Author Topic: Access WLL 6100 directly (API)? Setup without account on weatherlink.com ?  (Read 654 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline threesixright

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Hi,

Does anyone know if you can setup the WLL 6100 in standalone mode, so without syncing to the weatherlink.com ?

Is there also anyway to access the data directly via some (REST) API on the WLL 6100?

Thanks!


Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Hi,

Does anyone know if you can setup the WLL 6100 in standalone mode, so without syncing to the weatherlink.com ?

Is there also anyway to access the data directly via some (REST) API on the WLL 6100?

Thanks!

I do not know if you can "switch off" the upload to wl.com, as soon as it is on the (W)LAN it starts transmitting.

But accessing the device locally  is described here https://weatherlink.github.io/weatherlink-live-local-api/
This link http://__IP_address_/v1/current_conditions    returns a json string such as
Code: [Select]
{"data":{"did":"001D0A7109A0","ts":1625559706,"conditions":[{"lsid":301025,"data_structure_type":1,"txid":5,"temp": 66.5,"hum":72.1,"dew_point": 57.2,"wet_bulb": 60.1,"heat_index": 66.7,"wind_chill": 66.5,"thw_index": 66.7,"thsw_index":null,"wind_speed_last":3.37,"wind_dir_last":352,"wind_speed_avg_last_1_min":1.81,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_1_min":4,"wind_speed_avg_last_2_min":1.93,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_2_min":274,"wind_speed_hi_last_2_min":4.18,"wind_dir_at_hi_speed_last_2_min":7,"wind_speed_avg_last_10_min":2.00,"wind_dir_scalar_avg_last_10_min":229,"wind_speed_hi_last_10_min":8.12,"wind_dir_at_hi_speed_last_10_min":220,"rain_size":2,"rain_rate_last":0,"rain_rate_hi":0,"rainfall_last_15_min":0,"rain_rate_hi_last_15_min":0,"rainfall_last_60_min":0,"rainfall_last_24_hr":6,"rain_storm":97,"rain_storm_start_at":1625321221,"solar_rad":null,"uv_index":null,"rx_state":0,"trans_battery_flag":0,"rainfall_daily":4,"rainfall_monthly":98,"rainfall_year":1703,"rain_storm_last":123,"rain_storm_last_start_at":1625004480,"rain_storm_last_end_at":1625205660},{"lsid":301024,"data_structure_type":4,"temp_in": 64.7,"hum_in":51.1,"dew_point_in": 46.2,"heat_index_in": 62.8},{"lsid":301023,"data_structure_type":3,"bar_sea_level":29.583,"bar_trend": 0.032,"bar_absolute":29.525}]},"error":null}
Wim
« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 04:28:14 AM by wvdkuil »

Offline johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4827
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
AFAIK, in practice you need to have the WLL connected to the Internet and enabled with an account to upload to wl.com. WLL does I think need to be able to phone home, synchronise time, get firmware updates etc. So even if it's possible to use it in local mode only temporarily, this isn't a robust configuration.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 05:57:18 AM by johnd »
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's FAQ/support site for Davis stations
Includes many details on 6313 Weatherlink console.
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Cambridge UK

Sorry, but I don't usually have time to help with individual issues by email unless you are a Prodata customer. Please post your issue in the relevant forum section here & I will comment there if I have anything useful to add.

Offline threesixright

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Thanks for the reply!

I roll the dice, just ordered a 7210  + 6100  + 6322  (AirLink, Weatherlink and basic sensor set).

Curious how this will end up working [tup]

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Thanks for the reply!

I roll the dice, just ordered a 7210  + 6100  + 6322  (AirLink, Weatherlink and basic sensor set).

Curious how this will end up working [tup]

That will work fine.  This was tested for the multi-device support of Meteobridge a year ago.
Your scripts needs to access two devices:
First one to the WLL+ISS   http://__IP_address_WLL_/v1/current_conditions  which will return WLL data + the VP2-ISS data.
You can add other standard Davis devices such as soil, extra TempHum and as long as you setup the WLL all those measurements are returned in 1 call.

As the Airlink is a "on-its-own-device" you get the AQ sensor-data with http://__IP_address_Airlink_/v1/current_conditions   which returns:
Code: [Select]
{ "data": { "did": "001D0A1000B1", "name": "001D0A1000B1", "ts": 1625574480, "conditions": [{ "lsid": 346392, "data_structure_type": 6, "temp": 74.6, "hum": 48.0, "dew_point": 53.5, "wet_bulb": 59.1, "heat_index": 74.2, "pm_1_last": 0, "pm_2p5_last": 0, "pm_10_last": 0, "pm_1": 0.00, "pm_2p5": 0.03, "pm_2p5_last_1_hour": 0.22, "pm_2p5_last_3_hours": 0.33, "pm_2p5_last_24_hours": 0.33, "pm_2p5_nowcast": 0.31, "pm_10": 0.75, "pm_10_last_1_hour": 0.76, "pm_10_last_3_hours": 0.97, "pm_10_last_24_hours": 0.70, "pm_10_nowcast": 0.88, "last_report_time": 1625574480, "pct_pm_data_last_1_hour": 100, "pct_pm_data_last_3_hours": 100, "pct_pm_data_nowcast": 100, "pct_pm_data_last_24_hours": 100 }] }, "error": null }
Both the WLL and the Airlink need outside access to weatherlink.com to customise some settings.

I never checked if the WLL could also include the Airlink as I need the separate devices to test my scripts.
Both the WLL and the Airlink can  store the uploaded data at weatherlink.com in 1 account or in separate accounts.

Succes, Wim

Offline threesixright

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Succes, Wim

Thanks Wim for the info, much appreciated  [tup]