Author Topic: Ambient WS-2000 No Wifi  (Read 591 times)

Offline Neal

Ambient WS-2000 No Wifi
« on: June 20, 2020, 07:17:08 PM »
I am a newbie and just received my WS-2000 yesterday.  Everything was going fine (wifi was working) and I had everything set up and decided to check for firmware upgrades (should have done this first!).  I upgraded to the latest system firmware (went from 1.6.0 to 1.6.4) and everything worked fine.  I then tried to upgrade the Wifi firmware with my Samsung Galaxy S9+ with the AWnet app (from 4.1.9 to 4.2.4) and it appeared on my smartphone that it was successful, but when I went to the console I had lost my wifi connection.  I checked the wifi firmware version and it is blank.  It appears that it was not successful and the system is no longer recognizing any wifi software.  I tried a factory reset of the console (through the menu, not the recessed button) to see if it would return to the original firmware version and it did not.  I reloaded the system firmware with no fix.  I deleted the AWnet app and reinstalled, but it does not even recognize my system.  Rebooted my modem, no luck.  Help!  Any ideas?  I have googled every permutation of getting the wifi firmware version back, but cannot find an answer.  I was hoping that the USB port on the console could be used, but I see no information other than for maintenance.

Offline galfert

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
Re: Ambient WS-2000 No Wifi
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2020, 07:28:46 PM »
Sound like it went bad with the WiFi firmware. Unfortunately there is no way to go back or to attempt again the WiFi firmware. Try to go back on the Revision firmware to see if it makes a difference. You can find older Revision firmware at this link:

https://p10.secure.hostingprod.com/@site.ambientweatherstore.com/ssl/ws2000/
(in this directory user.bin is always the latest version...in this case 1.6.4 today)