Author Topic: Another "which station" post...  (Read 3946 times)

Offline lothianjavert

Another "which station" post...
« on: February 05, 2010, 08:13:59 PM »
I'm just beginning this journey and I've spent the past couple of evenings browsing weather stations, and at this point, my head is reeling.

I am very much limited by price, so I'm looking primarily at what I can find for around 100.00 on ebay.  I'm fine with used, but most of those are still pricey and there are no guarantees if it doesn't work.  Oregon Scientific and LaCrosse are the closest to my price range, but I'm a bit confused on some of the features.

What I definitely need:

wind speed/direction
rain gauge
temp (outdoor, at least 2 sensors.  I would love to put an extra temp sensor in the greenhouse, though an indoor would never work for that-- electronics have amazingly short lifespans in there)
humidity
barometric pressure
Some way to interface easily (and automatically) with a pc and internet.  I'd love to be able to access the info while away, as well as upload to weather underground.

I would rather not have to deal with wires, but if it meant a much better system, I'd deal with wires.  Distance may be an issue, as will location, because there is no way the HOA would approve of a sensor array on our roof.  It would most likely be pole mounted in the back yard.

Cecil Co. Maryland

Offline Downlinerz2

• Forecaster
Re: Another "which station" post...
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2010, 08:50:00 PM »
  Hi, and welcome!!!  $100.00?  I think it will be very difficult to meet the requirements you listed and stay near $100.  On Ambient there are 2 LaCrosse stations for $109.95 and $119.95.  They are both wireless.  They are the
WS1516U-IT  and the WS 1611TWC-IT.  On e-bay there is a Zephyr PWS1000TD for $119. It has all the basic sensors but I do not know if you can add to it.  There is another thread on this station on the forum.  It looks like a good station for the cost! Good luck!!!