Author Topic: Affordable weather station for WU and APRS in Greece  (Read 1082 times)

Offline sv2hws

Affordable weather station for WU and APRS in Greece
« on: November 19, 2022, 11:08:55 AM »
Hello

I am a newbie in this hobby and I am searching around to setup my first Weather Station :grin:
What I want is a way to monitor remotely the weather conditions and to keep historical records.
I am not really interested in a local console to display the data (but if available, it would be welcome).

The weather station will be setup in an agricultural area of low altitude in Northern Greece. The (usual) temperatures and weather generally in the area are not extreme. The location of the setup has mains power and internet (via mobile network) and I also have a raspberry pi. I prefer to use ethernet connection for internet connectivity, although wifi is not a deal breaker if it is needed for a really important feature.

I would really like to NOT be tied to specific vendor solutions and avoid situations that have already occurred in the past with cloud services that have been shutdown. Also paying monthly costs for any cloud service is undesirable. So the "device" used to push data should be able to push data directly to non vendor specific services like Weather Underground (and this is where the raspberry will be useful!). Also I am looking for something on the "affordable" side of things.

I initially searched for wired weather station (wire routing for the connection would be no problem for my setup) to avoid having to deal with battery changes. But as I found out the weather stations that support this (like davis vp2) are relatively expensive especially with the extra hardware needed to support all requirements for remote monitoring via internet. Then I also read about possible lightning dangers with wired stations (the cable would bring the lightning indoors!) so I decided to go with wireless connection from sensors to the base.