Author Topic: WiFiLogger - Connect your Davis console directly to the Internet via WiFi  (Read 61500 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3689
Hey Wojtek.
Have a question.
Today at 2:15 the wifi logger had a high heat index of 122F.
Weatherlink software at 2:15 showed a high heat index of 115F.
Does the wifi logger show different highs because it samples data every few seconds.
Or the does the Weatherlink software show a different value because it's taking an average of my 10 minute archive.
Cumulus also showed a high heat index of 115F

Offline WheatonRon

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
    • WUnderground
Hey Wojtek.
Have a question.
Today at 2:15 the wifi logger had a high heat index of 122F.
Weatherlink software at 2:15 showed a high heat index of 115F.
Does the wifi logger show different highs because it samples data every few seconds.
Or the does the Weatherlink software show a different value because it's taking an average of my 10 minute archive.
Cumulus also showed a high heat index of 115F

I will let Wojtek give the official answer but it appears with my WiFi Loggers it is taking whatever the Davis console displays and not making a separate calculation.
Davis VP2 with SHT31 (3 complete VP2 systems—2 with a daytime fan and 1 that has a 24 hour fan); CWOP--CW5020, FW3075 and FW4350; WU--KILWHEAT17, KILWHEAT36 and KILWHEAT39; WeatherCloud.net; CoCoRaHS--IL-DP-132; and Weatherlink 2.0

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Hey Wojtek.
Have a question.
Today at 2:15 the wifi logger had a high heat index of 122F.
Weatherlink software at 2:15 showed a high heat index of 115F.
Does the wifi logger show different highs because it samples data every few seconds.
Or the does the Weatherlink software show a different value because it's taking an average of my 10 minute archive.
Cumulus also showed a high heat index of 115F
The logger merely reports the news, it doesn't make it. So, I'm guessing you saw a "live" 122F on WL but a 115F average due to you enabling the archive average feature on WL.

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3689
You can enable an archive average in WL?

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
You can enable an archive average in WL?
Oh, I figured that's what you had already done. Anyway, yes, go into WL "setup" and select "temp humidity cali", you'll see the box to check mark there.

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3689
Found it but the option to average over the archive period is not enabled.
Back to square 1.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Found it but the option to average over the archive period is not enabled.
Back to square 1.
So when you say the logger shows 122F, what does that mean?

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3689
The live feed from the logger that shows the current data.
Vantage Pro™,Vantage Pro 2™Firmware : 1.90, Sep 29 2009
18:41:21 07.04.2019
 UnitsCurrentToday's HighsToday's Lows
Inside Temp[°F]79.278.914:4475.80:13
Outside Temp[°F]74.595.114:1974.316:09
Heat Index[°F]78.0122.014:18
THW Index[°F]---
Wind Chill[°F]75.0  74.016:06
Inside Hum[%]525910:194916:37
Outside Hum[%]94967:316114:20
Dew Point[°F]73.0/72.782.014:1971.015:33
Current Wind Speed[mph]0.014.015:30
Current Wind Direction  319NW
2 min Avg Wind Speed[mph]0.0
10 min Avg Wind Speed[mph]0.3
10 min Wind Gust[mph]3.0
Wind Gust Direction  315NW
Barometer[in]30.01630.04112:1429.9662:59
Bar Trend   Rising Slowly
Rain Rate[in]0.003.9715:37
   DailyStormMonthYear1Hour24 H
Rain[in]0.480.560.6020.980.010.48
ET[in]0.00 0.000.00 
Sunrise:6:34Sunset:20:30Batt:

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Don't know if this would help but I see you're using 1.90 firmware, that's 10 years old and improvements have been made to heat indexes since. Select "Software/Firmware" first, then go from there.

https://www.davisinstruments.com/resources/weather-monitoring/#support


Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3689
I'll check it out but I had it refurbished about 2 or 3 years ago. I assumed they updated that at the time, or this unit was an older model  that couldn't be updated.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
I'll check it out but I had it refurbished about 2 or 3 years ago. I assumed they updated that at the time, or this unit was an older model  that couldn't be updated.
Yeah, make damn sure you don't put something on there that doesn't belong, you may brick it.

Online WiFiLogger

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
I don't know how Cumulus, but WeatherLink is taking only LOOP1 data.
Heat index, dew point, avg 2 min wind, 10 min gust etc. are in LOOP2.
WeatherLink is calculating those from LOOP1.

But this value (high day HEAT index)comes not from LOOP1, or LOOP2, it comes from HiLow.
I don't created this value.Hi/Lows are in console as a part of current data.

Average temp in archive memory should not change this value.

WiFilogger still can have minor problems with units calculation, but temp in F is not calculated, so this value is raw from cosnole.
:)


Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4532
    • KomokaWeather
Quote
I don't know how Cumulus, but WeatherLink is taking only LOOP1 data.
Heat index, dew point, avg 2 min wind, 10 min gust etc. are in LOOP2.
I think Cumulus 1 uses Loop1, but CumulusMX uses Loop2 by default and it can be turned off.


Enjoy,
Paul

Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline rockncola

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Is 2.09 still the latest version? Just making sure I haven't missed out on any updates.

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 814
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
I have 2.24.  So it's at least that.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts

Offline BigAlT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Just updated and got 2.24.
Davis Vantage Vue ISS & Console with WiFi Logger
Davis Vantage Pro2 Console with Meteobridge Nano SD
Davis Weather Envoy with USB Logger connected to RPi 3B+ running WEEWX
WeatherFlow Smart Weather Station

Offline MatteoPV

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
I'm at 2.16 as a firmware for the wifilogger. Here we talk about 2.24, is there any news?

Offline BigAlT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
The current update on the US server was 2.24 yesterday when I did my latest update.
Davis Vantage Vue ISS & Console with WiFi Logger
Davis Vantage Pro2 Console with Meteobridge Nano SD
Davis Weather Envoy with USB Logger connected to RPi 3B+ running WEEWX
WeatherFlow Smart Weather Station

Offline MatteoPV

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Can I update quietly without losing my settings ??? However I do not see an official communication of the new relise

Offline davidmc36

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • IONOTTAW14
I did 2.23 and it never lost a thing.

Offline MatteoPV

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
I prefer to wait for the official news with the latest news on the relise

Online WiFiLogger

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
I have put 2.24 on server to test Windy.com.
It is not finished yet. So nothing interesting to brag about.

You can turn on Windy.com, but you don't have access to your station, because you don't know your ID.
I have to make function to download your ID from Windy.com.
Also I have to make registration form, where you will be able to set info about your station. Latitude, longitude comes from Logger, but station name, temp sensor high, wind sensor high is custom.
I have access to all loggers working with Windy.com. May I publish links to those station here?

Also in 2.24:
- working GLOBE emails for schools.
- new set of libraries for ESP8266 chip. Like any update should fix some problems and make some new.
- some software mistakes repairs

2.25 will be better, because I have rebuild custome HTTP export and I have made PHP script to catch data.
wflexp.json will be avaible, but new set of files was made.
1- registration - info about console and logger
2 - real time data json, can be exported every 3 sec.
3 - hilows json, can be exported every 3 minutes.
4- logger data json, package of 5 logger entries in json format
This data is saved to 4 SQL tables. Working grate, but probably I will need to rebuild this, because MySQL has minor fault.

With this function, I have made same functionality like WL.COM has. This is a backyard of data presentation, but I had to start with something.

Offline MatteoPV

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Great. I await a final version before updating

Offline redlynr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
just curious, with the wflexp.json, is it possible to create an Alexa skill that references this?  Theoretically I’d think this should be easy, but I’m just a hack and have no idea how to do this.

Offline DRoberts

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 319
I use a WiFi Logger and Verizon just replaced our Wifi (JetPack) today.

I no longer have connection to Weather Underground and am unable to bring up my Real Time Data screen.

Limited tech understanding here. Is the new JetPack (wifi) likely the culprit and what could I  do to fix it if so?
'