Author Topic: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3  (Read 674 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WA7FWF

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Blitzortung 1196
will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« on: August 25, 2019, 10:29:02 PM »
Switched internet providers today, new one is a strict NAT type 3 no open ports, My red system says it is sending: Received: 1825, Good: 1348, Sent: 1130
but nothing shows up up on the map or in the station list.

further down the page I see remote configuration
    URLhttp://www.lightningmaps.org/control/
    Next Requestin 300
    Station Id0
    User Id0
    Requests84 with 165kB and 83 errors.

Can anyone confirm that for the system to work that access from outside to the controller is required?

I also note in the users list that there are quite a few station also "running" with 0 0 0 so is something else going on and has nothing to do with NAT?

Thanks
 Kevin

Offline vreihen

  • El Niņo chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1011
  • K2BIG
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2019, 06:49:46 AM »
I believe that the controller polls that URL for config changes every few minutes, so port forwarding is not needed.

You may want to check for firewall rules blocking outbound UDP packets, which are stateless (read: blind send, no handshake) and not the typical TCP packet.  I think that I read on one of the BT web forums that the controller sends observations by UDP to save overhead, and a firewall rule blocking outbound UDP would certainly cause 100% lost packets.

If your inside router/firewall was replaced, you should also make sure that it is using the same IP address netblock as before or else the BT controller might not be able to talk any further than the gateway.....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline dupreezd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 482
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2019, 05:59:11 PM »
Switched internet providers today, new one is a strict NAT type 3 no open ports, My red system says it is sending: Received: 1825, Good: 1348, Sent: 1130
but nothing shows up up on the map or in the station list.

further down the page I see remote configuration
    URLhttp://www.lightningmaps.org/control/
    Next Requestin 300
    Station Id0
    User Id0
    Requests84 with 165kB and 83 errors.

Can anyone confirm that for the system to work that access from outside to the controller is required?

I also note in the users list that there are quite a few station also "running" with 0 0 0 so is something else going on and has nothing to do with NAT?

Thanks
 Kevin

Kevin, I had a look and you are indeed sending data to BO. So. My guess is that you have a server configured under Tracker.

The fact that both your Station and User ID have 0 as a value is good indication that your controller and BO servers are not communicating properly. Vreihen does provide a good starting point.
Once you see your station and User ID filled in, you know you solved the problem.

Did you reboot your controller after you replaced your router? With the non-communicating problems you have, the server URL in Tracker should also be blank.

Dries
Davis VP2 6163 | WiFi Logger
CWOP - FW0717
Blitzortung 2100

Offline WA7FWF

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Blitzortung 1196
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2019, 06:35:59 PM »
Rebooted several times with no improvement. Dealing with AT&T is giving me a headache, in short level one support does not know anything more than we run a strict NAT type 3.
Remote config URL always gets filled in, just no station or user id.

As a test I setup the old internet again, did not reboot anything, once the internet connection was up I moved the Ethernet cable over and the station and ID got filled in and everything  started working, OK so hardware is good, after a bit I moved the Ethernet cable back over to the new setup (all ip addresses are the same) rebooted nothing  and it continued to work but now the remote configuration panel is once again recording request errors, but strikes are being recorded.

Waited a while and rebooted and back to failing,no station no id, no strikes recorded.

Tried putting it in the DMZ on the router, no help.

So it looks like there is something in the way remote configuration works that can't handle a strict NAT, but if you once get your station and ID then the rest works fine and can report strikes through a strict NAT.
 From what I understand talking to others about strict NATs, if my station polls remote config then that should be fine, but if it is remote config that is trying to poll my station then it will be blocked by the strict NAT.

There may not be a workaround to this...  :sad:


Thanks
Kevin

Offline dupreezd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 482
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2019, 07:07:29 PM »
Kevin,on your controller, go to  Settings, Systems and select Debug HTTP Remote Config:, Apply

Now go to Tools, Debug Log... Wait the 'Next Request' time for the request to come through. This is what part of mine looks like. I removed my Processor and User ID.
The controller does a HTTP-Request and the server responds. In the listing you can see where it sets the URL and ID's
Quote

2019-08-27 22:52:19 756345.3 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Connect tracker.blitzortung.org:(null) via 81.169.246.8:0, path=/control/?processor=(removed), len=1783
2019-08-27 22:52:19 756345.3 | HTTP-Request: Malloc state 0x20013a10, 0x20014030 (1783), 0x20013a30 (23), 0x20013a50 (44) | pcb 0x2001051c
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | HTTP-Request: realloc RecvData 0x0 (479)
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 |
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | ====================================
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | === REMOTE-CONFIG: Received Data ===
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | request 120
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | id 2100
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | user (Removed)
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | server 0 0 195.201.55.19 8308 ibod.lightningmaps.org 0
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | server_expert 0 1
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | alert 1
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | imode 1 30 2 50
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | imode 2 15 60 30
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | start 256
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | filter_threshold_pct 80
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | filter 1
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | samples 512 -10 3
2019-08-27 22:52:20 756346.4 | coding 1 40 20 5
Davis VP2 6163 | WiFi Logger
CWOP - FW0717
Blitzortung 2100

Offline WA7FWF

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Blitzortung 1196
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2019, 07:21:03 PM »
Mine is timing out on the reply

2019-08-27 23:15:12 3066.0 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server switched to 0
2019-08-27 23:15:12 3066.0 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Connect tracker.blitzortung.org:(null) via 81.169.246.8:0, path=/control/?processor=removed, len=2091
2019-08-27 23:15:12 3066.0 | HTTP-Request: Malloc state 0x20015080, 0x200144c0 (2091), 0x200150a0 (23), 0x200150c0 (44) | pcb 0x200103a4
2019-08-27 23:15:13 3067.3 | HTTP-Request: realloc RecvData 0x0 (444)
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | HTTP-Request: Timeout
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | REMOTE-CONFIG: error: TIME OUT
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 0 ERROR. All servers:
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 0, Status 5, URL "http://tracker.blitzortung.org/control/"
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 1, Status 5, URL "http://www.lightningmaps.org/control/"
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 2, Status 1, URL ""
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | HTTP-Request: Connection error (-13)
2019-08-27 23:15:17 3071.5 | HTTP-Request: free state 0x20015080, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0
2019-08-27 23:15:18 3072.0 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server switched to 1
2019-08-27 23:15:18 3072.0 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Connect www.lightningmaps.org:(null) via 178.32.120.169:0, path=/control/?processor=removed, len=2091
2019-08-27 23:15:18 3072.0 | HTTP-Request: Malloc state 0x20015398, 0x200147d8 (2091), 0x200153b8 (21), 0x200153d8 (44) | pcb 0x200106d8
2019-08-27 23:15:18 3072.8 | HTTP-Request: realloc RecvData 0x0 (329)
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | HTTP-Request: Timeout
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | REMOTE-CONFIG: error: TIME OUT
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 1 ERROR. All servers:
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 0, Status 5, URL "http://tracker.blitzortung.org/control/"
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 1, Status 5, URL "http://www.lightningmaps.org/control/"
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | REMOTE-CONFIG: Server 2, Status 1, URL ""
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | HTTP-Request: Connection error (-13)
2019-08-27 23:15:23 3077.6 | HTTP-Request: free state 0x20015398, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0

Offline dupreezd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 482
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2019, 07:27:11 PM »
Ok, so you are sending a request. The question is, is it getting out the router and received by the BO server or is the return reply blocked by the router.
My suggestion is to post this problem with the debug log on the BO forum where the Developers will see it and check if they see your request.

Dries
Davis VP2 6163 | WiFi Logger
CWOP - FW0717
Blitzortung 2100

Offline WA7FWF

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Blitzortung 1196
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2019, 12:41:34 AM »
Thanks for the help, I have posted over on the BO forum.

Offline vreihen

  • El Niņo chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1011
  • K2BIG
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2019, 06:24:06 AM »
One last shot in the dark.  Did your router's IP address or DNS server IP addresses change?  Having the wrong IP address for default gateway or DNS servers could stop the controller from talking to BT, but still leave it available locally for web access.....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline WA7FWF

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Blitzortung 1196
Re: will it work behind a strict NAT type 3
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2019, 10:03:38 PM »
To keep some sanity with everything else in the house, I kept all the same addressing and the DNS is googles 8.8.8.8, I have also tried the default DNS with the router with no help and I have always been able to ping out, but thank you for the suggestion.