Author Topic: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences  (Read 3006 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sir_MAK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #50 on: October 26, 2018, 09:29:02 AM »
I'm not sure about the ObserverIP.

As for the displays, only the WS-2000 display will handle additional T/H sensors.  It will handle up to 8.
Ambient WS-2000, Central Ohio - WU WC
Ambient
WS-2902, Lake Erie   -    WU WC

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #51 on: October 26, 2018, 10:02:11 AM »
Yes you can add additional sensors without the display console. But the ObserverIP will need to be running version 4.4.5 or greater.
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline MrM1

  • North Central Florida
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • Bethel Weather
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #52 on: October 26, 2018, 12:12:06 PM »
Thanks,  can you name them?







Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #53 on: October 26, 2018, 12:44:49 PM »
Thanks,  can you name them?

Name what? Name the additional sensor part numbers?

Currently the only additional sensor supported is the temperature/humidity sensor part number WH31 or WH31B. Realize this is different than the included WH32B that has temperature/humidity and pressure. You can only have one WH32B.

The difference between WH31 and WH31B is that the B version does not include a RCC (Radio Controlled Clock). The WS-2000 does not need a clock at all on the optional sensors. So you can use either the WH31 or the WH31B but it will be a bit less costly to get the B version. The RCC is currently only required for the WS-3000 station model for some reason. So the WS-3000 can't use the WH31B. The ObserverIP can use either the WH31 or WH31B as additional sensors. The ObserverIP requires a WS-1000-BTH as a primary indoor/humidity/pressure sensor. I don't know if the ObserverIP is compatible with the WH32B.

In summary:
WH31 - Additional Temperature and Humidity sensor with RCC (you can have up to 8 )
WH31B - Additional Temperature and Humidity sensor without RCC (you can have up to 8 )
WH32B - primary Temperature/Humidity and Pressure sensor (you can only have one that comes with WS-2000)
WS-1000-BTH - Temperature/Humidity/Pressure sensor primary for ObserverIP

* The WS-2000 and ObserverIP do not use the RCC feature of the additional WH31 sensors, so it works but that part is ignored.
* I don't know if the WH32B is a compatible replacement for the WS-1000-BTH that the ObserverIP uses as a primary.

« Last Edit: October 26, 2018, 12:55:43 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline MrM1

  • North Central Florida
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • Bethel Weather
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #54 on: October 26, 2018, 01:18:07 PM »
But where do they get named in system,  like outside or living room.   I read somewhere they could be named,  not just "Sensor 1", "Sensor 2", Sensor 3" etc







Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #55 on: October 26, 2018, 01:25:31 PM »
Oh name as in how do you label them.....got ya :)

On the WS-2000 the additional sensors get named in the console settings. Just change CHx in the Name column to be whatever label you want them to be called.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Taken from Page 28 of the WS-2000 user manual.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2018, 01:28:19 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline MrM1

  • North Central Florida
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • Bethel Weather
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #56 on: October 26, 2018, 01:28:40 PM »
So in my case where I'm not ordering a display I'm just using the Observer IP I won't be able to name them.







Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #57 on: October 26, 2018, 01:37:43 PM »
So in my case where I'm not ordering a display I'm just using the Observer IP I won't be able to name them.

Good question. I don't know if you can even see them with the ObserverIP. Even though starting with firmware 4.4.5 it supports multiple additional sensors (up to 8 ), I don't see where they would show up. I think I remember reading somewhere that they don't show up on the ObserverIP interface even though the ObserverIP is reading and sending their data to ambientweather.net. So it seems that you can't see them even though they are connected and that also means you can't calibrate them. And then to answer your question then you can't rename what isn't listed. But it is perhaps possible that you can rename then after they show up on ambientweather.net. I think I remember reading about someone doing that. Sorry I don't have additional sensors yet.
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • 2 stations: 2902 array, ObserverIP, Meteobridge
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #58 on: October 26, 2018, 02:49:29 PM »
Correct, you cannot see them on the ObserverIP local display, the only place the additional sensors show is at the ambientweather.net dashboard. And they can be renamed on the dashboard.
I have two WH31B sensors, I'm currently using one to monitor conditions in my storm shelter.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2018, 02:58:28 PM by WA4OPQ »

Offline MrM1

  • North Central Florida
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • Bethel Weather
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #59 on: October 26, 2018, 03:50:30 PM »
I use one now to monitor the temperature of my l16 battery box for my off-grid solar batteries. I want another to monitor the temperature under my house where I have a duct fed into the battery box particular for winter hopefully to keep the batteries warmer in the winter as I think the temperature under the house is generally warmer than the temperature outside the house in the carport during the winter. I'll use a third one in the house for interior Temps.







Offline MrM1

  • North Central Florida
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • Bethel Weather
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #60 on: November 01, 2018, 12:57:41 PM »
OK I did get the WS-2902-ARRAY and 2 additional WH31b sensors.  Using an ObserverIP with the newest firmware,  you can add additional sensors,  but the sensors do not show up in IPtools.  They come on line once you visit AmbientWeather.net.   You see your original sensor as Indoor (in the case of the WS-2902a that would be built into the console - and the WS-2902a does not take extra sensors by itself, you must have an ObserverIP too - The WS-2000 does allow for additional sensors).   But once you get all your sensors connected to the ObserverIP,  they come up in AmbientWeather.net as Sensor 2 / 3 / 4 - up to 8.   

BUT ... you CAN then rename them at AmbientWeather.net.  And it seems to not be dependent on cookies or anything as I can see the names from my PC and in the AmbientWeather Android App.   Pretty cool !!







 

anything