Author Topic: Another Newbie to Personal Stations  (Read 1881 times)

Offline Nevgar

Another Newbie to Personal Stations
« on: March 06, 2011, 07:28:53 PM »
Hi All;
     I am a newbie to weather stations at home.
     I work as an observer as a subcontractor to Environment Canada ... in other words I launch weather balloons ... so I have some familiarity with weather, instruments, etc.
     I have a couple of questions that I hope you can help me with:
     a) I'm in Canada - are there any good Canadian suppliers;
     b) I'm in Northern Canada (almost 69° N), so we have weather extremes - in the range of -45°C to +30°C. I need to find a station that will work well at those temps / in my conditions;
     c) Batteries don't last longer than about 6 minutes up here in the cold - do I understand correctly that some stations have solar panels?; If so - any hints or info I should be aware of?;
     d) I want to set up a website and/or add weather info to various forums I post to, as well as having a record available locally for personal info - what should I look for or get as far as a logger;
     e) Although I have a PC running pretty much 24/7, our power is notoriously horrid and we regularly have outages lasting anywhere from a few minutes to a few hours. By regularly I mean we can count on one or two a month, and if they are having problems, probably 2-3 a week. I don't want data to be lost for any longer than necessary; and
     f) Needless to say, we have snowfall regularly - how do I go about gathering snowfall data with reasonable accuracy (and without having to manually gather data from a Nipher or similar).

That's the bulk of the questions. For info, I am looking at a station mounted at home, providing basic info - Pressure, temp, humidity, wind speed and direction, precipitation (rain and snow).
Ideally, a sun gauge, but that can wait a bit.