Author Topic: Texas weather station conciderations  (Read 691 times)

Offline Solarman61

Texas weather station conciderations
« on: January 31, 2021, 03:44:25 PM »
Hello All,

Newbie here! Apologies if this may not be where I should ask/post this.

I recently ran across a Texas Weather Instruments WRL-128 system complete w/ the everything except the anemometer
fully working. for $50 I found an anemometer for about $100

I don't know much about it but looked like a pretty cool setup for getting started. any suggestions or things to consider would be great ley appreciated.

Thanks  [tup]

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Texas weather station conciderations
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2021, 04:30:23 PM »
Don't buy it!  Send the seller's address.  LOL  https://www.weathermarket.com/[texasweather]_[wrl]_[mainframe].htm
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline DaleReid

• Forecaster
    • Weather at Eau Claire, WI
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2021, 07:40:19 PM »
The only time I've ever had a TWI system go sour was with a lightning strike.  Very robust.  The sensors are a problem but there was a recent posting for a wind sensor (I assume that is the one you are referring to and I'd snap it up).  With Kev's work and eventually mine, there is likely to be a way of re-creating a temp / humidity sensor very soon (by spring?).

The RS-232 interface goes well  into a USB dongle and from there, any of the software packages will work.  I, of course, have a soft spot for Weather-Display. Inexpensive, a lot of support, Brian H. keeps updating it, and while a little weird to get some of the fine points ironed out, a whole forum exists for that.