Author Topic: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question  (Read 836 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BackWoodsTech

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« on: March 19, 2022, 11:09:16 AM »
I have read the must read post as well as numerous other threads but i'm just still so confused.  :oops:

I've got CumulusMX up and running and it is connecting to the GW1100 just fine. I can also access the GW1100 via the mobile app and see both the indoor temp & humidity, as well as the temp & humidity provided by the outdoor WH32.

In CumulusMX though, the outdoor data is only available via navigating to the 'extra sensor' page. Is there a way to have CumulusMX read the outdoor data from the WH32? I'm at a loss as to how else you'd pipe in other sensor data. I mean, if I jump in for Ecowitt's expensive 8:1 sensor will any of that be available on the main dashboard or only in the 'extra sensors' tab.

Been making good progress here but now I feel like i've hit a wall!

Offline broadstairs

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 556
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2022, 12:28:27 PM »
I am at a similar stage with CumulusMX. If you are looking at the standard dashboard it is what it is, same with the default web page. In order to view these other sensors you will need to either modify the provided dashboard or create your own website. I have not investigated yet but I sure there is a way to obtain the extra sensor data to display on your own pages. At present I have no need to do this, I'm sure someone will come along and provide the necessary information.

There is only so much which can be defaulted as it depends so much on your available sensors.

Stuart
Ecowitt GW1003 with ultrasonic wind gauge, lightning sensor and PM2.5 sensor with Personal Weather Tablet as a console.

Offline BackWoodsTech

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2022, 08:13:48 AM »
So, are there any devices that will post in the standard dashboard by default?Or is it always going to be the case of needing to create a custom site? That's what I have a hard time believing.

I'll keep digging and let you know what I find, but I do appreciate your response! Thanks!

Offline broadstairs

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 556
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2022, 08:33:25 AM »
Well I've looked as I have three extra sensors but I have no way to make them show up on the dashboard or default website. Right now this is not an issue for me and when/if I switch to CumulusMX I will build my own website to look as similar to my current one as I can.

Stuart
Ecowitt GW1003 with ultrasonic wind gauge, lightning sensor and PM2.5 sensor with Personal Weather Tablet as a console.

Offline BackWoodsTech

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2022, 08:56:55 AM »
Good point.

I guess maybe i'll just focus on the data logging as that is really what I was hoping to leverage CumulusMX for anyway. Maybe i'll pony-up the coin for a console sooner than expected.

Offline broadstairs

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 556
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2022, 09:01:04 AM »
If you have an Android Tablet you could use on a reasonably current version you could use Personal Weather Tablet and have a cheap console, that's what Ive done with an old ACER tablet running V8.1.0 of the OS. It shows my lightning, pm2.5 and two temperature sensors just fine.

Stuart
Ecowitt GW1003 with ultrasonic wind gauge, lightning sensor and PM2.5 sensor with Personal Weather Tablet as a console.

Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 969
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2022, 09:23:54 AM »
At present for Ecowitt stations, Cumulus uses what Ecowitt deems to be the primary sensors for Temp/Humidity, Rain, Wind and Solar.

Additional sensors are logged as Extra sensors. The data is available on the dashboard, and a revised version of the default web site (available soon) will also display them. Of course the data is also available via the web tags and local API.

For now you cannot map Ecowitt additional sensors into the primary roles.
Mark

Offline BackWoodsTech

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2022, 02:08:32 PM »
If you have an Android Tablet you could use on a reasonably current version you could use Personal Weather Tablet and have a cheap console, that's what Ive done with an old ACER tablet running V8.1.0 of the OS. It shows my lightning, pm2.5 and two temperature sensors just fine.

Stuart

hmm! I do have an old android cell phone I might be able to do this with, thanks!

Offline BackWoodsTech

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CumulusMX Ecowitt GW1100 & WH32 Question
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2022, 02:16:23 PM »
At present for Ecowitt stations, Cumulus uses what Ecowitt deems to be the primary sensors for Temp/Humidity, Rain, Wind and Solar.

Additional sensors are logged as Extra sensors. The data is available on the dashboard, and a revised version of the default web site (available soon) will also display them. Of course the data is also available via the web tags and local API.

For now you cannot map Ecowitt additional sensors into the primary roles.

thank you for the very thorough response! I thought i found a thread somewhere about what 'order' the GW1100 will see other sensors as primary or not. For example, would the WS68 or WS80 supersede the WH32 or the built-in sensor to the GW1100 itself? Going to try to find that thread again, just not having much luck right now.

I need to continue to read the manual regarding the web tags & API...I honestly had no idea just how in-depth & powerful Cumulus is until I was farther along this path!

Thanks!