Author Topic: Wunderground Data Incorrect  (Read 618 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Steve Kolenda

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Wunderground Data Incorrect
« on: September 05, 2018, 10:10:19 AM »
I have a PWS (KSCTAYLO50) on Wunderground which is reporting the wrong wind data. The reported high wind is typically considerably less than the actual on my weather station.  In plotting the two sets of data, there appears to be no factor, as one is no obvious multiple of the other.  Wunderground always under reporting.

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2018, 11:31:07 AM »
WU is under reporting because you are only sending updates every 5 minutes with your current software. This wouldn't necessarily be a problem if the software sends average winds and gusts for that time period of 5 minutes the way you expect to see things. It may in fact be sending wind average and gusts average instead of gust peak for the 5 minute period. But at that low of a resolution (5 min) then you are averaging out the high peaks most likely, and there is probably nothing to be done other than to increase frequency of upload.

Possible solutions (do one or more of these) :
- increase your upload frequency with current software.
- reconfigure existing software to average out differently (Dont know your software so not sure on limitations)
- use a different software that may better capture 5 minute average and keep top wind gust peeks
- use different software that sends more frequently and supports WU RapidFire (15 secs is good to shoot for)
- use a different hardware solution to send like a Meteobridge which can send every 5 secs.

Your console is seeing data every 2 to 3 seconds. You can't expect to see the same data if you compare it to 5 minute uploads.

You are also running software version 1.15 of Wunderground expansion module for WeatherLink. That is like 12 year old software. I think it's time to ditch that and upgrade or use something else.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 12:38:58 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2018, 12:04:05 PM »
Something else that might be simple to try is to use your WeatherLink.com account and have it send to WU instead of your PC software. Be sure to disable the Wunderground software module. But I don't know if this is a good solution because I don't have a Davis system and so I'm not really familiar with upload frequency with these.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 12:06:23 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline Steve Kolenda

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2018, 12:12:20 PM »
Thank you for taking the time to reply.  I'm new to the Wunderground however in the past using the Weatherlink software I have uploaded information to a website that I had at a rate of every 15 minutes and even though the time was long all of the data was correct. "You are running software version 1.15 of Wunderground expansion module for Weatherlink" is there a newer version? Thanks again.

Steve

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2018, 12:33:12 PM »
Like I said...the long frequency is not necessarily a problem if the software handles the averaging and peak winds the way you want. Every module and every site can possibly treat the data differently. But the sure better way to fix things is to just increase the frequency rather than deal with software averaging differences and possible control settings.

I don't think there is a newer version of that software module that you are using. The reason being is because I think that was a solution that existed before Davis directly supported WU with their WeatherLink.com accounts. I'm not sure...I've haven't been around all this that long and I've only read so much. I'm just speculating but I don't see a newer version which leads me to believe that it was abandoned because probably better solutions came about. I think Weather Underground introduced Rapid Fire technology much later than your software was made.

Try sending with your weatherlink.com account. Probably the simplest solution to test. But remember disable your Wunderground PC software module. Basically you'll still send to weatherlink.com but you won't send to WU directly, instead weatherlink.com will upload to WU for you. If that doesn't improve things I suggest you post in the Davis forum. Or read about solutions that others use.

Another simple solution that doesn't require a computer is to use a Meteobridge. You just plug in the Meteobridge into your console's data logger if USB type or link via network if IP type. The Meteobridge will let you then turn off your PC...you won't need it for your weather station. The Meteobridge offers a lot of other advantages like uploading to many other sites directly. It supports a weather camera, it can send to FTP or SQL database. And more.
It is also not that complicated to set up and is very popular so if you get stuck there will be lots of help. There is even a new version of the Meteobridge that replaces the data logger in your console that is WiFi capable. But you should read up on the different versions of Meteobridge and decide the pros and cons that work for you.
 
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2018, 02:34:07 PM »
I found a Davis VP2 station near me that uses WeatherLink.com to link to WU. I don't like the data that I'm seeing. It only uploads every 5 minutes and looks blocky and low res. From what I've read there is no way to change that. Also the wind only shows speed and does not show wind gusts.

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KFLOVIED48

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
                                                                                       YUCK!

I would say forget using WeatherLink.com.

You best options are (pick one of these 3):
- Meteobridge for turn key solution. Gets rid of the PC.
- Computer software such as Weather Display, WeeWx, Virtual Weather Station, or Cumulus (although Cumulus isn't as popular as it used to be as it is aging and no updates in 5 years)
- You an also run VirtualVP, to then allow you to run multiple software at the same time...like if you want to keep using WeatherLink with some other software. Some people like to run Weather Display and Cumulus at the same time also with this solution.

Notes:
-WeeWx only runs on Linux. It is a popular option to run it on a Raspberry Pi (this solution gets rid of the PC too...replaces with tiny smart device that runs Linux. Well it is a computer but in a different typical sense.)
- I don't have a good recommendation if you are on a Mac. I think WeatherCat and WeatherSnoop are ones I've heard of mentioned.
- Weather Display is probably the most popular option for a PC.
- If you don't want to make your own Meteobridge you have some options. You can buy a WeatherBridge which is the same thing as a Meteobridge that has already been preloaded for you and licensed from Ambient Weather.  Ambient is now selling the WeatherBridge Nano which is the WiFi version plugs directly into your console. There is also a Meteobridge Pro called Weatherbridge Pro...but that is a bit pricey.
- Virtual Weather Station is still sold but no tech support is available and development has stopped in 2015.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 03:25:17 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline havtrail

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • Haverford Weather Station
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2018, 02:54:27 PM »
I was lucky to stumble onto this discussion. Shouldn't it moved to the WeatherUnderground section? This data disparity topic seems to come up often with regard to WU, for many different PWS brands.

I'm wondering if there is any averaging going on at all. You can check, and may find that each Weather Underground data point exactly matches one of the your data points within each five minute period. That seems to be the case in my situation (with a different brand of weather station).

Rich K.
Onset HOBO RX3003 Cellular
http://weather.havtrail.com
WU KPAHAVER17

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2018, 03:08:34 PM »
I was lucky to stumble onto this discussion. Shouldn't it moved to the WeatherUnderground section? This data disparity topic seems to come up often with regard to WU, for many different PWS brands.

I'm wondering if there is any averaging going on at all. You can check, and may find that each Weather Underground data point exactly matches one of the your data points within each five minute period. That seems to be the case in my situation (with a different brand of weather station).

Rich K.

I totally agree. This belongs in the Weather Underground sub-forum.....or maybe it belongs in the Davis forum. I'm sure more help would come if it was in the Davis forum. I've never touched a Davis system...but I'm pretty well informed as I read a lot ...as I almost bought a VP2. I'm still holding out for the VP3. I'm happily getting by on my WS-2902A for now.

As for the no averaging going on that is a good point and well said. I was trying to express that but maybe I wasn't as clear as you were. I got lost with my explanations for a solution. But good advice to try and match a data point.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 03:17:06 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
Re: Wunderground Data Incorrect
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2018, 03:36:18 PM »
... in the past using the Weatherlink software I have uploaded information to a website that I had at a rate of every 15 minutes and even though the time was long all of the data was correct.

It could be that the 15 minute upload was a batch upload that included several data points for the entire period. Again this might be a function or feature with the particular software or web service combination...that may not be available with WU and the same software.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 03:40:11 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

 

anything