Author Topic: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up  (Read 494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VinnyRI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« on: September 02, 2018, 07:17:28 PM »
Trying to get 2902A ObserverIP module and metobridge working. First I plugged the ObserverIP module into meteobridge lan port to lan port. Entered the ip of the ObserverIP module into meteobridge under Ambient Weather: Observer-IP. No data. Plugged them both into the router. Lose internet connection when ObserverIP module is plugged directly into router. Totally lost. Meteobridge hardware switch is set to router and in meteobridge itself, Network is set to wireless lan.

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2018, 08:28:38 PM »
I tried getting the ObserverIP to use the LAN port on the Meteobridge, when the Meteobridge is connected via WiFi. I could see the ObserverIP on the network but the Meteobridge never could get data from it. I think it is because the Meteobridge is only trying to find the Observer IP in this case on the WiFi network side and not its own LAN port which is acting as a bridge in this configuration.

I got it to work when both devices are directly connected to my network. I'm still using the Meteobridge via WiFi. The ObserverIP is connected directly to the network and no longer connected to the back of the Meteobridge. I would recommend getting a paperclip and doing a reset on the ObserverIP if you are noticing network issues when you plug it in directly to the network.
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline VinnyRI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2018, 05:02:53 AM »
I managed to get it all working. I started from the beginning and re did everything. The ObserverIP is plugged into the lan port on meteobridge. If I missed a step the first time don't know what it was. Just all started working. Problem I have now is the extra sensor is not showing up on ambient site. Supposed to be recognized without doing anything. Sitting a few feet away from the ObserverIP.

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2018, 02:10:15 PM »
Good to know you got it working. Also good to know that the LAN port does work on the Meteobridge to read the ObserverIP.

Extra sensor? Do you mean the WS-1000-BTH (does it have batteries and is it showing data on its LCD? Do you have the ObserverIP set to WS-1600-IP?  What version firmware is your ObserverIP running? On the ObserverIP do you have all the blue lights on?
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline VinnyRI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2018, 08:17:18 PM »
I bought an extra WH31B. The problem is probably that the ObserverIP is connected to the lan port of my meteobridge. Not sure if the extra sensor is supposed to show up in the ObserverIP live data. I would think so but it's not. My whole network locks up within minutes as soon as I plug the ObserverIP directly into my router. It's a Fios Quantum router. Not sure if they still use Actiontec routers. It's an AC1750 wireless GB router.

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2018, 10:16:49 PM »
To use the extra sensors you need to set the ObserverIP to station type WS-1550-IP

Weird about your ObserverIP locking up the network. Try a different Ethernet cable. What version firmware is it running?
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline VinnyRI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2018, 10:56:50 PM »
To use the extra sensors you need to set the ObserverIP to station type WS-1550-IP

Weird about your ObserverIP locking up the network. Try a different Ethernet cable. What version firmware is it running?

Thanks for the tip WS-1550-IP. Where does is state that?  Still won't be able to upload to ambient.net because I can't set up the mac address from the ObserverIP as long as it is plugged into the lan port of meteobridge. If I use the mac from the display console no problem but the extra sensor is no good with that. By the way the WS-2000 price jumped $40.00. Now $219.00. Firmware version 4.4.7
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 11:01:16 PM by VinnyRI »

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2018, 12:06:05 AM »
It says it right here. WS-1550-IP is ObserverIP with extra sensors. You have to be on 4.4.5 or greater.
https://www.ambientweather.com/amws1500.html

WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline VinnyRI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2018, 05:07:16 AM »
Changed ObserverIP to 1550-ip and the extra sensor to channel 2. Still no detection in the ObserverIP. Channel 2 showing in the lower right corner of the sensor.

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2018, 06:27:11 AM »
I have no more ideas. I have not used extra sensors. Contact Ambient support about your two issues.

One last thought about ObserverIP locking up router.... Do you have it set to DHCP? Or did you set a static in the ObserverIP? I suspect you are using a static and are conflicting. You might want to try DHCP. Set a DHCP reservation on your router for the ObserverIP instead.
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline VinnyRI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2018, 07:59:23 PM »
I have no more ideas. I have not used extra sensors. Contact Ambient support about your two issues.

One last thought about ObserverIP locking up router.... Do you have it set to DHCP? Or did you set a static in the ObserverIP? I suspect you are using a static and are conflicting. You might want to try DHCP. Set a DHCP reservation on your router for the ObserverIP instead.

It's set to DHCP. Everything working as it should now. Ed was quick to respond to my support requests. Haven't had any of the lockups that you're experiencing and I have accessed the ObserverIP a lot. Just make sure I don't leave the page open.

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • 2 stations: 2902 array, ObserverIP, Meteobridge
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2018, 10:09:50 PM »
I bought an extra WH31B.  Not sure if the extra sensor is supposed to show up in the ObserverIP live data. I would think so but it's not.

I set up my first WH31B last night. It does not show up on the ObserverIP, it only shows up on AmbientWeatherNet dashboard

Offline VinnyRI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: 2902A ObserverIP and meteobridge set up
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2018, 10:21:44 PM »
It won't show in the ObserverIP only Ambient.net. That it what I was told by Ed. The Outdoor2 Sensor ID and Battery is for the WS-0900-IP

I bought an extra WH31B.  Not sure if the extra sensor is supposed to show up in the ObserverIP live data. I would think so but it's not.

I set up my first WH31B last night. It does not show up on the ObserverIP, it only shows up on AmbientWeatherNet dashboard

 

anything