Author Topic: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA  (Read 1084 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tpkirkp

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • Clyde, CA local weather
Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« on: April 01, 2018, 03:00:32 PM »
Comprised of a Rainwise MK-III-LR-RT1 with solar/UV add-on sensors, Oregon Scientific WMR968, Boltek LD-250.
Mounted on 20 feet of Rohn 55G tower.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Amateur Radio call K6TPK
CWOP: CW9461
WU: KCACONCO16
Rainwise MK-III-RT1-LR with UV/Solar radiation sensors.
Boltek LD-250 lightning detector w/Microsferics add-on
PurpleAir PA-II AQI sensor
Oregon Scientific WMR968.
All mounted on 20' Rohn 55G tower.

Offline Old Tele man

  • Singing in the rain...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
Re: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2018, 03:45:37 PM »
Now, THAT's a serious weather station.
SYS: Davis VP2 Vue/WL-IP & Envoy8X/WL-USB;
DBX1 Precision Digital Barograph
CWOP: DW6988 - 2 miles NNE of Cortaro, AZ
WU - KAZTUCSO202, Countryside

Offline tpkirkp

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • Clyde, CA local weather
Re: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2018, 04:18:11 PM »
Old Tele man,
Thanks for that.  Had to work within a budget of $2000 or less for all.  Didn't quite make it, lol.
I still don't see how that Boltek LD-250 can cost $1200+, but the best price I could find was right from Boltek.
I already had the old WMR968, so decided to put it up there also.  I have 3 displays for it, so I just use for in house/shop use.
I have a PurpleAIR PA-II that I can't get working. I wouldn't buy another..
I hope the County doesn't come nosing around and find I have 3 towers now and only the 80' is permitted, heh.
BTW, are you retired telco by any chance?  Just going by your memberID.  I'm retired AT&T.  38yrs. It was fun in the old days, but after AT&T took over, no so much.

-tim
Amateur Radio call K6TPK
CWOP: CW9461
WU: KCACONCO16
Rainwise MK-III-RT1-LR with UV/Solar radiation sensors.
Boltek LD-250 lightning detector w/Microsferics add-on
PurpleAir PA-II AQI sensor
Oregon Scientific WMR968.
All mounted on 20' Rohn 55G tower.

Offline Old Tele man

  • Singing in the rain...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
Re: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2018, 05:11:31 PM »
Old Tele man,
Thanks for that.  Had to work within a budget of $2000 or less for all.  Didn't quite make it, lol.
I still don't see how that Boltek LD-250 can cost $1200+, but the best price I could find was right from Boltek.
I already had the old WMR968, so decided to put it up there also.  I have 3 displays for it, so I just use for in house/shop use.
I have a PurpleAIR PA-II that I can't get working. I wouldn't buy another..
I hope the County doesn't come nosing around and find I have 3 towers now and only the 80' is permitted, heh.
BTW, are you retired telco by any chance?  Just going by your memberID.  I'm retired AT&T.  38yrs. It was fun in the old days, but after AT&T took over, no so much.

-tim
RED - I still telling the wife, I've "..only spent $1500..." on my $3,000 wx gear (wink)

BLUE - Those other two towers are "mechanical supporting mechanisms" to anchor the main guy-wires" (wink)
« Last Edit: April 01, 2018, 07:06:22 PM by Old Tele man »
SYS: Davis VP2 Vue/WL-IP & Envoy8X/WL-USB;
DBX1 Precision Digital Barograph
CWOP: DW6988 - 2 miles NNE of Cortaro, AZ
WU - KAZTUCSO202, Countryside

Online alanb

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2018, 06:17:19 PM »
My neighbor bordering the back of my property put up a 60' tower about a year ago within 10' of my property line. He had some type of antennas or communication devices mounted at the top ... not sure what they were for, but definitely not weather stations. I was thinking about asking him if I could mount a weather station about half way up. It was about 250' from my house with a clear line of sight, so I think I could have picked up a good wireless signal if I had picked the right station.

But I never got the chance, as the city made him take the tower down about 6 months after he installed it (at least that is the rumor floating around the neighborhood). He probably thinks I am the one who complained, but it wasn't me.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2018, 06:20:38 PM by alanb »
Alan

Offline tpkirkp

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • Clyde, CA local weather
Re: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2018, 10:05:27 PM »
alanb,
He probably didn't bother getting a permit or they wouldn't give him one, and he erected it anyway.
I'm lucky so far since the 20' weather station tower makes 3 now.  I think I'll call it a day on any more..mite be pushing my luck, but we're in unincorporated area here, so probably will be OK.
I didn't think I needed a permit for an Amateur Radio tower when I erected the 80' Rohn 55G (same as in the pic), WRONG!.  County code enforcement dude
came out to tell me I had to take down my portable car shelter, and then he sees the tower.  Went down hill from there.  I spent 2 weeks off-on down at the
county permit office and finally got a permit for it.  They never had a request for a Ham radio tower b4, just commercial ones.  Learning process for both of us, lol.

-tim
« Last Edit: April 01, 2018, 10:09:30 PM by tpkirkp »
Amateur Radio call K6TPK
CWOP: CW9461
WU: KCACONCO16
Rainwise MK-III-RT1-LR with UV/Solar radiation sensors.
Boltek LD-250 lightning detector w/Microsferics add-on
PurpleAir PA-II AQI sensor
Oregon Scientific WMR968.
All mounted on 20' Rohn 55G tower.

Offline josecmorales

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Clima en Guayana
Re: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2018, 03:38:33 PM »
Great Set-up.

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Pic of my weather station in Clyde, CA 94520 USA
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2018, 06:11:44 PM »
That's a superb setup.  8-)

What's the issue that you have had with the purple air sensor?
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

 

anything