Author Topic: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY  (Read 580 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WebTD

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Greetings from Florida's Nature Coast! Recently my WS-1400 sensor array died (everything but the barometer) and I'm wondering whether to replace the sensor array with a WS-1002-ARRAY ($80.99) https://www.ambientweather.com/amws1002array.html or a WS-2902-ARRAY ($74.99) https://www.ambientweather.com/amws2902array.html. I assume both work with the WS-1400's ObserverIP module. Are they interchangeable? Pros/cons of one over the other? From a spot check it appears the 1002 is a bit better built, but I've seen comments that the 2902 may be slightly more sensitive for wind. "Officially" the 2902 is "equal in accuracy" to the 1002. https://ambientweather.net/help/what-are-the-differences-between-the-ws-1002-wifi-and-ws-2902/ My current sensor array lasted about 28 months. What say you?

Online galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2705
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 05:06:00 PM »
WS-2902-ARRAY hands down for definite.

Not only will it be compatible with your ObserverIP and your WS-1000-BTH but you'll also have the capability of adding WS-2902A display console or WS-2000 display console (Ambient calls the WS-2000 a display tablet...that is dumb...it's a display and it is a console, it isn't a tablet as it isn't touchscreen).

Like you mentioned the Wind sensor is better. More dampening on the wind vane for more accurate tracking instead of flopping so much around. The anemometer also has a much lower take off speed so you can detect and report on very low wind speed.

The temperature and humidity sensors are also of a newer generation Sensirion series SHT3x which is the same as in the current Davis and Acurite stations...although the Ambient is an SHT30 and those others are SHT31. But definitely better than what was in the older generation WS-1002-ARRAY.

With the WS-2902-ARRAY you can also add optional bird spikes easily....you can't do that nicely with the WS-1002-ARRAY.

The WS-2902-ARRAY also has more modular and replaceable parts.

The WS-2902-ARRAY looks much nicer in my opinion.

With the WS-2902-ARRAY you'll be able to add additional sensors using the ObserverIP or using the WS-2000 display console.

I frankly don't know why Ambient keeps selling the older generation WS-1002-ARRAY as a complete station with various models.  I understand keeping it as a replacement part....but not selling complete stations with it. I think it only confuses the customer. Especially where there doesn't seem to be a price difference or depending on complete model kit it can be more expensive than something with the WS-2902-ARRAY.

Once you get your replacement WS-2902-ARRAY you'll need to be sure to update the firmware on the ObserverIP. Then you'll need to select WS-1550-IP as the station model.

Here is another tip. Instead of buying a separate WS-2902-ARRAY you should get a WS-1900. It saves you $3 and you get a free display. Granted this display does not connect to the Internet but it will work as just a display, and it is a free display. You'll continue to use the ObserverIP to report to WU and AmbientWeather.net. Yep Ambient pricing doesn't make sense.

Cons of the WS-2902-ARRAY (compared to the WS-1002-ARRAY):
- Zero, I can't think of any reason to still have the older outdoor sensor array. Makes no sense why the WS-1002-ARRAY actually costs more.

For those people with a WS-100x display and no ObserverIP device the predicament is a bit more complicated. Essentially their only option is the WS-1002-ARRAY because the WS-2902-ARRAY is not compatible with those display screens. So they either replace just the outdoor sensor array for an outdated model or they have to throw away a working display console to get the newer better outdoor sensor array. The price is so reasonable for a WS-1550-IP complete station or even a WS-2902A station that I would not think twice, as there is much to gain.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2019, 05:29:49 PM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline WebTD

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2019, 01:41:17 PM »
Thanks a ton, galfert! Outstanding detail and perfectly on point! I truly appreciate the effort that went into your reply. I'm going to go the way of the WS-1900 (although the bird spikes are out of stock, apparently). Many thanks!

Online galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2705
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2019, 01:53:45 PM »
Good deal. Good luck with it.

You can also order the bird spikes from Ecowitt.com but be sure to specify the 4 inch version as there is a larger version for a different rain gauge.

You can also make your own bird spikes with zip ties thanks to Buford T. Justice.
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=35387.0
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • 2 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, Meteobridge
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2019, 08:27:26 PM »
I replaced three WS-1400s with the 2902 arrays and am very happy with the choice.
The only negative comment would be that the 2902 array has a shorter range than the 1400/1401.
My 1400 worked flawlessly at 95 feet, the 2902 just makes it at 65 feet.

Offline DWIGHT123

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2019, 01:37:42 AM »
@Galfert I ordered the WH32 temperature sensor to override the temperature sensor on my ws2000 Array on my roof that reads great on wind not so much on Temp,Ed in customer support says I replace it with one of my older sensors and it will override  the array on the roof)and transmit that new temperature data to WU hopefully itís correct.

Online galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2705
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2019, 06:44:57 AM »
@Galfert I ordered the WH32 temperature sensor to override the temperature sensor on my ws2000 Array on my roof that reads great on wind not so much on Temp,Ed in customer support says I replace it with one of my older sensors and it will override  the array on the roof)and transmit that new temperature data to WU hopefully itís correct.

Yep roof mounting can cause temperature / humidity issues. Be sure to put the WH32E in shade. Too bad they don't make a radiation shield for it. Let us know how the setup process goes.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2019, 06:49:18 AM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline DWIGHT123

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2019, 12:40:04 PM »
Yep,Iím going to replace with one of my older ones that had a solar shield already on it to finally solve my incorrect temperature reporting to WU🙃 itís just said I canít disable and override someway else.I technically will have 2 of these I bought for cheap on the website not knowing to override the roof sensor I needed the other one😔

Offline rdelp68

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: WS-1400 - Replace sensor array with WS-1002-ARRAY or WS-2902-ARRAY
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2019, 01:37:36 PM »
Thanks for this info, my WS-1400 array is acting up. Getting the WS-1900.

 

anything