WXforum.net

Weather Related Organizations => AWEKAS => Topic started by: funsutton on June 18, 2020, 07:18:52 PM

Title: Awekas and GW1000
Post by: funsutton on June 18, 2020, 07:18:52 PM
I set up an account with Awekas, however I'm not sure which server option to choose below for my GW1000 upload custom server.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Title: Re: Awekas and GW1000
Post by: casacota on June 18, 2020, 07:40:52 PM
Probably WView?

https://www.awekas.at/for2/index.php?thread/16749-weather-stations-with-wunderground-transmission-mode-can-be-used-for-awekas/&postID=43736&highlight=GW1000#post43736
Title: Re: Awekas and GW1000
Post by: funsutton on June 18, 2020, 07:47:58 PM
Probably WView?

https://www.awekas.at/for2/index.php?thread/16749-weather-stations-with-wunderground-transmission-mode-can-be-used-for-awekas/&postID=43736&highlight=GW1000#post43736

I tried wview but it requires a data file. I have my GW1000 set up properly thanks to Galfert's instructions on here. But I'm just not sure which one of these to choose.
Title: Re: Awekas and GW1000
Post by: funsutton on June 18, 2020, 08:40:38 PM
I ended up using manual input. Seems to work ok. Had a problem getting my units to show American, but they finally did.

So far it seems to update every 60 seconds, which is pretty cool.
Title: Re: Awekas and GW1000
Post by: galfert on June 18, 2020, 10:48:21 PM
Manual would be the correct choice in your case I think or try Froggit Fastlink.

WView does not mean WS View as WView is an open source software program and WS View is an Android app and they come from different places. Totally different things.

You can't upload to AWEKAS every 60 seconds unless you sign up for their Fasklink subscription service. If you want to upload for free then 5 minutes is the most frequent upload. Unless they changed that within the last year since I last visited this issue.  Some people are turned off by AWEKAS when they incorrectly assume that it is a paid service. It is free if you stick to their free plan. Some people inadvertently sign up for the paid service when configuring their account.
Title: Re: Awekas and GW1000
Post by: funsutton on June 19, 2020, 01:33:46 AM
I didn't see anything about a subscription service. They may have changed it. In the forum people were asked not to upload any quicker than 60 seconds on the GW1000. So that's what I set mine to and it seems to work fine.

I notice their pages update every 2 minutes. But if you manually refresh the most current data is there from the most recent minute.

The only issue I have now is that every time it refreshes automatically my temp goes back to celcius while everything else stays 'American'. But I can manually refresh it and it goes back to farenheit. So no big deal.
Title: Re: Awekas and GW1000
Post by: galfert on June 19, 2020, 08:02:22 AM
Thanks for the update.