Author Topic: Using VWS as stationless by reading CSV from WD  (Read 947 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PSJohn

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • DesertWeather.com
Using VWS as stationless by reading CSV from WD
« on: May 16, 2018, 11:28:38 PM »
Can VWS be set to "stationless" and read a CSV file created by WeatherDisplay? If so does anyone know what format VWS expects?

I'm using Virtual VP now, and I'm constantly dealing with disconnects from VWS. I wish to finally decommission it!

thanks in advance.
John Slama
Palm Springs, California
Davis Vantage Pro 2, FARS

Offline swise123

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Current Nashville Weather
Re: Using VWS as stationless by reading CSV from WD
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2018, 11:58:34 AM »
Was curious as to if you tried this and if it worked?

Thanks,
Shane
www.nashvilleweather.net

Offline PSJohn

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • DesertWeather.com
Re: Using VWS as stationless by reading CSV from WD
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2018, 02:20:46 PM »
Yes! I have it working! Its been flawless so far 3 days in! I still haven't had rain to test those perimeters. I had to reset VWS total rain after the setting change to station less.

I went to Brian (WD Developer) over at the Weather Display forums and he did help me. Here is the link to that conversation you can see....https://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,66693.0.html

I had VWS, WD, and Cumulus working with VirtualVP for at least the last 10 years not knowing what software I would end up using. Then with VirtualVP's development demise I have had connection errors for years I had to deal with. Now I'm running only WD, for 95% of my website, and VWS for a few graphics and to use with ImageSalsa. No VirtualVP!
John Slama
Palm Springs, California
Davis Vantage Pro 2, FARS

Offline swise123

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Current Nashville Weather
Re: Using VWS as stationless by reading CSV from WD
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2018, 02:50:58 PM »
Thanks for the info...I am looking to possibly move away from VWS since it's not being updated anymore and was looking at WD.

Offline AF6GL

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • Jeffries Ranch Weather Center
Re: Using VWS as stationless by reading CSV from WD
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2018, 03:22:48 PM »
I am trying to use VWS stainless with WD. VWS won't save my settings in the stainless mode. Any suggestions?