Author Topic: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems  (Read 1520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline davidmc36

  • He who dies with the most toys wins!
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
  • FN25ie61jw
    • MorewoodW34
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2021, 07:50:30 AM »
Additionally, approximately 1m below the ISS is also TP LINK WI-FI signal extender plugged into a wall socket.

It all adds up to less than ideal as the wall will have an effect then possibly compounded by the PC and other devices plugged in to mains and transmitting wireless signals.

Offline TraderGary

  • Active Stock Market Trader
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Amateur Radio W9VJ
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #26 on: April 16, 2021, 09:23:28 AM »
Since your WLL is connected to your router using WiFi, you can separately place your WLL to be as close to your SSI as possible.

This will reduce interference from your other devices and increase signal strength from your SSI.

It would be ideal if you could position your WLL where it would have line-of-sight through a glass window or patio door, eliminating the concrete wall.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2021, 09:53:57 AM by TraderGary »
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus 6163 (Wireless) | WeatherLink Live 6100 | Meteobridge Pro
WeatherLink | WundergroundCWOPAWEKASWindy

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #27 on: April 19, 2021, 03:30:06 PM »
Unfortunately, I have already checked everything according to your suggestions (battery replacement, moving the WLL of the device closer to the ISS, moving away from potential sources of interference) and nothing worked. No parameters are displayed for ID1 (signal strength or battery status flag). I have no ideas anymore.

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2021, 04:17:13 AM »
Looking for any way to solve the problem the WLL and ISS modules have been checked again in terms of transmission. Indoor module (WLL) works fine while ISS doesn't send any data except communication with the console. I've tried to: replace batteries, place WLL close to ISS, re-instaling WeatherLink app, changing device configuration and checking the health data (empty) but with no effect. The ISS seems to be dead to WLL module but then how does it communicate with the console and does it use a completely different transmission format for that?
When I tried to select Wi-Fi network the WLL dropped it off after a few minutes or does not allow to verify the password.
After each try I was waiting for a day to get any data from ISS but nothing happened.
Please let me know how the ISS communicates with console and does it use a completely different transmission format for that?
Health data in WeatherLink app went dead and even when I changed battery and get WLL closed to ISS, nothing happened or displayed in ID 1 window. I've also registered support ticket to Davis but nobody answered yet. Have you any other suggestions?

Online johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4074
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2021, 04:45:41 AM »
The ISS broadcasts its data in one single format so both console and WLL receive in exactly the same format. If the WLL is not receiving then it's an issue with poor signal strength at the WLL or the WLL is faulty.

You can only get Health data if the WLL is actually receiving a measurable signal. If WLL is not picking up an adequate signal then no Health data is possible.

You could try connecting the WLL to the router or switch via cabled Ethernet and turn WiFi off, just to see if this makes a difference. But you will need to go into WLL settings with a phone to make this change.

What's the RSSI at the console (you'll need to look at the 2nd wireless diagnostic screen on the console - see console manual)?

If you're still out of luck then you could try setting console retransmit to on, on a different wireless channel and receiving that on the WLL.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2021, 04:49:02 AM by johnd »
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Sorry, but I can't help with individual issues by email. Please post your issue in the relevant forum section here & I will comment there if I have anything useful to add.

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #30 on: April 21, 2021, 08:43:42 AM »
Can the cause of these problems be related to the mains supply for WLL, because the module is equipped with an American plug and I use converter?

Offline ConligWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
  • #conligwx
    • conligwx.org
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #31 on: April 21, 2021, 10:17:10 AM »
no the reason is due to the signal strength.  as said before try a different transmit channel on your ISS in case of radio interference.  also what direction is the antenna on the ISS?  is it vertical or horizontal?
Regards Simon
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus (6162UK) Daytime FARS WeatherLink Live AirLink PurpleAir PA-II-SD CumulusMX


Offline davidmc36

  • He who dies with the most toys wins!
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
  • FN25ie61jw
    • MorewoodW34
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #32 on: April 21, 2021, 04:34:25 PM »
Try two things.

Get extension cord and move WLL as close as possible to ISS. See if it gets signal.

Move WLL next to the console. Set console to retransmit in ID2 and get WLL to listen for ID2.

If it works in both situations, and console works while distant from ISS then I would suspect some.hardware fault in the WLL.

Offline Mattk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #33 on: April 21, 2021, 05:30:06 PM »
Can the cause of these problems be related to the mains supply for WLL, because the module is equipped with an American plug and I use converter?

Why is it equipped with an American plug and converter? Is power in your country the same?

if it came with an American plug are the ISS, WLL and Console all programmed for the correct country?

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #34 on: April 22, 2021, 02:26:56 AM »
When I get home I will try these methods and let you know what the result is . Thank you!

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #35 on: April 26, 2021, 12:43:11 AM »
Eventually, I got a reply from Davis that reads:

From what I am seeing, you have the 6152. This is the USA version, as it has no letters after the model.
And it appears that you are in Poland. Poland, uses the European frequencies, not the USA frequencies. I am not sure how you would have had this working previously.
The 6152 is hard coded to the USA Frequencies, and the WLL selects the proper frequency based on the address you install with.


It looks like I purchased the US version of WLL and what do you think I should do now?
Will setting the console to retransmit in ID2 and get WLL to listen for ID2 be working?


Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #36 on: April 26, 2021, 04:01:44 AM »
That is not what Davis are saying. Your WLL is fine, it is universal, it changes its frequency depending on your location.

The problem is your VP2, that is a US model not a European.
Mark

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #37 on: April 26, 2021, 08:52:42 AM »
What is the difference between a US model and a European model and what can I do now not to change all decisive modules in the station? Is it a matter of changing ISS module or not?

Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #38 on: April 26, 2021, 11:24:06 AM »
You can change a US VP2 base station to European frequency, but you cannot change the ISS**, that is fixed to whatever frequency it was built to use.

** As far as we know! No one has ever come up with a mechanism to change the ISS frequency.

I switched my VP2 console from US to Europe, but had to buy a new ISS board to fix that end.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2021, 11:26:12 AM by mcrossley »
Mark

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #39 on: April 26, 2021, 12:24:45 PM »
Please show me where I can buy the ISS board and is it modular or not? Do I need any specialist electronics knowledge to install this?

Offline Mattk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #40 on: April 26, 2021, 06:09:58 PM »
Do you have a Davis dealer in Poland? If so they may be able to change the freq over to an EU version? Having been bought overseas they might not touch them either?

The ISS can be re-programmed by Davis, the console you can do yourself if you have a logger.

A new VP2 ISS SIM would need to be sourced from somewhere in an EU country. The unit would come as just the back shell with ISS board, no door/solar panel etc. Unclip the old case, clip on the new case and attached the door, not difficult 

Offline vortilon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #41 on: April 28, 2021, 01:58:18 AM »
Unfortunately I don't have any Davis dealer here in Poland and none in neighboring countries and in addition there is a poor e-mail communication with Davis. I tried to ask them what to do in my situation and they are still silent. It seems to me that the best solution would be to send the entire ISS module to Davis USA for reprogramming to European frequencies. But because the device was not bought directly from Davis there is nothing else for me to do but order / buy a stand-alone ISS module and install the rest myself. You wrote that "a new VP2 ISS SIM would need to be sourced from somewhere in an EU country", but do you know where to order it from? Is there any Davis service at your place in the UK? Please let me know some links leading to order pages. Is this the module I just need? (https://www.davisinstruments.com/product/pcba-for-wireless-iss-or-iss-plus-ov-2/). Please tell me what are the fundamental differences between the American and European versions of weather station apart from the difference in the frequency of operation of the device, will these differences also affect the console or the way it works?
Thank you,,








Online johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4074
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Re: Davis 6152 Wireless Vantage Pro 2 (2020) and some problems
« Reply #42 on: April 28, 2021, 03:30:16 AM »
https://www.davisinstruments.com/reseller/agrovative-2/

https://www.davisinstruments.com/reseller/mera-sp-z-o-o-2/

And plenty of other Davis dealers throughout Europe of course - you just have to look.

This thread is very confusing. I'm not sure that there's solid evidence that the frequencies are wrong. If data has been received correctly at any time, albeit for short periods, then the frequencies must be compatible. but it's impossible to tell for sure without the full model numbers for each of the main components.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2021, 03:35:45 AM by johnd »
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Sorry, but I can't help with individual issues by email. Please post your issue in the relevant forum section here & I will comment there if I have anything useful to add.