Author Topic: anemeometer failure?  (Read 10923 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
anemeometer failure?
« on: January 08, 2007, 11:25:51 AM »
I am having trouble with my anemometer readings today. I am getting dashes on the console.  I can see that the anemeometer is working, the cups and pointer are turning. I purchased  my weather station used, it is a year old.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline talbert1952

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • http://tobaccovilleweather.com
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 11:45:51 AM »
Wired? Wireless?
Tom
W4SNA
IRLP 4069 - Echolink W4SNA-R

http://tobaccovilleweather.com/
Hardware: Davis 6153 wireless VP2 with 24 hr fan aspirated radiation shield, WMR968, Boltek Stormtracker PCI,
  Hamtronics R139, stacked Woodhouse 6X6 beams on Yaesu G-5500 az/el rotator
Software: Weatherlink, VWS, Image Salsa, Lightning/2000, GRLevel3 with Allison House data feed, WxtoImg

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2007, 12:39:18 PM »
It is wireless.  I am using the anemometer transmitter kit, and I had posted a topic in the past about the solar panel failing, so I think the problem is with the anemometer transmitter.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline capeweather

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • http://www.capeweather.com
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2007, 01:19:02 PM »
http://www.wxforum.net/viewtopic.php?t=336

I would try checking the output voltage on the panel.

Chris
Cape Coral, Florida
Website: http://www.capeweather.com
Website: http://www.fortmyersweather.net

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2007, 01:29:13 PM »
Yes, I've been waiting on a volt meter for awhile now! But if it has failed, then there is nothing I can do about it, since I bought it used.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline kray1000

  • Purveyor of wry
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1336
    • http://www.roanokevalleyweather.com
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2007, 02:37:05 PM »
Are you having these problems when it's rainy and windy, during a thaw, or seemingly at random?

As previously mentioned, the batteries could be an issue.  If you're changing the batteries frequently, a short in the transmitter could be draining them, but cheap batteries might do the same thing.  This time of year, they don't last as long as they would during the summer, especially at your latitude.

You indicated in your other thread that you checked the transmitter and the cables.  Not sure exactly what you checked, so I'll ask... when you're showing dashes on your console, have you put the transmitter in test mode and checked the LED to see if its flashing (transmitting) every 2.5 seconds?  Have you checked all the connections for signs of moisture or corrosion?  

Do you have enough anemometer cable to connect it directly to the ISS (or bring the anemometer closer) to bypass the transmitter to see if the problem persists?
Kevin Ray
Roanoke, VA

Wireless VP2, Stardot NetCam, ImageSalsa 2.0.12, MovieSalsa, Nexstorm, WASP2, Skymet, VWS14.01p33, WD 10.37N build 03

Offline talbert1952

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • http://tobaccovilleweather.com
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2007, 02:41:40 PM »
Is it a VP2? If it is, install a new CR123 battery in the anemometer transmitter. The CR123 should power the transmitter for several months without help from the solar panel.
Tom
W4SNA
IRLP 4069 - Echolink W4SNA-R

http://tobaccovilleweather.com/
Hardware: Davis 6153 wireless VP2 with 24 hr fan aspirated radiation shield, WMR968, Boltek Stormtracker PCI,
  Hamtronics R139, stacked Woodhouse 6X6 beams on Yaesu G-5500 az/el rotator
Software: Weatherlink, VWS, Image Salsa, Lightning/2000, GRLevel3 with Allison House data feed, WxtoImg

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemometer failure?
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2007, 04:00:16 PM »
I have checked the transmitter and cables, the LED light is blinking regularly, and the connections look good. The console is currently complaining about a low battery. I just changed the battery last week. I have been using CR123 batteries only.  I do have a good length of anemometer cable, so I will connect it to the ISS (which has been working great, by the way).
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline talbert1952

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • http://tobaccovilleweather.com
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2007, 01:34:25 PM »
Which battery is the console complaining about, the console battery, the ISS battery or the anemometer transmitter battery?
Tom
W4SNA
IRLP 4069 - Echolink W4SNA-R

http://tobaccovilleweather.com/
Hardware: Davis 6153 wireless VP2 with 24 hr fan aspirated radiation shield, WMR968, Boltek Stormtracker PCI,
  Hamtronics R139, stacked Woodhouse 6X6 beams on Yaesu G-5500 az/el rotator
Software: Weatherlink, VWS, Image Salsa, Lightning/2000, GRLevel3 with Allison House data feed, WxtoImg

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2007, 02:03:26 PM »
Is is complaining about the anemometer transmitter battery.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2007, 07:01:02 AM »
I just replaced the battery in the anemometer transmitter three days ago, and now the console is saying there's a low battery again.  I think I'm going to be giving up on the transmitter for now, and just attach the anemometer to the ISS.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2007, 07:13:48 PM »
Here's the latest: I attached the anemometer cable to the ISS.  I placed the console into setup mode to make sure there was reception from the ISS, and yes there is, but still NO readings from the anemometer.  Now the anemometer and transmitter had been set up as station 1, and the ISS as station 2, should I have changed the dip switches on the ISS to station 1?
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline Mark / Ohio

  • Live from Mars!
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2501
    • Fairfield County Weather
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2007, 08:34:28 PM »
Is the console still also showing reception from the anemometer transmitter?  If so maybe it is still looking for the wind data from it?
Mark 
2002 Davis VP I Wireless, WeatherLink (Serial), GRLevel3, VirtualVP, StartWatch, Weather Display, Windows 10


Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2007, 08:46:41 PM »
No, it wasn't showing reception from the anemometer transmitter before, and since I have attached it to the ISS, there is still no wind data reception.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline Mark / Ohio

  • Live from Mars!
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2501
    • Fairfield County Weather
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2007, 01:55:42 AM »
Quote from: "weathergirl"
No, it wasn't showing reception from the anemometer transmitter before, and since I have attached it to the ISS, there is still no wind data reception.


Ok, I've thought up a couple more shots in the dark.. :wink:

Oxidation on the socket in the ISS for the anemometer maybe since it has not been used for awhile and open to the air.  Lightly buffing the fine pins with a pencil eraser of course being very careful not to bend the pins might help.

Or

Full power down/reboot of the console and/or the ISS.

Mark 
2002 Davis VP I Wireless, WeatherLink (Serial), GRLevel3, VirtualVP, StartWatch, Weather Display, Windows 10


Offline Anole

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 585
    • http://pineislandweather.com
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2007, 07:48:56 AM »
Quote from: "weathergirl"
Here's the latest: I attached the anemometer cable to the ISS.  I placed the console into setup mode to make sure there was reception from the ISS, and yes there is, but still NO readings from the anemometer.  Now the anemometer and transmitter had been set up as station 1, and the ISS as station 2, should I have changed the dip switches on the ISS to station 1?



You don't have to change the transmitter IDs.

One question that I haven't seen mentioned, are you just seeing a problem with the speed or is your direction not working either? We probably should have asked that question before you took it off the transmitter. If the direction is working while you have it on the transmitter that means the transmitter is most likely not the cause of the problem.

If you are seeing direction readings, then you probably have a bad anemometer or the cable/connector is bad. If it looks like that's the case the first and cheapest thing to try is to crimp a new connector onto the end of the cable. Just cut the old one off and crimp on a new one. Don't throw the old one away, you'll want to reference it to know which way to put the new connector on.

If it does ultimately turn out that you have a bad anemometer you can buy a replacement anemometer. I had to get one right after Charlie and I believe it was in the $125US range.

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2007, 09:00:04 AM »
Thanks guys: I found out, it is the anemometer transmitter that has been causing the trouble. It took me awhile to figure out that I had to get the console to recognize the anemometer after I attached it to the ISS since it had been on station 1 with the transmitter and the ISS on station 2. So I went into setup on the console, made sure all the sensors were on the proper transmitter ID, pressed done, and voila, wind data :)
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline George Richardson

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1391
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #17 on: January 14, 2007, 10:05:15 AM »
Don't you just get that warm and fuzzy feeling when a PIA problem is finally resolved!

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: anemeometer failure?
« Reply #18 on: January 14, 2007, 10:10:52 AM »
Don't you worry, George, I've never been the type of person to get my hopes up too high :wink:
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada