Author Topic: Both of my stations are down  (Read 1293 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jas340

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • Lone Pine Ranch  Horseshoe Bend, Idaho  USA
Both of my stations are down
« on: May 29, 2018, 06:33:23 PM »
Both stations are "This PWS is not reporting" Since 13:06 Mountain DST. My internet is working. Data is going to all my other sites. WU is receiving my data. I know this because my Meteotemplate site is up. It is receiving it's data feed from WU as normal. Anyone else having issues today?

KIDHORSE2  and KIDHORSE3 are my WU PWS web pages

Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5361
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2018, 06:49:51 PM »
I wonder if the fact other stations in area are in 80's? I've heard of them removing stations before temporally. I'm not sure they even take elevation into consideration being you are mountains area and 5 degree swing is easy every 1000' with dry air lapse rate.
Randy

Offline antstrafer

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2018, 06:58:17 PM »
mine down at 2 pm cst

Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5361
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2018, 07:05:56 PM »
I see you are going against a few Bloomsky's  :lol:
The one other Davis in area was mid 70's also at 4,300 feet. 
Randy

Offline bvstation

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2018, 07:55:50 PM »
Mine is also not reporting "ERROR posting data to Weather Underground. The remote server returned an error (401)Unauthorized."

Anyoen have any idea why? I'm also getting a "data.backyard2.weatherbug.com" when trying to transmit to them.

Offline jas340

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • Lone Pine Ranch  Horseshoe Bend, Idaho  USA
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2018, 08:33:35 PM »
The 71.6 F is from when my station stopped updating. The "PWS not reporting" message is now gone. Good sign. Also, my summary data of a high near 76 F is correct. Also a good sign. I am a little paranoid about "the API issue" and the fact that I tell people to visit my private website in the Status section. WU and all their "issues" have me a little bit on edge ](*,)

Offline railrode1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2018, 10:45:43 AM »
Mine is down also in South Carolina. Last reported 5/29 at 3:05 pm eastern time. Rebooted my station and it's all connected as normal. No email notice from WU.

Offline GregJ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
    • http://www.SkunkBayWeather.com
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2018, 11:43:40 AM »
Mine is down too....  It's definitely at their end.  My Sebectec software is working with Wunderground posting current conditions on my images.  I am doing a manual upload to Wunderground and that is working too...  Just can't access the Wunderground site for my station....

Edit: My Sebectec images are showing Wunderground data, but it is stale...  It's been the same for about 10 hours....

Greg
« Last Edit: May 30, 2018, 11:50:03 AM by GregJ »
Davis VP2 with VWS

"Everybody talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it." -- Mark Twain

Offline K4DDR

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2018, 11:39:30 PM »
Mine went down at 15:03 ET on the 29th.  It's came back about 24 hours later, but now constantly shows 85.8 degrees in the "Current Conditions" section.   None of the Current Conditions information is correct.  The information in the table and the graph are correct, as is the temperature showing on the map.  While it was "down" data was still going to pwsweather and being recorded in the local database.  In an aside, it's been a while since I had a "gold star" even though my station was reporting for the over the requisite amount of days and was consistent with the stations around me.  I don't know if something is screwed up with my account on their end... which I am sure it is in some way or another.  Oh well, the litany of problems continues.

Offline jas340

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • Lone Pine Ranch  Horseshoe Bend, Idaho  USA
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2018, 12:00:29 AM »
Same exact issue as I am having. Happened at the same exact time and date. How long will it take WU to get this sorted?

Offline K4DDR

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2018, 06:40:06 AM »
No idea.  My information must be passing their QA checks.  They haven't booted my station since it came back up and keeps reporting 85 degrees.  Then again, as others have noted, "Station Down" notifications are not being sent out either.

Offline jas340

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • Lone Pine Ranch  Horseshoe Bend, Idaho  USA
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2018, 09:05:25 AM »
My Iptimelapse software pulls weather information from my "Current Conditions". It is down also. Iptimelapse uses an API key to do this. I'm starting to think WU has cut us off because of the API issue.

Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5361
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2018, 06:53:38 AM »
Today my dashboards both stations reporting to WU are swinging 3-10 with temperature. Very odd something I've never seen before. Graphs look normal but the rapidfire not.


https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KNEVALEN2

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KNEVALEN3
Randy

Offline antstrafer

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2018, 07:25:01 AM »
yep, swings of 10 degrees every refresh.  We have entered the Fubar zone folks.  Heat index calc is off also.   Its the weekend Monday fix a long way off.

Offline JustinH

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2018, 10:26:58 AM »
My Ambient Weather 2902 Osprey has been down on WU since the 29th at 3:05 PM EST. I know it's not a problem with my wifi or anything, as it reports normally to the ambient dashboard and weathercloud.

Offline rcleenyaz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #15 on: June 03, 2018, 03:56:13 AM »
Edited by admin to obfuscate password...

If any developers are watching here is a hint. Packet capture from Raspberry PI using wview to send the data.

Notice the "[TCP segment of a reassembled PDU]" and "Bad Request" response. What is interesting is that is I copy the GET request to Chrome and send it, the answer is "success". This all stated about May 30.

 644 185.847027312 192.168.0.251 → 54.187.34.191 HTTP 425 GET /weatherstation/updateweatherstation.php?ID= KAZSANTA30 &PASSWORD=*******&dateutc=2018-06-02+10:50:05&winddir=122&windspeedmph=0.0&windgustmph=1.0&humidity=33&tempf=067.2&rainin=0.00&dailyrainin=0.00&baromin=29.78&dewptf=37.100&weather=&clouds=&softwaretype=wview-5.21.7&action=updateraw HTTP/1.1
  645 185.896141673 54.187.34.191 → 192.168.0.251 TCP 66 80 → 45612 [ACK] Seq=1 Ack=360 Win=28160 Len=0 TSval=78362975 TSecr=948430
  646 185.896789651 54.187.34.191 → 192.168.0.251 TCP 244 [TCP segment of a reassembled PDU]
  647 185.896885648 192.168.0.251 → 54.187.34.191 TCP 66 45612 → 80 [ACK] Seq=360 Ack=179 Win=30272 Len=0 TSval=948435 TSecr=78362975
  648 185.897156639 54.187.34.191 → 192.168.0.251 HTTP 71 HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request  (text/plain)
« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 02:16:16 PM by SLOweather »

Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5361
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2018, 05:32:51 AM »
Deleted both stations. Enough is enough, I was with original owners since 2003 it has now officially ended.
Randy

Offline bvstation

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2018, 09:53:32 AM »
I got mine reporting again but its not rapid fire.. as in I used to be able to send an update every 15 seconds now since I had to go back to aculinks dashboard site use to send updates its slower than xmas!
I was using a 3rd party software so why is it different now? Does the software need an update of some sort??

Offline gopher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #18 on: June 03, 2018, 12:57:02 PM »
There are a few issues being discussed here which I'll try to shed some light on:
  • Bad rapidfire updates on the dashboard: should be resolved.  Due to a backlogged queue, the data you were seeing was in many cases hours old.  This did not impact the accuracy of archive records.
  • Jumping air temperature: should also be resolved.  This was specific to certain stations which had multiple air temperature sensors.
  • Upload 4xx errors: as it's obvious at this point, some changes were made last Tuesday (which I hope to explain further in a future message).  One effect is stricter enforcement of HTTP requests.  If you're still experiencing upload errors please make sure your software is sending a valid HTTP GET request. Specifically, make sure ID's and passwords/upload keys are typed correctly - correct case and no extra spaces!  If you wrote your own software make sure the query arguments are properly encoded, especially special characters in passwords and software type.

Offline jas340

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • Lone Pine Ranch  Horseshoe Bend, Idaho  USA
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #19 on: June 03, 2018, 03:22:47 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, my Current Conditions still have not updated since 29MAY18.

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KIDHORSE2http://

Offline gopher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #20 on: June 03, 2018, 04:25:31 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, my Current Conditions still have not updated since 29MAY18.

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KIDHORSE2http://

Sorry I did not address your station in the previous post.  A fix just went out and it should be reporting the current conditions shortly.

Offline mistybeagle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #21 on: June 03, 2018, 04:40:51 PM »
Knock on wood: My current conditions on web and iOS apps were restored a few minutes ago. And non-WU apps are now displaying my correct current conditions in their pulls from WU....  Like others, my current conditions data had been stuck since the afternoon of May 29. . . . And my station has also now been restored as the rightful default for my lat/long. . . . .

Offline jas340

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • Lone Pine Ranch  Horseshoe Bend, Idaho  USA
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #22 on: June 03, 2018, 05:00:08 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, my Current Conditions still have not updated since 29MAY18.

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KIDHORSE2http://

Sorry I did not address your station in the previous post.  A fix just went out and it should be reporting the current conditions shortly.

Thanks gopher. You have a tough job. Thanks for working on Sunday. Many of us have a gripe with the direction WU is headed but I hope everyone can make the distinction between you, the working person, and from the giant faceless corporation you report to.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 05:15:37 PM by jas340 »

Offline gopher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #23 on: June 03, 2018, 06:14:05 PM »
Awesome, I'm very happy you're both working now and got a smile out of the nod in your station message jas340, thanks!

What took place last week was the biggest upgrade to PWS ingest in 15 years.  I know it doesn't seem like it because of the problems, but it was a huge prerequisite to moving things back in the right direction.

Offline K4DDR

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Both of my stations are down
« Reply #24 on: June 03, 2018, 07:22:03 PM »
Yep, it looks like my station is back and reporting properly.  Thanks!

 

anything