Author Topic: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.  (Read 11891 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bvstation

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #125 on: March 08, 2019, 07:21:11 PM »
After getting kevins new update software its working fine now for me. My only issue is my daily rainfall isn't resetting back to 0. It shows 1.71 inches right now while my in house screen that came with the gauge shows .04 which I know is correct.
I have no idea how to resolve this as I've reset the smarthub and the software multiple times.
Something just isn't right here but I find it hard to believe its the gauge outside when it talks to the other screen just fine.
suggestions anyone?

Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #126 on: March 08, 2019, 08:52:08 PM »
I checked Wunderground (wundermap) and all stations with smarthubs are showing old rain amounts. Apparently the smarthub is not resetting the total to "0" like it did before at midnight.

With the clock not being controlled by acurite, one may need to be set up in software to reset rain each day.

Offline ColoradoWeather

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
  • Acurite Model 010101
    • KCOFORTC64 - Hanna Farm
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #127 on: March 10, 2019, 04:50:30 PM »
I am current. Not sure, but I am thinking this is a WU issue.

Offline ColoradoWeather

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
  • Acurite Model 010101
    • KCOFORTC64 - Hanna Farm
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #128 on: March 10, 2019, 04:52:01 PM »

With the clock not being controlled by acurite, one may need to be set up in software to reset rain each day.

I had this thought, Doctorknow, but I am good so far.

Offline bvstation

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #129 on: March 10, 2019, 04:52:25 PM »
Very possible Colorado.. as of today its 0.00 so you may be right sir.
Thanks for keeping up with it

Edit: Wait you know what.. I looked at my gauge and this happened
attached is image of graph... I changed the batteries in my sensor outside with a fresh set of rechargables as I do every month or so now...and this was around that time. It dropped to 0.
Weird when my on desk screen that comes with it never showed the high amount like that.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2019, 04:55:00 PM by bvstation »

Offline ultramed

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #130 on: March 11, 2019, 02:22:21 AM »
My first post here. I hope you find it useful. I found a solution to the rain reset issue. As you know, the end of service for the smarthub on Feb 28th was only for the communication link to the MyAcuRite servers. The smarthub will however still upload current readings to weather underground.  For some strange reason Acurite did not include an internal clock with the smarthub, so it relied on MyAcuRite’s time server to reset the smarthub every day at midnight. Without this reset signal the rain gauge readings stored in the smarthub keeps accumulating. Temperature, humidity, wind, and barometric readings do not require this clock reset as they are dynamic readings and not cumulative. The simple solution is the add a $10 digital timer to the power adapter for the smarthub.  Set it to power off at 11:59 PM then power on at 12:01 AM. Problem solved. Remember, only weather underground will get updates, just like before. MyAcuRite is gone forever, and good riddance.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2019, 02:24:06 AM by ultramed »

Offline bvstation

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #131 on: March 11, 2019, 05:37:36 PM »
Rain is so far fine still - now Wind isn't working properly.
0 readings all night/day when we've had at least 10mph gusts at times... straight line on graph.
I went out and spun it manually and still nothing thru the hub.
Suggestions?

I believe I fixed my problem.. my wind offset was made 0 for some reason so I put it back to 100 and that took care of it.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2019, 08:34:21 AM by bvstation »

Offline theofficepest

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • WU Station
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #132 on: March 13, 2019, 06:35:12 AM »
anyone know what address the acurite time server might be at?

or perhaps the posting of the data to acurite was the mechanism for getting the time?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2019, 06:54:00 AM by theofficepest »

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2944
    • nincehelser.com
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #133 on: March 13, 2019, 02:44:27 PM »
anyone know what address the acurite time server might be at?

or perhaps the posting of the data to acurite was the mechanism for getting the time?

The second one... time, and other data were sent back as key/value pairs in the server responses.


Offline theofficepest

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • WU Station
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #134 on: March 14, 2019, 03:40:41 AM »
thanks for that

just rebooting the hub doesn't seem to have reset the daily totals


Offline billfor

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #135 on: March 15, 2019, 12:43:12 AM »
In the simplest case, to reset the hub by software, you need to intercept the request the hub makes to the old api, hubapi.myacurite.com, and return a special json string. Here's a small php program that sends back what it needs (untested):
Code: [Select]
<?php 
    $headers 
getallheaders();
    
header('Content-Type: application/json');
    echo 
'{"localtime":"04:00:00","checkversion":"224"}';
?>

This tells the hub to reset the dailyrain counter at  04:00:00.

The code above, in addition to sending json "{"localtime":"04:00:00","checkversion":"224"}", will also (behind the scenes) send additional headers, one which contains the time of your server where the code is running.  The full response to the hub would look something like this if we sniffed the network:

Code: [Select]
Date: Fri, 15 Mar 2019 04:32:02 GMT
Server: Apache/2.4.25 (Raspbian)
Content-Length: 45
Connection: close
Content-Type: application/json

{"localtime":"04:00:00","checkversion":"224"}

So it looks at the time returned by your web server code, and when the time is just at or shortly after the time in the json string, it will reset the counter.  The hub doesn't know what timezone it is in, so you should set the json string to something that makes sense for your zone. In my case I'm on the east coast and my times are returned in GMT+0, so since I want the hub to rollover at midnight, I make that json string 04:00:00.

Thinking about it, we can probably just set the timezone in php.ini, and that would let you use 00:00:00 and adjust for DST automatically.

Intercepting the original request to the acurite, and setting up something to run that code, is probably the hard part if you don't hack linux or write code for a living or hobby. If you look back, I posted a link to a github project that has some instructions/advice, and there are other people that have written similar programs.


« Last Edit: March 15, 2019, 12:51:21 AM by billfor »

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2944
    • nincehelser.com
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #136 on: March 15, 2019, 02:15:53 AM »
In the simplest case, to reset the hub by software, you need to intercept the request the hub makes to the old api, hubapi.myacurite.com, and return a special json string. Here's a small php program that sends back what it needs (untested):
Code: [Select]
<?php 
    $headers 
getallheaders();
    
header('Content-Type: application/json');
    echo 
'{"localtime":"04:00:00","checkversion":"224"}';
?>

This tells the hub to reset the dailyrain counter at  04:00:00.


"localtime" was the "localtime", not the time to reset dailyrain.  It used to be transmitted on almost every response, but they did slow it down later.

Offline billfor

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #137 on: March 15, 2019, 08:49:20 AM »
So you are saying that it will reset if you send 00:00:00?  I've always sent that with all requests, hundreds of times a day (never changing it), and the counter does not reset unless the actual time is GMT+0, so I assumed it looked at the response headers which are stamped with the actual time. You are right that it used to get sent most of the day, then it stopped being sent and you would only get checkversion or maybe nothing, until around midnight and then I would start seeing it again.

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2944
    • nincehelser.com
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #138 on: March 15, 2019, 10:37:40 AM »
It resets at local midnight.

One problem is that the timing between devices is not consistent.  Some run fast, some run slow.

The time is sent occasionally to bring it back into sync.

If you send it the time just before local midnight, the dailyrainin should reset shortly after.   That's great if your hardware is consistently slow, but if it is running a bit fast, you might start seeing multiple rain resets during the day.

Offline GaryKOHOHIO2

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #139 on: March 15, 2019, 05:01:31 PM »
Hi,
 Being new here, I am not sure about where this is going. I am trying to address the time issue. Using acuparse, as nincehelser suggested, it appears the the DNSmasq, or spoofing takes care of that. This is my syslog snapshot:

Mar 15 16:49:56 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[5N1]: TempF = 40.2 | relH = 85 | Windspeed = 10 | Pressure = 28.78
Mar 15 16:49:56 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[MyAcuRite]: Query = dateutc=now&action=updateraw&realtime=1&id=24C86E010CC5&mt=5N1x38&sensor=00000204&windspeedmph=10&humidity=85&tempf=40.2&baromin=28.78&battery=normal&rssi=2 | Response = {"localtime":"16:49:56"}
Mar 15 16:50:01 raspberrypi CRON[9900]: (root) CMD (php /opt/acuparse/cron/cron.php > /opt/acuparse/logs/cron.log 2>&1)
Mar 15 16:50:02 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (SYSTEM)[INFO]: Processed Archive Update
Mar 15 16:50:03 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (EXTERNAL)[WU]: Query = &dateutc=2019-03-15+20:50:02&tempf=40.2&winddir=270&winddir_avg2m=205&windspeedmph=10&windspdmph_avg2m=11&baromin=28.78&humidity=85&dewptf=36.1&rainin=0.01&dailyrainin=0.01 | Result = success
Mar 15 16:50:14 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[5N1]: Wind = 248 @ 12 | Rain = 0.01 | DailyRain = 0.01 | Pressure = 28.78
Mar 15 16:50:14 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[MyAcuRite]: Query = dateutc=now&action=updateraw&realtime=1&id=24C86E010CC5&mt=5N1x31&sensor=00000204&windspeedmph=12&winddir=248&rainin=0.01&dailyrainin=0.01&baromin=28.78&battery=normal&rssi=2 | Response = {"localtime":"16:50:14"}
Mar 15 16:50:31 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[5N1]: TempF = 40 | relH = 85 | Windspeed = 10 | Pressure = 28.78
Mar 15 16:50:31 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[MyAcuRite]: Query = dateutc=now&action=updateraw&realtime=1&id=24C86E010CC5&mt=5N1x38&sensor=00000204&windspeedmph=10&humidity=85&tempf=40.0&baromin=28.78&battery=normal&rssi=3 | Response = {"localtime":"16:50:31"}
Mar 15 16:50:31 raspberrypi dhcpcd[326]: wlan0: Router Advertisement from fe80::ea6f:f2ff:fe11:9530
Mar 15 16:50:50 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[5N1]: Wind = 225 @ 10 | Rain = 0.01 | DailyRain = 0.01 | Pressure = 28.78
Mar 15 16:50:50 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[MyAcuRite]: Query = dateutc=now&action=updateraw&realtime=1&id=24C86E010CC5&mt=5N1x31&sensor=00000204&windspeedmph=10&winddir=225&rainin=0.01&dailyrainin=0.01&baromin=28.78&battery=normal&rssi=3 | Response = {"localtime":"16:50:50"}
Mar 15 16:51:01 raspberrypi CRON[9963]: (root) CMD (php /opt/acuparse/cron/cron.php > /opt/acuparse/logs/cron.log 2>&1)
Mar 15 16:51:01 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (SYSTEM)[INFO]: Processed Archive Update
Mar 15 16:51:01 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (EXTERNAL)[WU]: Query = &dateutc=2019-03-15+20:51:01&tempf=40&winddir=225&winddir_avg2m=205&windspeedmph=10&windspdmph_avg2m=12&baromin=28.78&humidity=85&dewptf=35.7&rainin=0.01&dailyrainin=0.01 | Result = success
Mar 15 16:51:07 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[5N1]: TempF = 40 | relH = 86 | Windspeed = 17 | Pressure = 28.78
Mar 15 16:51:07 raspberrypi acuparse(2.7.1-release): (HUB)[MyAcuRite]: Query = dateutc=now&action=updateraw&realtime=1&id=24C86E010CC5&mt=5N1x38&sensor=00000204&windspeedmph=17&humidity=86&tempf=40.0&baromin=28.78&battery=normal&rssi=3 | Response = {"localtime":"16:51:07"}
    It appears to test "time" frequently. I don't know what that means, but I hope it can help somebody

Offline fatham

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #140 on: March 18, 2019, 01:52:58 PM »
My first post here. I hope you find it useful. I found a solution to the rain reset issue. As you know, the end of service for the smarthub on Feb 28th was only for the communication link to the MyAcuRite servers. The smarthub will however still upload current readings to weather underground.  For some strange reason Acurite did not include an internal clock with the smarthub, so it relied on MyAcuRite’s time server to reset the smarthub every day at midnight. Without this reset signal the rain gauge readings stored in the smarthub keeps accumulating. Temperature, humidity, wind, and barometric readings do not require this clock reset as they are dynamic readings and not cumulative. The simple solution is the add a $10 digital timer to the power adapter for the smarthub.  Set it to power off at 11:59 PM then power on at 12:01 AM. Problem solved. Remember, only weather underground will get updates, just like before. MyAcuRite is gone forever, and good riddance.

I have been using this method for a week now....I set the times on a cheap timer from amazon to; power off at 11:58pm and power on at 12:02am. I found that one minute before mid-nite and one minute after was not quite enough time to cause a reliable reset.

Thanks for your suggestion works GREAT HERE.........cheers

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7204
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #141 on: March 24, 2019, 11:36:48 AM »
Still transmitting to WU here...  and interestingly, it is reporting rain.  But based on the last reset value (i.e. was 1.8 mm at the start of the month and now reporting increments based on that initial level)

Offline fatham

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #142 on: March 24, 2019, 10:13:12 PM »
Still transmitting to WU here...  and interestingly, it is reporting rain.  But based on the last reset value (i.e. was 1.8 mm at the start of the month and now reporting increments based on that initial level)

BUSHMAN;  You need to install a timer ( Woods 50027 50027WD Indoor 24-Hour Digital Plug-in Timer, 1 Polarized Outlet ) from AMAZON, to cure the non resetting problem ....as I mentioned in my post above Yours WORKS GREAT................Cheers
« Last Edit: March 24, 2019, 10:21:08 PM by fatham »

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7204
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #143 on: March 24, 2019, 11:03:37 PM »
I might - but until I get my SDR configured, I will live with it in case it does not wake up.  Thanks for the suggestion.

Offline kinwolf

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #144 on: March 26, 2019, 11:46:32 AM »
Mine stopped sending data altogether on march 19th.(I was using a RPi to get the data from the hub and store it locally and send it to WU)  So I tried unplugging it and replugging, the lights never came back on, not even blinking. It's dead Jim.  Strange timing to say the least...

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7204
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #145 on: March 26, 2019, 12:42:39 PM »
Mine is still running BUT Wunderground switched it all off metric!  And rain was rest.   No idea WTH those guys are doing there!

Offline theofficepest

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • WU Station
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #146 on: March 27, 2019, 04:19:45 AM »
right, finally have input, once I realised from this thread there was a web interface

As the webpage has a reset button on it, i just setup a cron job on my pi to post this data to the smarthub around 23:58 and reset it a few times over the next 4 minutes

The precip levels have reset but just my luck no rain today and WU totally change their website design

Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #147 on: April 04, 2019, 03:10:20 PM »
My smarthub is bricked I believe. It stopped just after noon today. It won't read the sensors anymore for more than just a few seconds, then says no devices detected. Any ideas?

Offline fatham

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #148 on: April 04, 2019, 03:53:34 PM »
My Smarthub has stopped reporting today at 12:45pm. as well. My Hub indicator lights still flash but no communicating with WU.
     No idea why the hub has now stopped sending to WU. I would think that acurite must have terminated the "relaying" of info to WU.

 Maybe someone in the know can enlighten us.  Cheers

Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
Re: Acurite plans to drop support for SmartHUB August 31, 2018.
« Reply #149 on: April 04, 2019, 04:23:08 PM »
Mine is on meteobridge and was not sending to Wunderground thru the hub itself.