent the reply email about ten days ago, and there is still no response and the station is not on MADIS. Any ideas on what might be going on or what I need to do differently?

Thanks,
Dave
« Last Edit: January 26, 2024, 04:05:14 PM by DA270 »

Offline weatherdoc

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 178
    • Willowsford Farm Weather
Re: Uploading to FINDU, Not showing on MADIS
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2024, 08:01:26 AM »
There could be a number of reasons, but often it is because your data doesn't pass their quality control check. Looking at the QC, https://weather.gladstonefamily.net/site/G4312, your wind sensor gets a thumbs down from MADIS and it states Sensor fails following checks: L3 Spatial Consistency. The QC for my wind sensor gets a thumbs up but also states Sensor fails following checks: L3 Spatial Consistency yet MADIS displays my station.

So, I think your data is getting to MADIS via CWOP but the QC might be preventing it from being displayed on their maps.

That said, looking at the University of Utah MesoWest site, that processes MADIS data, your data looks good: https://mesowest.utah.edu/cgi-bin/droman/meso_base_dyn.cgi?stn=G4312

And, Synoptic (https://synopticdata.com/) does QC for MADIS and the National Mesonet and your station is on their map (https://viewer.synopticdata.com/map/data/now/air-temperature#stationdensity=0&map=11/26.8742/-80.1853). So, I'm not sure why it's not displayed on the MAIDS map.

You could make an inquiry with Synoptic: https://synopticdata.com/contact-us/ or MesoWest: atmos-mesowest@lists.utah.edu.


Offline DA270

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Uploading to FINDU, Not showing on MADIS
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2024, 04:04:23 PM »
There could be a number of reasons, ......

Thanks so much for the detailed reply. The additional information and the links you provided are very helpful.

Apparently your reply also "fixed" MADIS! My weather station data is now appearing on their map.  [tup]

Best Regards,
Dave

Offline weatherdoc

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 178
    • Willowsford Farm Weather
Re: Uploading to FINDU, Not showing on MADIS (solved)
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2024, 06:47:04 AM »
That's funny - glad I could "help" even though I didn't do anything.  \:D/

 

anything