Author Topic: Mid-range but robust weather station solution  (Read 1043 times)

Offline imkuk

Mid-range but robust weather station solution
« on: January 10, 2022, 10:01:40 AM »
Folks,

I am new to this game and hopefully have simple requirements, but I suspect I am asking too much for my budget:

1) A robust solution that will not see one or more sensors/units fail just out of warranty, eg: after 18 months
2) Accuracy need only be reasonable
3) Cost up to 350 GBP
4) Console not a requirement
5) Must be able to upload data to the main services without going over the budget, eg: Wunderground, and so download/export to analyse on a PC/Mac
6) Solar powered preferred, but units that last at least a year on batteries would be OK
7) Monitor: tempearature, humidity, pressure, wind speed, wind direction, precipitation

The impression I get is separate components are better for maintenance, but am guessing this increases cost.

Any suggestions on what/where to buy?

Thank you

Ian

Offline broadstairs

• Forecaster
Re: Mid-range but robust weather station solution
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2022, 11:16:53 AM »
Since you set a budget of £350 it rules out the premier station - a Davis VP2 which most of the time will outlive any of the others available for your budget. However one of the Ecowitt stations should be quite good and reliable. Because of budget constraints now I'm retired my 15 year old VP1 has been replaced by a GW1003 from Ecowitt and I'm quite please with it. Only time will tell if it lasts 15 years and if it does I'm not sure I'll be around to see it  ;)

Stuart
Ecowitt GW1003 with ultrasonic wind gauge, lightning sensor and PM2.5 sensor with Personal Weather Tablet as a console.

Offline wxperson

« Last Edit: January 10, 2022, 12:40:29 PM by wxperson »

Offline box

• Forecaster
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2022, 01:23:30 PM »
Folks,

I am new to this game and hopefully have simple requirements, but I suspect I am asking too much for my budget: