Author Topic: Weather Underground shutting down webcams  (Read 968 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline illinimatt81

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« on: November 15, 2017, 01:06:39 PM »
Disappointing....this comes after removing images of weather stations themselves. Probably a decision by their corporate overlord IBM.

http://help.wunderground.com/knowledgebase/articles/1821811?sp_rid=MTkyNTIxNTkzMjY5S0&sp_mid=12367650

« Last Edit: November 15, 2017, 01:12:19 PM by illinimatt81 »

Offline BeaverMeadow

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2017, 01:44:15 PM »
And, arguably, pics of the weather station are more important* than webcams.

*A pic of the pws will indicate whether it is generating erroneous data due to poor placement.

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2017, 01:48:38 PM »
there are already other threads about this
not sure why people create a new thread without checking first to see if there is already a thread?

Offline jdoff

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2017, 01:51:35 PM »
there are already other threads about this
not sure why people create a new thread without checking first to see if there is already a thread?

Would you mind linking to them?

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2017, 02:12:32 PM »
« Last Edit: November 15, 2017, 02:14:33 PM by waiukuweather »

Offline jdoff

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2

Offline Ryan Hothersall

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • My Stuff on the Web
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2017, 04:57:11 PM »
Just when I managed to sort of get a webcam working through wunderground, they decide to pull the rug out from under me.

So will have to try something else now...

Not having much luck with webcams...

Offline Tentacle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2017, 11:29:00 PM »
Are there any good alternatives to WU which would allow continued webcam uploads? I'll go into webcam withdrawal if I can't find another host site...

Offline morrowcoteacher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • D and J Computers
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2017, 10:03:23 PM »
Ok -- since WU is discontinuing -- and our cam pics haven't been showing up on there for several days now, I figured out how to FTP the camera jpg's to our personal webpage's server..

What I don't like and need a code I guess.. is that each time it uploads, it adds a date stamp to the end.. I selected for it to have the same name each time.. 

The problem is that to put it on a webpage - I can put ONE of the uploaded pictures on but I don't know the code to have it upload the picture with the newest date stamp.

Hopefully I made that clear.. I didn't explain it very well.

Help if you can.  Thanks

 

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4515
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2017, 10:25:43 PM »
Ok -- since WU is discontinuing -- and our cam pics haven't been showing up on there for several days now, I figured out how to FTP the camera jpg's to our personal webpage's server..

What I don't like and need a code I guess.. is that each time it uploads, it adds a date stamp to the end.. I selected for it to have the same name each time.. 

The problem is that to put it on a webpage - I can put ONE of the uploaded pictures on but I don't know the code to have it upload the picture with the newest date stamp.

Hopefully I made that clear.. I didn't explain it very well.

Help if you can.  Thanks


There are scripts that will overwrite the image name. Can't help there but some existing threads have been posted about subject.

I use software called Blue Iris grabs image from camera and uploads it with file name I desire. It overwrites the old image as it goes.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline morrowcoteacher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • D and J Computers
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2017, 10:30:52 PM »
Will the blue iris work with the AmbientCamHD3 camera?

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4515
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2017, 10:50:56 PM »
Will the blue iris work with the AmbientCamHD3 camera?

Can't answer for sure but works with most IP cameras. I think there is a free 7 day trial. If you do go with it Amazon has cheapest license I've found at $45.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline DaveG

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • Highland Lakes Weather
Re: Weather Underground shutting down webcams
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2017, 12:03:00 AM »
Ambient Webcam on your own host server.  This script, when placed in the same folder as your Ambient Cam images will sort for the latest image, copy it to filename image.jpg, and then delete any webcam images in the directory with the default name the camera uses that starts Schedule_.  I named the script sortname.php.  If you don't want to delete the uploaded images end the code before the second 'if' condition.  You also have to setup a cron job to run the script on a schedule.  In my case I was able to add an http event on my Meteobridge to run the script on a schedule.  Your most current image will always be in the same location named image.jpg.  This script is a combination of one I found somewhere else on the forum and added to with the help of Jachym.  If your camera starts with a different name substitute that in the code.  If you want the image named something other than image.jpg, substitute that in the code.  It's working fine for me after two days on both of my sites.

<?php

   
if ($images = glob("Schedule_*.jpg") ) {

   rsort($images);
   
   $img = $images[0];

   $newfile = 'image.jpg';

   copy($img, $newfile);

}
if ($images = glob("Schedule_*.jpg") ) {

   foreach($images as $img){
   unlink($img);
}

}
?>
« Last Edit: November 17, 2017, 12:09:16 AM by DaveG »