Author Topic: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts  (Read 180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wxforecaster

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« on: November 25, 2014, 05:28:01 PM »
Did I set this up wrong? Using WeatherLink 6.0.3 to upload data from my VantagePro2 to the CWOP/APRS network. Wind gusts have never been reported in the raw APRS string.

According to the WeatherLink version history, this was fixed many versions ago. Am I missing something?

Is there a better piece of software out there instead? I don't need anything fancy (not looking to spend $$$) as the wx station and WeatherLink USB cost enough as it is. Just trying to post the data to the network so I can view it from work (NWS).

Thanks,
Evan

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1330
    • KomokaWeather
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2014, 05:58:44 PM »
Third party software like Cumulus will do that
Quote
DW3930>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-5:@242303z4257.25N/08126.10W_253/015g031t042r000p098P060h80b09987eCumulusDsVP
 DW3930>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@242312z4257.25N/08126.10W_251/013g031t042r000p098P060h80b09989eCumulusDsVP
 DW3930>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-3:@242321z4257.25N/08126.10W_258/013g035t042r000p098P060h80b09993eCumulusDsVP
 DW3930>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-1:@242330z4257.25N/08126.10W_255/013g036t041r000p098P060h80b09996eCumulusDsVP
 DW3930>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@242339z4257.25N/08126.10W_251/013g033t041r000p098P060h80b09998eCumulusDsVP


Paul

Offline dalecoy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4532
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2014, 07:54:35 PM »
I'm using WeatherLink 6.0.1 (haven't seen the need to update), and my wind gusts appear on CWOP/APRS.

de W5VBQ

Offline dalecoy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4532
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2014, 01:36:27 PM »
For example: 
W5VBQ>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-1:@251837z3856.27N/09420.83W_296/002g006t039r000p000P000h27b10199L494.DsVP
W5VBQ>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-3:@251847z3856.27N/09420.83W_311/003g006t039r000p000P000h27b10195L490.DsVP
W5VBQ>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:@251857z3856.27N/09420.83W_297/002g005t039r000p000P000h26b10195L483.DsVP
W5VBQ>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@251907z3856.27N/09420.83W_216/002g009t040r000p000P000h28b10195L476.DsVP
W5VBQ>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-7:@251917z3856.27N/09420.83W_263
/003g005t040r000p000P000h29b10191L468.DsVP

Of course, "it works for me" is not too helpful.  Perhaps if you told us your APRS/CWOP identifier, and where else your data is uploaded, and what you think might be wrong in your setup, and what kind of logger you are using - then maybe we could be more helpful.

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1060
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2014, 02:15:00 PM »
Right from the help file.


Offline dalecoy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4532
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2014, 03:53:59 PM »
I'm not sure exactly what that means.  On my weather computer, when the system boots, WeatherLink starts automatically.  However, it just is displaying the empty "main screen".  No bulletin or anything else that I would call "real time".  But it's clearly sending gust information to CWOP.

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1060
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2014, 04:14:39 PM »
Do you perhaps have realtime mode enabled?

That might be the same as having the bulletin open.

Offline dalecoy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4532
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2014, 04:30:24 PM »
Do you perhaps have realtime mode enabled?

That might be the same as having the bulletin open.

No, I don't (and I didn't know that option was available for CWOP). 

As shown in the CWOP data sample posted earlier, I'm updating at 10-minute intervals.

I don't do Weather Underground "real time" - I do "normal". 
http://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KMOLEESS9#history/tdata/s20141126/e20141126/mdaily

And it's 10-minute interval on my own site:  http://www.thecoys.net/weather/Current_Vantage_Pro_Plus.htm

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1060
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2014, 05:21:32 PM »
Well I just tested it and I am using WL 6.0.3   and with the bulletin closed it does not send gust and if I open the bulletin it sends gust.    So I don't know. Mine works exactly as the help file says it should.

I can minimize the bulletin and it still sends gust.

Offline dalecoy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4532
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: WeatherLink to CWOP/APRS has no wind gusts
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2014, 05:59:05 PM »
Well I just tested it and I am using WL 6.0.3   and with the bulletin closed it does not send gust and if I open the bulletin it sends gust.    So I don't know. Mine works exactly as the help file says it should.

I can minimize the bulletin and it still sends gust.

May be a difference between 6.0.3 and what I am using (6.0.1).  That might be the answer to the OP's question.

Of course, maybe the OP has a WeatherLinkIP logger....................

http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=1164.msg12207#msg12205
« Last Edit: November 26, 2014, 10:31:51 PM by dalecoy »