Author Topic: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel! (Thumbnails or Links ONLY!)  (Read 41752 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #100 on: December 18, 2010, 12:55:13 PM »
Using the AllisonHouse option for METARS, isn't there a way to display the temp etc outside the icon for the METAR? I have (as you can see) the little wind flag working and specified display everything, but it isn't. Anyone?
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Offline mackbig

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
    • Mackie's Main Street, Unionville, ON Canada Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #101 on: December 18, 2010, 01:25:11 PM »

Andrew - Davis VP2+ 6163, serial weatherlink, wireless anemometer, running Weather Display.  Boltek PCI Stormtracker, Astrogenic Nexstorm, Strikestar - UNI, CWOP CW8618, GrLevel3, (Station 2 OS WMR968, VWS 13.01p09), Windows 7-64

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1684
    • http://www.cnyweather.com
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #102 on: December 18, 2010, 01:31:21 PM »
Nothing?   :-k :twisted:

Here Steve. Nothing better to do on a rainy day.

http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=8599.0

Well, the kids are home from college, so............ :grin:
Tony


Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #103 on: December 18, 2010, 01:32:51 PM »
Here's my test loop on a real page. http://www.daculaweather.com/grlevel3/ffc_284.php
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1684
    • http://www.cnyweather.com
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #104 on: December 18, 2010, 01:37:03 PM »
Looks good Steve.

I'm using the USA-ET background if you wanna try that. I like it.

http://www.grlevelxstuff.com/index.php?categoryid=14&p13_sectionid=9&p13_fileid=1077
Tony


Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #105 on: December 18, 2010, 01:56:28 PM »
I downloaded that, how did you go about setting the coordinates?
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1684
    • http://www.cnyweather.com
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #106 on: December 18, 2010, 01:59:19 PM »
GIS -> Settings -> Background

The coordinates should be in the .zip download
Tony


Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #107 on: December 18, 2010, 02:01:19 PM »
Stupid me... I didn't look at the other file that came with the map.  :grin:I'm also working on getting the METAR script to work. Good thing I have two weeks off!  :grin:
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2226
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #108 on: December 18, 2010, 03:30:54 PM »
GR3 is a great program but a good help file is severely lacking.

Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #109 on: December 18, 2010, 05:17:32 PM »
That's what I was noticing. I've already seen several things that need a little work IMHO. I've also seen the custom logos but how would you add it to the image? Anyone using the carterlake script to add metar temps? I get the error on line 2 message.
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2226
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #110 on: December 18, 2010, 05:38:16 PM »
Steve not trying to push you out of here but over at GRlevelstuff they have a bunch of add ons,  backgrounds, tutorials, etc to help you out. Not to mention it's all GR users. Some good info over there.
http://www.grlevelxstuff.com/index.php

Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #111 on: December 18, 2010, 06:58:27 PM »
The only thing I haven't found is how to add the logo.

I just added metar conditions! http://www.daculaweather.com/grlevel3/ffc_284.php
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Online LFWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 872
  • Liberty Township, Butler County, Ohio
    • Liberty Fairfield Weather Center
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #112 on: December 18, 2010, 08:34:40 PM »
The only thing I haven't found is how to add the logo.

I just added metar conditions! http://www.daculaweather.com/grlevel3/ffc_284.php

Find the logo you want to use
Rename it "logo.png"
Place it in the "GRLevel3" folder (inside "GRLevelX", inside "Program Files")

More info here: http://www.allisonhouse.com/grlevelx/manual/grlevel3/

And on the GRLevelXStuff site!!!!
Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Fan Aspirated
Software: Virtual Weather Station V14.00p64
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium
www.LFWeatherCenter.com
CWOP: DW1039
CoCoRaHS: OH-BT-1
Weather Underground: KOHHAMIL7
Weather For You: DW1039
Midwestern Weather Network

Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #113 on: December 18, 2010, 09:22:01 PM »
I've been rummaging around three different sites for stuff!
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1684
    • http://www.cnyweather.com
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #114 on: December 19, 2010, 11:02:13 AM »

3. Are/can they be animated?


You can also use JavaScript, but I like CNYWeather's method better on a page dedicated to only showing the radar.

To show an animated thumbnail view on my home page I use this (it's showing the latest image twice for clarity)
Code: [Select]
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
 
if (document.images) { // Preloaded images
demo1 = new Image();
demo1.src = "kiln_br1_0.jpg";
 
demo2 = new Image();
demo2.src = "kiln_br1_9.jpg";
 
demo3 = new Image();
demo3.src = "kiln_br1_8.jpg";
 
demo4 = new Image();
demo4.src = "kiln_br1_7.jpg";
 
demo5 = new Image();
demo5.src = "kiln_br1_6.jpg";
 
demo6 = new Image();
demo6.src = "kiln_br1_5.jpg";
 
demo7 = new Image();
demo7.src = "kiln_br1_4.jpg";
 
demo8 = new Image();
demo8.src = "kiln_br1_3.jpg";
 
demo9 = new Image();
demo9.src = "kiln_br1_2.jpg";
 
demo10 = new Image();
demo10.src = "kiln_br1_1.jpg";
 
demo11 = new Image();
demo11.src = "kiln_br1_0.jpg"
 
 
}
 
function timeimgs(numb) { // Reusable timer
thetimer = setTimeout("imgturn('" +numb+ "')", 900);
}
 
function imgturn(numb) { // Reusable image turner
if (document.images) {
 
if (numb == "11") { // This will loop the image
document["demo"].src = eval("demo11.src");
timeimgs('1');
}
 
else { document["demo"].src = eval("demo" + numb + ".src");
 
timeimgs(numb = ++numb);
}
}
}
 
// -->
</script> <a href="/radarloop.php"><img name="demo" src="kiln_br1_0.jpg" title="Click for Full Size Radar Loop" alt="Local Doppler Radar Display" width="300" height="180" border=0></a><script type="text/javascript">timeimgs('1');</script>

I use Level 3 also.

Thats a very nice script. I hope it's ok I'm using it on my home page now.

Tony  8-)
Tony


Online LFWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 872
  • Liberty Township, Butler County, Ohio
    • Liberty Fairfield Weather Center
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #115 on: December 20, 2010, 01:00:04 AM »

Thats a very nice script. I hope it's ok I'm using it on my home page now.

Tony  8-)
I borrowed it from a site in Dayton, Ohio
http://robsweather.no-ip.org/grlevelweather.html
Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Fan Aspirated
Software: Virtual Weather Station V14.00p64
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium
www.LFWeatherCenter.com
CWOP: DW1039
CoCoRaHS: OH-BT-1
Weather Underground: KOHHAMIL7
Weather For You: DW1039
Midwestern Weather Network

Offline Chris H.

  • Rio Rancho's Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #116 on: December 31, 2010, 03:10:58 AM »
From Springfield, Missouri




From Norman/Oklahoma City, Oklahoma




These storms were caused by the same system that is bringing me 10 degree temps, 30 mph winds, and below zero wind chills. And very little snow.

It's only New Years Eve and there's already that spark of excitement in me wanting more severe weather (even though it can kill, or potentially damage and/or injure).
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 06:46:50 PM by Chris H. »
Weather in Rio Rancho, New Mexico:


Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
  • SCCA EM #156
    • Dacula and Gwinnett County Georgia USA Weather
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #117 on: January 03, 2011, 01:19:14 PM »

3. Are/can they be animated?


You can also use JavaScript, but I like CNYWeather's method better on a page dedicated to only showing the radar.

To show an animated thumbnail view on my home page I use this (it's showing the latest image twice for clarity)
Code: [Select]
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
 
if (document.images) { // Preloaded images
demo1 = new Image();
demo1.src = "kiln_br1_0.jpg";
 
demo2 = new Image();
demo2.src = "kiln_br1_9.jpg";
 
demo3 = new Image();
demo3.src = "kiln_br1_8.jpg";
 
demo4 = new Image();
demo4.src = "kiln_br1_7.jpg";
 
demo5 = new Image();
demo5.src = "kiln_br1_6.jpg";
 
demo6 = new Image();
demo6.src = "kiln_br1_5.jpg";
 
demo7 = new Image();
demo7.src = "kiln_br1_4.jpg";
 
demo8 = new Image();
demo8.src = "kiln_br1_3.jpg";
 
demo9 = new Image();
demo9.src = "kiln_br1_2.jpg";
 
demo10 = new Image();
demo10.src = "kiln_br1_1.jpg";
 
demo11 = new Image();
demo11.src = "kiln_br1_0.jpg"
 
 
}
 
function timeimgs(numb) { // Reusable timer
thetimer = setTimeout("imgturn('" +numb+ "')", 900);
}
 
function imgturn(numb) { // Reusable image turner
if (document.images) {
 
if (numb == "11") { // This will loop the image
document["demo"].src = eval("demo11.src");
timeimgs('1');
}
 
else { document["demo"].src = eval("demo" + numb + ".src");
 
timeimgs(numb = ++numb);
}
}
}
 
// -->
</script> <a href="/radarloop.php"><img name="demo" src="kiln_br1_0.jpg" title="Click for Full Size Radar Loop" alt="Local Doppler Radar Display" width="300" height="180" border=0></a><script type="text/javascript">timeimgs('1');</script>

I use Level 3 also.

Thats a very nice script. I hope it's ok I'm using it on my home page now.

Tony  8-)
I have a little script running on my opening page, it has a current thumbnail of the GRLevel3 loop, if you click on it it brings up a full size image.
Steve
Davis Vue, VWS, WDisplay, VVP, StartWatch CWOP 


Online LFWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 872
  • Liberty Township, Butler County, Ohio
    • Liberty Fairfield Weather Center
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #118 on: January 04, 2011, 11:22:16 PM »
This one falls under the "junk/random" category - It's 4 frames showing a flock of birds leaving Port Union (north of Cincinnati), Ohio last week.
Unfortunately even the jpg version was too big to attach here - so here's a link to the png version: http://www.flickr.com/photos/30112397@N06/5325535883/
Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Fan Aspirated
Software: Virtual Weather Station V14.00p64
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium
www.LFWeatherCenter.com
CWOP: DW1039
CoCoRaHS: OH-BT-1
Weather Underground: KOHHAMIL7
Weather For You: DW1039
Midwestern Weather Network

Offline Chris H.

  • Rio Rancho's Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #119 on: January 05, 2011, 11:52:51 AM »
This one falls under the "junk/random" category - It's 4 frames showing a flock of birds leaving Port Union (north of Cincinnati), Ohio last week.
Unfortunately even the jpg version was too big to attach here - so here's a link to the png version: http://www.flickr.com/photos/30112397@N06/5325535883/

I've seen similar events on radar before. In my college town there are birds galore (and bugs…especially in the late summer). I see them on radar at just around sunrise and again around sunset.

And then there's a Texas radar catching bats being sucked in by a meso.
Weather in Rio Rancho, New Mexico:


Online LFWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 872
  • Liberty Township, Butler County, Ohio
    • Liberty Fairfield Weather Center
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #120 on: January 05, 2011, 05:53:51 PM »
This one falls under the "junk/random" category - It's 4 frames showing a flock of birds leaving Port Union (north of Cincinnati), Ohio last week.
Unfortunately even the jpg version was too big to attach here - so here's a link to the png version: http://www.flickr.com/photos/30112397@N06/5325535883/

I've seen similar events on radar before. In my college town there are birds galore (and bugs…especially in the late summer). I see them on radar at just around sunrise and again around sunset.

And then there's a Texas radar catching bats being sucked in by a meso.
Our local NWS office has a page showing several radar animations of birds in the morning.
http://www.erh.noaa.gov/iln/research/birds/
Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Fan Aspirated
Software: Virtual Weather Station V14.00p64
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium
www.LFWeatherCenter.com
CWOP: DW1039
CoCoRaHS: OH-BT-1
Weather Underground: KOHHAMIL7
Weather For You: DW1039
Midwestern Weather Network

Offline Chris H.

  • Rio Rancho's Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #121 on: January 31, 2011, 04:51:41 PM »




Check out that frontal boundary. Whoo ain't she pretty?
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 06:48:32 PM by Chris H. »
Weather in Rio Rancho, New Mexico:


Offline Chris H.

  • Rio Rancho's Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel!
« Reply #122 on: February 24, 2011, 06:13:30 PM »
Part I of the 2/24/11 Severe Weather Event:

KICT, Wichita, KS



Part II:

KNQA Memphis Radar, first tornado warning of the day.













« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 06:52:46 PM by Chris H. »
Weather in Rio Rancho, New Mexico:


Offline Roll_Tide11

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Post your Weather Radar screenshots of GRLevel! (Not for slow connections).
« Reply #123 on: February 28, 2011, 09:14:15 PM »
2/27/11 A few of the same tornado starting at the Kansas/ Missouri boarder.






« Last Edit: March 01, 2011, 09:59:01 PM by Roll_Tide11 »

Offline WeatherHost

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1938
If you guys are going to be posting pages full of images, you really need to work on image compression and resizing.

Images in Post 134 above total almost 4Mb

Total page weight is closer to 10Mb, maybe over.  I've seen downloadable programs that are lighter weight.

As far as I can see, there is NO reason at all to post any image that is .png, in fact, I'd like to see the board limited to  .jpg and .gif only.

Nor is there any reason to post any image over 100Kb, preferably they should be less than 75K.