Author Topic: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer  (Read 303 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mthiessen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« on: June 27, 2018, 02:15:13 PM »
Every day or two I get the following in the MB log (System Tab) that starts with "reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer". Meteobridge works fine and rapid fire is being sent to WeatherUnderground so everything is up and running just fine. I'm just curious if this is a Davis Vantage Pro 2 issue or a Meteobridge issue and if there is possibly some way to fix it.

I'm very pleased with Meteobridge running on a TP Link 3020 and connected to console via WeatherLink IP. I'm looking forward to simplifying the connections when the Nano comes out. Here is the entire log. It seems the rest of the log messages are reporting the process of resetting the connection.
Any idea what is going on?

Thanks,
Mark


logger (26.06.2018 11:42:49): reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
logger (26.06.2018 11:42:49): disconnect station 0 (Vantage): read failed
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:19): connect station 0 (Vantage via TCP/IP).
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:19): wakeup sent.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:19): internal logger activated.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:19): syncing.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:30): gettime request sent.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:30): no Vantage time offset.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:30): eeprom request sent.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:31): rain collector size 0.01 inch per tick.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:31): transmitter 1 active as station type (#0) "ISS".
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:31): firmware version request sent.
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:32): firmware version 3.15 (supports LOOP2)
logger (26.06.2018 11:43:32): no reading of Vantage's internal logger.


Offline Mattk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 761
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 04:38:56 PM »
What is your FW version and WLIP upload interval?

Offline docbee

  • Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
    • smartbedded
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2018, 04:40:18 PM »
Hm, for some reason the TCP connection to the WLIP gets stalled. Hard to say what exactly causes that. Are both units on wired LAN?

Anyway, Meteobridge should just react on that by setting up the connection again, which it seems to do, when I follow the logs...
founder of smartbedded.com - home of meteohub, meteoplug, meteobridge, meteostick

Offline mthiessen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2018, 04:44:55 PM »
Meteobridge 3.6 (Jun 24 2018, build 12226), FW 1.4

Every 5 seconds to WU

Offline mthiessen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2018, 04:46:17 PM »
DocBee it is on a wired LAN to the router.

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6879
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2018, 05:04:04 PM »
Static or dynamic IP address?

Offline mthiessen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2018, 05:06:56 PM »
Dynamic IP

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6879
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2018, 05:59:20 PM »
Try fixing the IP.  I have some devices on my LAN that reset al the time and fixed IP helps.

Offline Mattk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 761
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2018, 06:15:58 PM »
I have not see this "Connection reset by peer" for quite some time now and back when a few users were constantly seeing this message I thought it was linked to a FW version which was updated as well as the timing interval being set between uploads   

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6879
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2018, 06:36:55 PM »
I have not see this "Connection reset by peer" for quite some time now and back when a few users were constantly seeing this message I thought it was linked to a FW version which was updated as well as the timing interval being set between uploads

A quick scan of previous similar topics reveals that Wunderground was the issue.  Just sayin'

Offline Mattk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 761
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2018, 06:43:57 PM »
I have not see this "Connection reset by peer" for quite some time now and back when a few users were constantly seeing this message I thought it was linked to a FW version which was updated as well as the timing interval being set between uploads

A quick scan of previous similar topics reveals that Wunderground was the issue.  Just sayin'

It was more than just WU as I don't have that but as mentioned have not seen that message for quite some time 

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6879
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2018, 07:03:54 PM »
"The remote server has sent you a RST packet, which indicates an immediate dropping of the connection, rather than the usual handshake. This bypasses the normal half-closed state transition. I like this description: "Connection reset by peer" is the TCP/IP equivalent of slamming the phone back on the hook."  Note - remote server.

Offline mthiessen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Reading weather station failed: Connection reset by peer
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2018, 09:00:30 AM »
Thanks everyone for your suggestions. I think I will just wait for the MB Nano and the will most likely fix my problems. The weather station is across the country and I might not get back there for 6 months to set up a fixed IP and see if that works.