WXforum.net

Weather Software => Meteohub/Meteobridge => Topic started by: colemanmorris64 on August 15, 2021, 04:22:31 PM

Title: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: colemanmorris64 on August 15, 2021, 04:22:31 PM
Hello there!

I am tinkering around with my new Meteobridge (Weatherbridge), and am attempting to use a mobile hotspot as a LAN source to the MB with a Wifi Extender as the middle-man, with marginal results. I set up the Wifi Extender SSID/password to receive its WLAN from the mobile hotspot (Skyroam Solis 1). The GW1000 connects/reports to Ecowitt.net easily using the mobile hotspot (Skyroam Solis 1), and reports to Ecowitt.net.

I'm a bit perplexed with the behavior of the Meteobridge when connected to the mobile hotspot.
With Meteobridge connected to the mobile hotspot via the Wifi Extender, I'm able to talk/configure the Meteobridge through the magicip.meteobridge.com link, and then through the remote URL. Despite a valid internet connection, the Weatherbridge receives no raw sensor data, and does not transmit anything to my configured weather network (Ambientweather.net). (Though at the same time the GW1000 is still sending to Ecowitt.net just fine).

My plan was to use the 3G-connected Weatherbridge to upload to CWOP and other services. For now I'm back connected to my home's Wifi router, and the Weatherbridge is receiving raw sensor data just fine again.

I'm not a networking guru, but there has to be something I'm missing here. If anyone has any tips/tricks, I would be appreciative. Likewise, if anyone has knowledge that would indicate my plans to use a mobile hotspot, wifi extender, and Meteobridge in this configuration are futile, it would save me a lot of time!

Thanks in advance!

Cole
Title: Re: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: Mattk on August 15, 2021, 05:24:16 PM
Not transmitting anything makes sense when there is no raw data ... but the no data being related to the WiFi connection is rather obscure?
Title: Re: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: colemanmorris64 on August 15, 2021, 08:29:22 PM
Not transmitting anything makes sense when there is no raw data ... but the no data being related to the WiFi connection is rather obscure?

I can't explain it. I've been successful getting the Meteobridge to connect to to the mobile hotspot (Skyroam Solis 1) through the Wifi extender. When I swap internet sources for the Wifi Extender, I can login to the Meteobridge, but like I mentioned before, the unit apparently stops receiving sensor data from the GW1000 (though the GW1000 continues to upload to Ecowitt.net).
I tried starting from scratch configuring the Wifi Extender with the mobile hotspot (Skyroam Solis 1) at the start, and I get the same result. I then did the same thing by generating a wifi hotspot from my phone, with the same result.
Title: Re: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: Michael M on August 15, 2021, 09:15:07 PM
Could it be the extender DNS error
So in the setup of the Extender what is the DNS address
Google would be 8.8.8.8
Secondary DNS 8.8.4.4
Example
DNS 192.168.1.1
You have two software uploading on the hotshot
But one software is not
Check setup in that software, network setting to match current internet DNS
Test
I would take a laptop connect to the hotspot do command prompt IP config and find out what the DNS is of the hotspot
Hope that helps
Title: Re: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: Daali on August 16, 2021, 07:40:32 AM
do you have the gw1000 on a static IP in the lan?  I run the same (different isp) setup.  Cellular hotspot ->extender ->MB and GW1000. I do have the gw static ip'd.
Title: Re: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: colemanmorris64 on August 16, 2021, 08:16:39 AM
do you have the gw1000 on a static IP in the lan?  I run the same (different isp) setup.  Cellular hotspot ->extender ->MB and GW1000. I do have the gw static ip'd.

Thanks so much for the comment!
It does appear like not having a static IP address is my issue. I'm going to try and get a static IP address setup this afternoon when I get home from work.

For now I have the MB setup pointing to the correct GW1000 IP address, and it is reporting now.
Title: Re: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: colemanmorris64 on August 23, 2021, 10:05:09 PM
I mentioned this under another forum topic, but I was able to get this particular weather network setup to my satisfaction (wifi extender with DHCP server). Thanks for those that helped steer me towards the right solution! Now I'm ready when the next power/cable outage comes.
Title: Re: Mobile Hotspot as WLAN--> Wifi Extender LAN --> Meteobridge?
Post by: galfert on August 24, 2021, 06:50:57 AM
Clarification....

For those reading this thread and wondering how to set a static IP on a GW1000, the answer is you can't. In this tread the term static IP has been used incorrectly in regards to the GW1000. The solution is to set an IP address reservation in the DHCP server (router) based on the MAC address of the GW1000. And no it isn't the same thing because to the GW1000 it is still asking for a DHCP address, it has no idea that there is a reservation.