Author Topic: What pole diameter did you use for the 2902  (Read 926 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sir_MAK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: What pole diameter did you use for the 2902
« Reply #25 on: August 30, 2018, 07:22:22 AM »
Got my WS-2000 yesterday.  I switched the 2000 display with my existing 2902A display, no problems.  (I have a another locations that I am going to install the new Osprey sensor and the old 2902A display in).  It took WU about an hour before it would recognize the new feed.
The WS-2000 comes with one remote T/H sensor for indoor readings as the T/H sensor is not built into the display.  This is a good idea as it keeps any heat generate in the display from throwing off the readings.  Also it allows you to monitor a location other then where the display is.
I also got two additional remote T/H sensors and put them in my refrigerators.  I was a little concerned with the higher freq of these (I was using Acurite T/H sensors - 433MHz), but both connected and are working fine.
The display is not as big as I would have liked, but is nicer that the 2902A display.
BTW - Ambient now has a iOS app, though it looks to be a simple web client app.
Ambient WS-2000, Central Ohio - WU WC
Ambient
WS-2902, Lake Erie   -    WU WC

Offline tony

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: What pole diameter did you use for the 2902
« Reply #26 on: August 30, 2018, 10:38:45 PM »
Sir_MAK.....Is the 2000 display smaller than the 2902 display?

Offline galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: What pole diameter did you use for the 2902
« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2018, 06:40:20 AM »
WS-2000 display console
Frame Dimensions (LxWxH): 7.75 x 5.75 x 0.75
LCD Dimensions (LxW): 6.25 x 3.5 (1.79 aspect ratio)

WS-2902A display console
Frame Dimensions (LxWxH): 7.50 x 4.50 x 0.75
LCD Dimensions (LxW): 6.75 x 3.00" (2.25 aspect ratio)
« Last Edit: August 31, 2018, 06:51:48 AM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline Sir_MAK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: What pole diameter did you use for the 2902
« Reply #28 on: September 04, 2018, 07:02:24 AM »
Sorry was offline this weekend.  Yes they are close to the same size.  The viewing angle is much better on the 2000, however the numerical values are smaller on the 2000 due to the extra graphics on the screen.  I would not recommend the extra cost unless you need/want extra sensors.  BTW - the price went from $180 last week to $220 now on the Ambient web site.
Ambient WS-2000, Central Ohio - WU WC
Ambient
WS-2902, Lake Erie   -    WU WC

Offline tony

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: What pole diameter did you use for the 2902
« Reply #29 on: September 04, 2018, 07:20:03 AM »
Last week I cancelled my order for the 2902 and ordered the 2000 but paid $179 for the system. I also ordered two more sensors. I guess I was lucky because Amazon had it for $229 plus $25 for shipping.

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • 2 stations: 2902 array, ObserverIP, Meteobridge
Re: What pole diameter did you use for the 2902
« Reply #30 on: September 14, 2018, 08:30:58 PM »
Going back to the original question: I am using a six foot long piece of 3/4" galvanized pipe, which OD is 1". It is buried one foot in the ground. I had smacked it pretty hard with a sledgehammer when I had the WS-1400-IP and had mushroomed the top. The WS-1400 didn't care, but the 2902 has a unique mounting clamp and it was tilted on the pole. I had to grind off the mushroom and all is now good. I like having it close to the two meter standard as I had a lot of problems last year with pollen and bird poo plugging up the rain collector.  I had it up ten feet and had to use a ladder to clean it out.

 

anything