Poll

Have you ever ran a Cumulus software, whether locally or as a website?

Yes, and I currently do.
44 (80%)
Yes, but I no longer do.
11 (20%)
No, but I am considering doing so.
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 55

Author Topic: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?  (Read 1929 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« on: October 26, 2018, 10:13:39 AM »
Being as Steve has announced that he and the Cumulus forum at www.Sandaysoft.com will be retiring very soon I got to wondering just how many folks here on WXForum.net are currently using or have used Cumulus software in the past and whether there are those interested in running it in the future.  This is just something I'm curious about...

And another round of applause to Steve!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   \:D/ =D> \:D/ =D> =D> =D> =D>

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2018, 11:04:52 AM »
Can I vote once a day, like a popularity contest ;)

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2018, 11:12:39 AM »
I really do like it. Only thing I wish it had was a better calibrator for the high bias humidity issue with Davis sensors. Be nice to have a good workaround.
WD has a better solution for sure but I found the software bulky, slow and not that user friendly when I've tried using. Maybe Cumulus just spoiled me with ease of use and fast website data updates every 3-4 seconds.
Randy

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2018, 01:17:37 PM »
Poll needs another option...
  • No, and not planning on using it unless it gets updated for feature or compatibility reasons.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2018, 07:49:12 PM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge) | Ecowitt GW1000
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2018, 02:46:28 PM »
When VWS and the WU links died, I looked for a replacement.  I like to follow the KISS model when it comes to just about anything.  Cumulus fit the bill better than WD.  WD is feature rich for sure.  But Cumulus was fairly simple to get up and running.

I'd hate to switch again after switching a bit more than a year ago.
http://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2018, 03:18:10 PM »
No need to worry now, but there's always a chance down the road Davis changes code making it incompatible.
If Steve releases the software code someone may keep it going but no guarantee.
This goes for any 3rd party software including website scripts. People retire or just move on so will someone keep updating scripts and software to meet the changes? 
Randy

Offline WxFox

  • Northern Androscoggin Weather
  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Happiness is having my toes in the warm sand.
    • Northern Androscoggin County Weather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2018, 03:55:04 PM »
Still using 1.9.4 and always will.
Davis VP2 (cabled) Uploading to PWS, Weather Underground, Weathercloud, WOW, WeatherBug, AWEKAS and Twitter, using Cumulus.  Cabled = fewer problems, less maintenance and better reliability!

Northern Androscoggin Weather:
http://home.myfairpoint.net/~jody2011/index.php
Mobile friendly: http://home.myfairpoint.net/~jody2011//iCumulus/#_home
CWOP AV346

Offline WXH

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • Hoogeloon Weather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2018, 04:22:46 PM »
Still using 1.9.4 and always will.

So do I !!!
1.9.4 is a great version  =D&gt;
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus & Weather Wizard III, Hoogeloon Weather
http://www.wxhoogeloon.nl/index.php
http://www.wxhoogeloon.nl/weather/index.htm

Offline hrvistaweather

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2018, 04:56:37 PM »
Hi I run both Cumulus v1 and vMX, started using v1 back in 2008.
I purchased WD years ago and ran it alongside v1 for ages, though found WD too cumbersome and a tad haphazard from a user GUI point of view.
I'm more than happy with my current setup running v1 and vMX together and hope that Ken True or someone does host the Sandysoft Forum and someone does take over the source code from Steve for future enhancements.
Kind regards,
Tony

Offline DW7240

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • The Vicarage Weather Feed
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2018, 07:07:51 PM »
Hey.....

I've been using it since 1.9.4, then updated to MX - GREAT Software & very stable.

I think I speak for everyone here that Steve will be greatly missed - I hope he touches base once in a while just to see us all still here

Nick. dw7240.com


Offline WB0VHB

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2018, 09:00:23 PM »
I've been using MX on a Raspberry Pi with a Vantage Pro for a few years with outstanding success! Rock solid! In fact I don't think the RPi has ever needed to be rebooted.

Offline the beteljuice

  • the beteljuice
  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • test site
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2018, 09:21:23 PM »
Although coding (mostly) for Cumulus generated web pages, the beteljuice hasn't had a weather station for some years  :shock:

Like many I became involved as soon as Steves program and packaged templates started being mentioned in weather forums (He didn't have one then). It has been a pleasure to work with Steve and other major contributors to create presentation ideas etc. whilst he worked on his 'core' code.

Which needless to say is robust and very flexible in it's output. It should keep running until the wx kit manufacturers change their protocols or more likely don't let you get your hands on your data anymore other than perhaps through a limited API  ](*,)

You may hear more from the beteljuice on here  :roll:
Imagine what you will KNOW tomorrow !

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2018, 09:59:49 PM »
beteljuice, Thanks for your hard work and scripts too. More than welcome here for sure.  =D&gt;
Randy

Offline CurtisZM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Forecaster
    • CurtisZMWeather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2018, 12:10:10 AM »
 I still like the old 1.9.4 Cumulus the best and keep it running with VirtualVP (Another unsupported program) .

 It is such a sad day when these awesome people who share their talents with others so freely decide to call it quits. The amount of time these folks spend developing and supporting their software for the world is unbelievable!! Hats off to all of you. Hopefully Steve will share his creation for others to keep it going. Best wishes Steve and thank you.

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3560
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2018, 06:24:29 AM »
I did use it exclusively but with the advent of the wifi logger I no longer need to run the PC 24/7. So now I just download the data once a week.

Offline Ray Proudfoot

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
    • Cheadle Hulme Weather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2018, 07:11:29 AM »
Another satisfied customer of Cumulus here. Been running it since April 2009 and Steve has been hosting my site for several years. I'm deeply appreciative to him for his wonderful software and help over the years.

I'm currently liaising with a new hosting company based here in the UK - HostPresto - so I hope to be up and running with them in the next few days. Expect frequent visits from me here once the Cumulus site closes.
Cheers,
Ray
Cheshire, England

Offline thomas

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2018, 11:13:58 PM »
Very happy user.

Offline ConligWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 377
  • #conligwx
    • conligwx.org
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #17 on: October 30, 2018, 05:05:03 AM »
been using CumulusMX for about 2-3 years, before that it was WeeWX.

Offline rlee171

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • peaceful hills weather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2018, 12:56:16 AM »
Yes...   Version 1.9.4 build 1099

Offline sacreyweather

  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1716
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2018, 09:06:06 AM »
Started using 1.9.4 back in 2014, after using WD for 6 years. Have been using MX since 2015 and I am very satisfied with it. Have it running on a MiniPC that uses about 10 watts of power with Windows 7 as the OS.

John
CWOP: D2073, GR2AE, GR3, Cumulus, PWSweather,  CoCoRaHS: AR-SL-23  

Saline Weather on Twitter
Blitzortung Station 1387

Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #20 on: January 01, 2019, 11:08:25 AM »
I guess one of these days I need to try MX out and see what it's about.  John, could you share just a few of the main differences a new user would see between v.194 and MX?  Thanks.  Ed

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline sacreyweather

  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1716
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #21 on: January 01, 2019, 11:36:16 AM »
I guess one of these days I need to try MX out and see what it's about.  John, could you share just a few of the main differences a new user would see between v.194 and MX?  Thanks.  Ed

Hi Ed,

Happy New Year!!!

The main difference is MX is a server that has a command box in the taskbar versus an actual program like Cumulus 1. MX opens up in a Web page. You do all of your stuff via the webpage instead of the program. It is nearly identical to 1.9.4 in what it does. It is very stable. I have had no issues what so ever with it, and it does not need a huge PC to run it on. I built the MiniPC just for this purpose.

John
CWOP: D2073, GR2AE, GR3, Cumulus, PWSweather,  CoCoRaHS: AR-SL-23  

Saline Weather on Twitter
Blitzortung Station 1387

Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #22 on: January 02, 2019, 11:28:20 AM »
Thanks, John.  I was wondering about it and hadn't checked in on it.  Figuring I was talking about taking BeeWeather offline a while back I don't know why I'm curious about tinkering with more software.  #-o  I'm going to keep it in mind...is sounds like "less" (or at least the same) is "more".  :lol:

Happy New Year!!!

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline Greg_M

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
    • Datil Cam
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #23 on: January 24, 2019, 10:11:31 AM »
I like it and have been using it for a while now.
Hope it keeps working.
Just enough stuff for me.

I used WUHU before
« Last Edit: January 24, 2019, 10:14:27 AM by Greg_M »
The other Greg....
W9WD

Offline Phil23

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • Phil's Backyard
Re: Do you use Cumulus software or have you used it in the past?
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2019, 04:40:14 PM »
Being as Steve has announced that he and the Cumulus forum at www.Sandaysoft.com will be retiring very soon....

For those who aren't aware; Cumulus is alive & well, receiving a few updates in the past months since December.

The Forum has moved here, https://cumulus.hosiene.co.uk/, and the latest update was on Feb 3rd.

Cheers.

 

anything