Author Topic: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....  (Read 3445 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4581
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #25 on: December 11, 2016, 09:14:26 PM »

Well the PW did the same...
Code: [Select]
[url=http://www.komokaweather.com][img]http://www.komokaweather.com/weather/banner.php[/img]success.


Now with the comments that you can't see the banner, I remember past discussion that "banner" is a banned word and for my banner on another forum I had changed the name to komoka-now.  Can you let me know if my banner shows on this post and/or if it shows as www.komokaweather.com/weather/komoka-now.php ?


Thanks,
Paul


Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #26 on: December 11, 2016, 09:15:21 PM »
I'm beginning to think we've entered the Twilight Zone!!!!!!

The banner is a one-shot update once I clear the browsing info from Chrome.  Firefox works fine.

I can see my banner in Chrome, it just doesn't update.

I can see Jachym's banner.  And can see ValintineWeather's banner in the messages Jachym posted and can pulled up all three banners in the links he posted.  At least I don't see...dead people (thankfully)...(scary movie a few years ago that I didn't see, just the advertisements for it).  ;) 

Ed

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #27 on: December 11, 2016, 09:16:17 PM »
I do not see any banner apart from my wonderful Christmas one...

And I remember that I definitely did see Paul's banner here on the forum before

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4581
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #28 on: December 11, 2016, 09:21:04 PM »

I can see Ed's and I can see mine, and also Jachym's


Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #29 on: December 11, 2016, 09:22:58 PM »
I used Paul's code and don't see the cumulus banner, can anyone else? I don't see anyone's cumulus banner either.
Randy

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #30 on: December 11, 2016, 09:24:03 PM »
I see Pauls now after using alt+F5 refresh.
Randy

Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #31 on: December 11, 2016, 09:24:46 PM »
Ok, here's Valentineweather's banner (I think)....it *is* updating.


Here's mine...it's not updating.  :???:


Here's Paul's...I'm not sure if it's updating or not...what's your update interval, Paul?


Jachym's banner seems to be working fine.

I think I've lost some more gray matter...and I don't have much left. ;)

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #32 on: December 11, 2016, 09:28:29 PM »
Ed can you see my banner in signature? I can't see it.
Randy

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4581
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #33 on: December 11, 2016, 09:30:48 PM »

Excellent, thanks Ed, that is what I was trying to do as well...  Yes mine is updating, and I have renamed to komoka-now.php


Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4581
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #34 on: December 11, 2016, 09:31:25 PM »

Randy, yes your is showing instead of the former WU


Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #35 on: December 11, 2016, 09:31:55 PM »
Ok, this is weird.

In Chrome:
ValentineW is updating fine.
Paul's is not.
Mine is not.

In Firefox all three are updating fine.

 ](*,)

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #36 on: December 11, 2016, 09:34:24 PM »
OMG I figured it out. Ad blocker is blocking them.....I see everything now.  \:D/
Randy

Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #37 on: December 11, 2016, 09:34:58 PM »
Ok, just cleared cookies and all three are working...

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4581
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #38 on: December 11, 2016, 09:36:17 PM »

All three are showing current times for me, after an alt+F5 refresh as Randy mentioned.


If you would like to add a background to yours let me know and I will post the code.


Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #39 on: December 11, 2016, 09:38:00 PM »
Thanks for everyone's help and patience. I thought I was going nuts with ad Blocker I completely forgot. Though I turned it off  long time ago on this site.
Randy

Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #40 on: December 11, 2016, 09:38:51 PM »
Well, everybody's banners are working fine in Chrome....but mine.  It looks like mine only refreshes once when the cookies are cleared and then hangs.  After all of this, we're (me) back at the beginning.

<ARRRRGGGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!>   ](*,)

Paul, I'll take you up on the image, but let me figure this undocumented feature out first. ;)


Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #41 on: December 11, 2016, 09:46:31 PM »
Mine doesn't update either unless you hit ctrl f5.  Despite the fact other meteotemplate banners do,  it depends on your server configuration and I asked my provide to disable this but they said it is not possible

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4581
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #42 on: December 11, 2016, 09:51:42 PM »
Hi Ed,
From another forum I had picked up this code that I placed starting on line 200 of the banner.php script
Code: [Select]
// The line below is for the background image, which must be placed in the same directory as the banner.php script
 $baseimg = imagecreatefromjpeg("komokaimage1.jpg");

   imagecopy($im,$baseimg,0,0,0,0,$SITE['image_width'], $SITE['image_height']);

You will have to make your own background image that you want to use, and play with the colour as well.

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #43 on: December 11, 2016, 09:55:39 PM »
Mine doesn't update either unless you hit ctrl f5.  Despite the fact other meteotemplate banners do,  it depends on your server configuration and I asked my provide to disable this but they said it is not possible

I see that. Beeweather didn't update even though I left closed browser and came back until ctrl f5 with Chrome.
Can you turn off caching on server side? Most you can.

Thanks for that Paul I may play around with it tomorrow.
Randy

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #44 on: December 11, 2016, 10:05:57 PM »
Yes you need to do this server side and my provider doesn't allow this

Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #45 on: December 11, 2016, 10:07:21 PM »
Hey Jachym, do you realize that if I was where you are located that I'd be a year older than I am right now?   I looked at your banner and it said December 12....that's my birthday but it's still the 11th over here. ;)

I finally tried Control-F5 and that actually refreshes the banners...amazing!!!  I wonder why hitting the "refresh" icon doesn't work?  I'll remember that key-combo!  Thanks to everybody that mentioned it!!!

Paul, I'll come back to the image and tinker with it some...thanks for the code!!!!

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4581
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #46 on: December 11, 2016, 10:12:07 PM »
Have a happy birthday Ed UU

Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline Intheswamp

  • Early on one frosty morn'...
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Sure...I know enough to be dangerous, now.
    • Beeweather
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #47 on: December 11, 2016, 10:14:37 PM »
Have a happy birthday Ed UU

Paul
Thanks Paul.  These things are getting to where they're coming around too fast....but, at least they're still coming around!!!!!   \:D/

Davis VP2, v3.12
Cumulus v1.9.4  Build 1079
Today's weather beats no weather at all!
www.beeweather.com
Tried to lift one of vreihen's gold stars but wasn't smart enough to do it....<grin>

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #48 on: December 11, 2016, 10:20:13 PM »
Happy B-day!

CTRL F5 forces the browser to fully reload the page. Otherwise it uses the cached images and CSS files.

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Weather banner (Cumulus) in signature not working....
« Reply #49 on: December 11, 2016, 10:21:00 PM »
In normal webpage/script you can prevent this by inserting the current timestamp to the URL, which has no effect on the image, but the browser thinks its a different URL so reloads it. Unfortunately this cannot be done here on the forum in the signature