Author Topic: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial  (Read 273 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mickopla

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
    • Waterford City Weather
ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« on: May 29, 2019, 07:25:36 AM »
I updated to the latest ajaxWDwx3.js file and now my website data defaults to imperial rather than Metric. Where is the setting i need to check to verify its set correctly? All was working fine prior to the update. The website is here www.waterfordcityweather.com

Regards

Offline Jasiu

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • LexMAWeather
Re: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2019, 08:18:47 AM »
At line 319 you have:

Code: [Select]
var useUOM = 'E';   // [ E | M ] ... Units Of Measure:
                    //               E = English/Imperial
                    //               M = Metric
                    // NOTE: You can change individual units below in UNITS-OF-MEASURE.

Changing that to 'M' should do the trick.

Offline mickopla

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
    • Waterford City Weather
Re: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2019, 09:05:47 AM »
At line 319 you have:

Code: [Select]
var useUOM = 'E';   // [ E | M ] ... Units Of Measure:
                    //               E = English/Imperial
                    //               M = Metric
                    // NOTE: You can change individual units below in UNITS-OF-MEASURE.

Changing that to 'M' should do the trick.

I changed that setting to M but still Imperial loads as default.

www.waterfordcityweather.com

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2224
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2019, 09:25:15 AM »
Your site, http://www.waterfordcityweather.com/, defaulted to Metric for me.

Just saying...
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@gmail.com

Offline mickopla

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
    • Waterford City Weather
Re: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2019, 10:25:43 AM »
Your site, http://www.waterfordcityweather.com/, defaulted to Metric for me.

Just saying...

Tried on another PC and it is defaulting to Metric. Must be a cache thing.

While i'm here how do i keep updates going so i don't have to refresh the page.?

Cheers

Offline Jasiu

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
    • LexMAWeather
Re: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2019, 10:49:56 AM »
Tried on another PC and it is defaulting to Metric. Must be a cache thing.

Yes, the js file has been cached. If you clear the cache (different depending on the browser), it should be metric.

Quote
While i'm here how do i keep updates going so i don't have to refresh the page.?

Not sure what you mean. The update timer is firing (can tell because "Updated" text changes color) and you have "maxupdates" set to zero, which means it will run infinitely. If the numbers never ever change, there is probably an issue with the realtime file that is being uploaded.

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2224
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2019, 11:05:08 AM »
The 'clientraw.txt' file is what resets the update timer to '0'.  If this isn't being uploaded in real time, no new data will be found for the AJAX updates.

I just saw your timer reset to '0', so the clientraw.txt file is being updated, albeit at quite a leisurely interval.
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@gmail.com

Offline mickopla

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
    • Waterford City Weather
Re: ajaxWDwx3.js now defaults to Imperial
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2019, 11:19:01 AM »
Thanks guys, looks like when i updated the initial file ajaxWDwx3.js file it fixed a previous problem i was having with updates stopping.

All seems working as it should now

Thanks