Author Topic: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences  (Read 1591 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rychu

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Type of station: HP1001WiFi & WH2600IP (WS1400IP)
    • Check on-line measurements and forecasts of Gdansk in Poland
Re: WS-2902 display
« Reply #25 on: September 12, 2018, 07:22:42 PM »
(...)
Can someone try and connect the USB port to computer running Easy Weather software (or some other weather software) and see if it gets live data. Or you cold try connecting USB to a MeteoBridge (WeatherBridge) and see if it recognizes and reads live data.
I could not get my pc to recognize the display when I plugged it into a USB port.  Is there a USB driver I need?  I did not see anything in the Easy Weather download.

After connecting the console via USB to PC, you should see the station's memory as mass storage with directories. I understand that this memory is not shared?

No driver is needed. After the USB connection, the console should report automatically on the monitor as mass storage next to the C, D directory, etc.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2018, 07:27:51 PM by Rychu »

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • 2 stations: 2902 array, ObserverIP, Meteobridge
Re: WS-2902 display
« Reply #26 on: September 12, 2018, 09:48:50 PM »
I'm considering purchasing the WS-2902 because I'm tired of my constantly failing Acurite 5/1. Can you purchase an additional display?
To answer the original question about adding additional 2902 displays....
 I would suggest the WS-1900-C display.  It is the 2902 display without the WiFi.  It's only $36 

Offline tony

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WS-2902 display
« Reply #27 on: September 12, 2018, 11:09:09 PM »
I have the 1900 as a second display with my 2000.

Offline Sir_MAK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: WS-2902 display
« Reply #28 on: September 13, 2018, 08:00:55 AM »
(...)
Can someone try and connect the USB port to computer running Easy Weather software (or some other weather software) and see if it gets live data. Or you cold try connecting USB to a MeteoBridge (WeatherBridge) and see if it recognizes and reads live data.
I could not get my pc to recognize the display when I plugged it into a USB port.  Is there a USB driver I need?  I did not see anything in the Easy Weather download.

After connecting the console via USB to PC, you should see the station's memory as mass storage with directories. I understand that this memory is not shared?

No driver is needed. After the USB connection, the console should report automatically on the monitor as mass storage next to the C, D directory, etc.

Unfortunately its not showing up as a USB device or a drive so it looks like the USB port is not available for this use.  Maybe a future firmware release will add this.
Ambient WS-2000, Central Ohio - WU WC
Ambient
WS-2902, Lake Erie   -    WU WC

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: WS-2902 display
« Reply #29 on: September 30, 2018, 10:12:32 PM »
tony,

This thread has evolved and turned into a great source of information regarding the WS-2000 and the differences between the WS-2902A display. Since you are the OP can you rename the subject of this thread to something like "WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences." I had a hard time finding it today to use as a reference. This will also help others considering the WS-2000.

Thanks!


WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline tony

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #30 on: October 04, 2018, 07:59:14 AM »
Galfert...there you go.

Offline wase4711

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #31 on: October 04, 2018, 08:42:52 PM »
kind of a silly question..
The extra sensor that they give you, is that meant to be used inside your house, outside somewhere, or anywhere you want?
Is that extra sensor "necessary" for all the readings to show up properly on the console, or, is it just an "added location" that you can use if you want to?

thanks!

Offline Sir_MAK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #32 on: October 04, 2018, 09:44:05 PM »
kind of a silly question..
The extra sensor that they give you, is that meant to be used inside your house, outside somewhere, or anywhere you want?
Is that extra sensor "necessary" for all the readings to show up properly on the console, or, is it just an "added location" that you can use if you want to?

thanks!

You can put it anywhere within range.  However it shows on the display as Indoor Temp and Humidity.  It also has the barometric pressure sensor in it, so yea it's needed.  I initially thought is was a dumb idea, but having the sensor external from the display has several benefits.  You don't get any stray heat from the display causing any inaccurate reading. Also you don't have to worry about where the display sits causing temp issues.  I have my display near a furnace outlet and that would through off the readings.

I have two additional sensors that I put in my fridges.  The nice thing is you can edit what the display names them.  The only issue is the web/app do not allow you to edit them.  They show up there as Sensor 1 and Sensor 2 and the alerts that come for them have Sensor 1 or 2 in the email.  It's the only thing so far I have found that slightly irritates me.  Other than that it is a great system.


I have the sensors setup to scroll;
Indoor readings
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Kitchen Fridge
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Basement Fridge
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]



« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 09:48:08 PM by Sir_MAK »
Ambient WS-2000, Central Ohio - WU WC
Ambient
WS-2902, Lake Erie   -    WU WC

Offline wase4711

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #33 on: October 04, 2018, 09:52:38 PM »
looks like the beer might be getting a little warm in that basement fridge!

So, there are no sensors "built in" to the display console; if you want your indoor temp/humidity info, then thats where you get it from? outdoor temp/humidity etc comes from the sensor mounted on the pole outside?

And, the stations Barometer reading comes from the indoor sensor too?

thanks

Offline Sir_MAK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #34 on: October 04, 2018, 10:06:31 PM »
looks like the beer might be getting a little warm in that basement fridge!

So, there are no sensors "built in" to the display console; if you want your indoor temp/humidity info, then thats where you get it from? outdoor temp/humidity etc comes from the sensor mounted on the pole outside?

And, the stations Barometer reading comes from the indoor sensor too?

thanks

Yes to all four.

Here a pix of the "indoor" sensor that comes with the WS-2000
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]


Ambient WS-2000, Central Ohio - WU WC
Ambient
WS-2902, Lake Erie   -    WU WC

Offline wase4711

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #35 on: October 04, 2018, 10:55:30 PM »
thanks again, that answers all my questions about the 2000!

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #36 on: October 08, 2018, 08:18:47 PM »
I'm getting annoyed with my WS-2902A display...

- Tired of the poor viewing angles.
- Even more tired of constantly having to press buttons because I can only see either wind speed or wind gust at a given moment. Same thing with rain amount and rain rate.
- forecast clouds and sun is useless and takes up too much real estate.

I really like how the WS-2000 display console packs all the information without having to press buttons. I can't wait for the WS-2000 display console to be available separately.  Wonder how much longer that will be.
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline wase4711

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #37 on: October 09, 2018, 12:20:43 AM »
the ws-2000 display is very nice; I wish I could make the fonts a bit larger, for my old eyes to see better, but, its still very legible

Offline Sir_MAK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #38 on: October 09, 2018, 09:01:12 AM »
Same issue with me.  Looks like it's time for trifocals.
Ambient WS-2000, Central Ohio - WU WC
Ambient
WS-2902, Lake Erie   -    WU WC

Offline wase4711

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #39 on: October 09, 2018, 10:40:55 AM »
i have trifocals, and still want the fonts larger!
I'm gonna call them shortly and ask if there is a way to do that

Offline cjtamu

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: WS-2902A display - WS-2000 display differences
« Reply #40 on: October 09, 2018, 10:47:53 AM »
WS-2000 sounds like it's the choice of geezers ha ha. I can read display pretty well with the progressive lenses in my glasses, but if I have contacts in I have to put on cheaters. Let us know what you find out!

 

anything